We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location. acceptable lodging.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Guachipelin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Guachipelin to your Saves list
Hacienda Guachipelin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 11782-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Courtesy Shuttle Service
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nice location. acceptable lodging.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

It's very nice being so close to the volcano area. Driving up to this area is a bit difficult since the roads are steep and rocky. So being closer so as only to have to make one trip is nice.
The grounds are kept up well with great views.
We got the "superior" room. Really nothing special about it other than being a little bigger than the rest. Normal cheap hotel room size.
Small bathroom with no caulking around windows, so lots of bugs and even a full sized lizard came in the first night. And a bee came in and stung me. We plugged it up with tp after we figured out where all the bugs came from. They didn't seem concerned when we told the front desk and bee sting.
The restaurant was fairly basic. Nothing wrong with it, but also nothing great to report. The free breakfast buffet had a nice variety.
We enjoyed walking around there on the nature trails. The websites we had looked at beforehand didn't make it very clear whether the trails were part of the hotel or not. Many actually are, but they dont give you good maps nor are they marked well. Even the big map in the lobby was confusing even after the front desk clerk tried to explain it. We saw a lot of lost and confused people on the property. Even just trying to find their rooms.
The thing I didn't like about the trails was that their horses also go on them. So lots and lots and lots of horse poop to try to avoid. Much of it smooshed into trail so it's nearly impossible to avoid. A monthly cleaning of the trails would be nice.
The volcano area is spectacular. You have to drive there though, but it's close.
It's like a little Yellowstone, but also has monkeys. Walk quietly to find them. They are super cute.
The hot springs area that you can get in for free with your hotel wristband is also nice. And more monkeys to be found there. The waterfalls are also fun to see and swim in. Also, not marked well.
We had a reservation for 3 in our room. Knowing that, it would have been nice if they would have given us more than 2 towels and 2 coffee cups. I realize we could have asked for more though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    250
    112
    49
    27
See reviews for
199
282
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here four nights and it was heavenly. It is so easy to experience the Rincon from here and enjoy the surrounding natural beauty. This place had great value for a "Deluxe" room that cost $98 and included an awesome breakfast. We did the all-day adventure pass -- zip-lining, horseback riding and river tubing -- and it was amazing and wonderful. We hiked to a waterfall and swam there. And we enjoyed the hot springs, which are beautiful and relaxing. The staff here was lovely,the restaurant fantastic and it was so nice having a free shuttle that took us to the national park (where we hiked without a guide) and transported us to the hot springs, since we had no car. It was a great place. My only suggestion is that they get some more pads for the chaise lounges ... they were a bit uncomfortable. Overall, a beautiful place that we will never forget.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe room for a few dollars more or you'll be near the livestock and their aroma
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Google Translation
Hola sherrygood,
De antemano queremos agradecerte por tomarte el tiempo de escribirnos un comentario tan motivante, nos gusta saber que nuestros clientes recibieron la atención que necesitaban y que disfrutaron de este lugar tan maravilloso. Vamos a tratar de buscar alternativas para mejorar el servicio de las cápsulas como tu mencionas y que esta sea una experiencia inolvidable.
Esperamos tenerte de vuelta muy pronto
¡Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is location is more of a working ranch per se... not a hotel destination... at least not yet. the rooms are more set up like a motel arrangement and more european than american for the over all feel for the place. It has a pool area but it is mostly for looks and the local farm dogs to come get a drink out of or lay by. Not heated just cold water that could stand to be cleaned every day from the leaves that are always blowing about.

If you are traveling there on your own, the roads to get there are quite the challenge and you need a 4 wheel drive car for sure which is basically all the rent down in Costa Rica. There is sort of a front gate you have to go through in the daytime to get onto the property and it is secured at night so don't be late getting back to the area to sleep.

Our room was very clean and crisp but several things were wrong with it... to start if you plan on staying more than a few days then you can't properly hang up your clothes in the so called closet area... the first shelf is set too high so all your shirts are dragging on the shelf and not hanging freely. The bathrooms look great but watch out for the shower controls... they are not set the same way in each unit and though hot you would think would be red for the knob and blue for cold... you'd be wrong in our room... then of course the hot water all went cold and they tried for 3 hrs to get it going but no luck so the next morning we got to use another room for our shower and the controls were goofy again but we managed to get clean.

The food at the hotel is very good... a nice all you can eat style buffet or regular ordering too... there was also a bar type area below the restaurant and it had very good pizza but it is not your typical american style pizza so be aware... still it was delicious and filling for us.

