We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for short stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Jose Campbell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard San Jose Campbell to your Saves list
Courtyard San Jose Campbell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Creekside Way, Campbell, CA 95008   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel for short stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here for ten nights on business recently and found this to be a good hotel. My room was a good size and kept very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful whenever needed. My one point against the hotel would be that for anyone staying as long as I was, the bistro didn't have much on the menu to make me want to keep going back to it. Its about a 10 - 15 minute walk into Campbell though which has a few good restaurants if time allows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelm13, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Campbell, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for making us your home away for home. We truly enjoy hearing back from guests that our hard work is noticed. We will be having a seasonal Bistro menu update in April which will give our guests many more choices.

Hope you visit us again,

Michael McClintock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
13
10
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Courtyard is my go-to chain when looking for a moderately priced hotel. You can always count on Courtyard to have updated rooms with a very modern, classy feel. This particular hotel was no different. Newer construction, beautiful lobby, friendly staff, SUPER clean room, convenient location, and just an overall great feel. In the room: coffee maker, mini-fridge, Fiji water, nice desk area, free wireless, and a large walk-in shower with glass doors. Within walking distance to the Pruneyard Plaza which has lots of shops and restaurants. I'll continue to seek out this chain when traveling for business or necessity -- everything you need for a comfortable and easy stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Really nice Courtyard. It is 7 floors and pretty new. Everything in the hotel is top notch. It is very close to everything in South Bay and 30 minutes to San Fran. Great experience all the way around and would stay here again when I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I'm not sure what to think of this hotel. Everything looked and felt brand new; completely modern lobby, new, modern room, spacious, room clean. Why, then, is the big flat screen TV on the desk and not in the armoire in front of the bed?

In our room, there was a armoire in front of the bed like most hotels. But the TV was on the desk next to it. Problem? Just not a great viewing area from the bed. If there are two people in bed, the person closest to the TV has to turn their head to see the TV. The person farthest away can hardly see the TV without really turning because the armoire blocks it.

The TV is good sized and is sitting on the desk - which means.... you have a nice big desk but you can't utilize it because the TV covers half of it. Want to spread out? Forget it. Plenty of room for a laptop but not enough if you need to spread out paperwork.

All this $$ spent making this place look up-to-date and modern and the designers come up with this???

I don't get it. Would I go back here? It depends. For myself, when I'm in this area, I do not spend much time in the room. But if I were by myself on a business trip and wanted to relax in the room, perhaps do some work and catch a movie on TV? No, I'd pick somewhere else to stay, perhaps the Campbell Town Place Suites, which has a big room, a nice TV and a nicer desk area, plus it's next to a walking trail.

I can't figure out why they designed the room this way when this hotel is clearly trying to cater to the business traveler, since it's in a business park right off the freeway.

Maybe some of the rooms aren't set up this way? If you are considering this place for a business trip, you may want to ask about this if desk space and relaxing in bed watching TV are important after a hard day's work.

Room Tip: As for a room that has the TV in the armoire, not outside of it on the desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The service at this property is above and beyond. Although a courtyard property, it has the service standards of a JW or full service Marriott. Staff is extremely professional and friendly-actually pay attention to requests. Super clean hotel, modern furnishings, great a/c, comfortable room, free parking, nice lobby, all around EXCELLENT Property. Well worth the nightly rate. You will NOT find a better option in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Friendly efficient reception, room OK, and sleep quality fine, but could not get the damned aircon balanced properly - either too cold or too hot - how hard is this!!
Good parking and WiFi - excellent breakfasts; dinner/evening menu is over-priced junk - don't bother eating here at night; find an alternative or bring your own food in.
And what is this nonsense about providing a mini-bar but not stocking it? How irritating is that.
No room safes either - I would have thought that a secure in-room storage place would be simple and easy to provide - apparently not.
Housekeeping standard excellent in my opinion.
Beware room location - there is a freeway one side and the URT is also right alongside.
Would I stay again? Only after eliminating other options.

Room Tip: See above - beware freeway and urban railway nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelm13, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Campbell, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I am sorry to here some of your frustrations. We do take pride in keeping our hotel clean and like new condition at all times. Our goal is to have all mechanical issues in working order prior to arrival such as HVAC units, I am sorry we fell short. In-room refrigerators are for guest use market item storage, we do provide complimentary safety deposit boxes located at the front desk. We are located along HWY 17 and VTA station for easy access but we are well built for sound protection.

I Thank you for your business and hope you give us another try,

Michael McClintock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It is average for a Courtyard Marriott. The location is good in that it's close to major companies, like Ebay and shopping plazas/centers. You're also a skip and hop away from access to the freeway/highways. The hotel itself is in the city of Campbell, but a stone's throw away to San Jose next door. There's plenty of eateries/restaurants within the vicinity. The hotel has its own Bistro/Bar which provides breakfast, lunch and a light dinner menu. The food is fairly good and the staff is always pleasant. Complimentary coffee is available in the lobby. There is ample parking on the premise. Like any other Courtyard, you have the pool, fitness center, Wi-Fi and internet.

The staff were all helpful and cordial. The establishment itself wasn't too impressive. The design was updated and simple. It had more of a contemporary line. The rooms were OK. As for the cleanliness, it was mediocre. Some things should have been given more attention to, but overall, not bad. Certain furnishings could be dusted and/or vacuumed. The pillows seemed quite flat from being too worn down.

It's definitely ideal if you want to be close to the main highways, food, shopping and companies. For Honors Members, complimentary breakfast is not provided. Internet access is available though..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard San Jose Campbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Campbell

Address: 655 Creekside Way, Campbell, CA 95008
Location: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Jose Campbell 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Campbell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Campbell Hotel Campbell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard San Jose Campbell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.