We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for families with small children” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rincon de la Vieja Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon de La Vieja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rincon de la Vieja Lodge
Save
You added Rincon de la Vieja Lodge to your Saves list
Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not for families with small children”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were traveling with our 9 month old son who still needs a couple of (hot) bottles per day. They do not have a microwave, so my boyfriend had to go sit in the car with the bottle heater for 30min every time we needed a bottle. Our room was horrible, no hot water and way too many disgusting bugs and insects. We did not see this when we got there and they did not mention the fact that the room had no hot water and they saw we were traveling with a baby. And they asked 70$ for the room :/ We stayed in much nicer places for less during our trip.
When I asked for a guided tour of the park, they said they only had tours in Spanish. This is kinda weird since a lot of tourist don't speak Spanish and everywhere we went, you always had the option of English or Spanish. I would definitely not recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    16
    9
    13
See reviews for
15
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We didn't stay here but stopped for the horse ride, swam in the hot springs and had lunch here and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Although the ride was 2 1/2 hours long, midway we swam in the hot springs which was really enjoyable. Our guide however, knew no English but my Spanish was good enough to understand him. He did point out a lot and the ride was enjoyable but after two hours in the saddle, we couldn't go on further to see the waterfall (too bad). Sadly the volcano's peak was also covered in heavy cloud as well.

The location of the lodge is very beautiful and we enjoyed the lunch (typical Costa Rican fare) and our host, told us about his adventures in Canada which made it a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The lodge is in a very beautiful garden and peaceful surroundings. My room (35) was very dark even with lights on. The bed however was comfortable. The shower was not great but there was warm water and clean big towels. Especially because of the surroundings and friendly staff a place worth visiting. Perhaps the rooms are noisy because they don't have windows but gauze. Since I had no neighbours I can't tell. I did a horseback riding trip which I van also recommend. The horses are very well taken care off.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a very lovely, slightly remote place! We were charmed by the grounds and lovely cabins. I can't say we had hot water, though.....But the hammock on the front porch was great and the stream running behind the back porch was so beautiful. The people that work there are very helpful and kind, although I wasn't really impressed with the food there. It is all worth it though for the proximity to the national park and the lodge's grounds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This lodge is back to basic. No luxury at all... It's very simple, quiet and it has a peaceful setting. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, where everything is perfect, this is not the lodge for you.

Cabins: They are very simple but you have all you need (bed, lining, clean towels, soap, shower and hot water). We didn't know what to expect so we took a bugnet in case we needed it since some bugs can get in the cabin (an idea in case you are like me). The cabins are very clean, they clean your rooms everyday. Our cabin had a river running in the back which had a clear running water sound all night (cabin #40). It was nice to have a feeling of nature in our stay. There is no air conditioner in the cabins, but you won't need it. The climate is very fresh at night and you just open a little bit the windows and that's it. You have a little fan on the ceiling that you can use in case you need it. In my opinion this cabin is great if you have a family, we had 3 beds and only used one.

Service: Staff is very nice and informative. They treat their guest with respect and answer all you questions and needs.

Food: It was ok. This is what made me give a 4 star instead of 5. The breakfast is included with your stay. It was ok, but not the best I've had experienced in Costa Rica. We didn't have lunch at the hotel but did have dinner with them. Dinner was ok also, but expensive. I wouldn't mind to pay $17/person if the food was super good but that was not the case. We went out to Playa Cocos to eat on our second night, spent half of this with some drinks and had an awesome meal by the beach (Beach Bums Bar & Grillt). If you have a car this could be an option. It was an hour to get there but we didn't mind.

Ambiance: Quiet, peaceful and unique. Grounds are well mantained. There is a trail from the hotel that will take you to the Hot springs that I heard was nice. We didn't do it due to lack of time but there was a family that told us on their way back they saw the monkeys. (Hint: around 5pm they come out to get some food because most people are already done with their hikes, good time to see the monkeys).

Pool: It has a little pool, great for kids. I didn't care about it.

Overall, this is a great lodge, I would stay here again and is the closest lodge to Rincon la Vieja NP.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin instead of a room. They have more room and are very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Rincon was one of our favorite stops on a recent visit to Costa Rica. On the hotel's extensive grounds we saw howler monkeys, very unusual birds, insects and other creatures. Our cabin backed onto a little stream that serenaded us all night long. The most amazing flowers grow all over the grounds, but especially by the stream. The food was great, and we found it to be the most reasonably priced food of our entire trip. Carlos, the head wait staff was awesome. So helpful, knowledgeable and professional. The swimming pool is small but very refreshing. It was delightful. The national park is amazing. We also really enjoyed seeing the extensive geothermal plants harnessing all that volcanic energy. Distribution lines head north, carrying renewable power to Nicaragua and Mexico! I just wish we had scheduled more time there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The place is in a very beautiful natural setting VERY close to the entrance of the Rincon de la Vieja National Park. You can make it a very healthy active vacation by going to the park for trail walks. Breakfast was included but the other meals are extremely expensive for what you get. Since we had a car we were able to drive back into Liberia for lunch and dinner the next day but this isn't convenient for everybody.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rincon de la Vieja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon de la Vieja Lodge

Address: Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Lodge is located inside the Guanacaste Conservation Area at the side of the Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Dedicated to eco-tourism, it is the closest Lodge / Hotel to the Rincon de la Vieja National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rincon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Rincon De La Vieja Lodge Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rincon de la Vieja Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.