Now the hotel is on a like I said a working style ranch and the map they give you of the attractions on site is not down to any scale at all... what looks like it could be a nice walk from the hotel to one of the attractions is really far and you definitely need a car just to get to the site. Some things can be walked to... one of the waterfall places though be careful of cow pies along the path to and from it as the cattle there also use the area!!! There is a neat lookout point above the hotel on a hill top sort of that you can see the ocean from if you know what you are looking for in the far off distance. We went up there for a sunset and were escorted by 2 of the local dogs that adopted us so we felt safe on our walk up and then then down after the sunset... they were very patient with us.

Other sites on location... sort of... were not staffed or even being used... still in development I guess but the hot springs and mud baths were neat to visit early in the day though quite a ways to walk from where we got to park our car!!! LOL Then if you are afraid of heights or shaky bridges you won't make it down to the main hot pools and recliners or the special mud they have to try all over your body as you have to cross a bouncy/shaky type bridge and then climb down more stairs to get to the larger hot springs. Still lots of new construction going on. The massage area we went to looked cute but no one there though the front desk said they were open but again it was somewhere on the property and you need to drive to it and the signs are not clear as to which way goes where so it can be an adventure just getting around the property !!! They also have zip line adventures there.

We made the best of it and enjoyed the food mainly for our rest there!!! It is not a hotel as one might expect... not luxury... more of an adventure if you will for the experience. More set for european visitors than americans.

Room Tip: The rooms are all basic motel style rooms set in a ranch setting... an adventure if with a large gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Tim, first of all, thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate when our guests do that, this is so important for all the users as much as it is for us to improve all the details you mentioned, we're looking forward to start fixing most of the things you have said in order to turn our guests's stay in an unforgettable experience.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here while we visited El Rincon de la Vieja. The grounds were beautiful, clean, tranquil, and quite authentic. The rooms were minimal and the sleep quality was just ok...perfect for a night or two. The food was average; however, the service was exceptional across the board. Loved how you could wake up early and milk the cows.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear GCooper4462, Thank you for your nice comment, it will be very helpful for all readers, our priority is to make happy our costumers, we are very glad that you enjoyed the stay at the hotel and you can share your incredible experience here, we will be looking for ways to improve ourselves in order to avoid bad experiences from our guests, we definitely hope you can come back soon!
Hacienda will be waiting for you!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The rooms are indisputable clean and complete. It was a relaxing experience as there is a lot in the hacienda itself. No driving and no payments in cash. You can put it all on the room.
Tha bar is nice with a joly bartender who likes to play some Latin songs. The warm water springs are ok, but it is a 15 minute ride from the Hacienda.
The one thing that bothered us where the bugs in the restaurant. The retaurant hall is open and that attracts more buggs that you would like. Falling beetles on you shoulder and table is just not appetising during the meals.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Sven D, Thank your nice comment, it will be very helpful for all readers, our priority is to make happy our costumers, we are very glad that you enjoyed the stay at the hotel and you can share your incredible experience here, we will be looking for ways to improve ourselves in order to avoid bad experiences from our guests, we definitely hope you can come back soon!
Hacienda will be waiting for you!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corn Islands, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a relaxing atmosphere once you get there. It's quite a drive from Liberia. If you don't have a car the taxi is 30.00. But beware once you are there and you need to get back for your plane or bus the hotel charges 60.00. The food is adequate. Buffets don't have a big variety and yet are 20.00 per person. Drinks are pricey! Hotel is spread out unless you are near the reception you have quite a walk. Early morning and evening there is the smell of horses. Once you get to your room I have to say it is nice. Great decor nice linens and beds.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Jamie H,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it will be very helpful for all readers, and above of all, we are very glad that you enjoyed the stay at the hotel and you can share your experience here, we will be looking for ways to improve ourselves in order to avoid bad experiences from our guests.
Hacienda will be waiting for you!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

As part of our tour of Costa Rica, we stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The stay was orientated more for activities; hot springs, water falls, zip lining, rock climbing, horse back riding etc.
So the hotel itself had fairly small swimming pool and pool area to relax, but the activities were brilliant - especially the zip lining that included also some rock climbing as well - the team arranging this was very efficient and made us feel really safe all the time, it was great.
The hot springs were very relaxing with possibility to get messy in mud if you wanted to - the shuttle buses were actual old American style school busses ! As the roads were quite bumpy you did need something more robust for transfers.
There was waterfall a walking distance away which was really beautiful and clean, loved it !
Rooms were clean and had coffee making faciities - at least in the rooms we were. Really enjoyed our time there - though the size of some of the frogs were bit scary....we only saw one huge one so don't let this put you off.

Room Tip: If you like your cup of coffee in the room - we stayed in Superior room which had the facility, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Mari S, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it will be very helpful for all readers, our priority is to make happy our costumers, we are very glad that you enjoyed the stay at the hotel and you can share your incredible experience here, we definitely hope you can come back soon!
Hacienda will be waiting for you!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 11782-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Guachipelin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.