We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place next to the National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Guachipelin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Guachipelin to your Saves list
Hacienda Guachipelin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 11782-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Courtesy Shuttle Service
portland, oregon
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Place next to the National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with plenty of trees for shade near the rooms. There are some great hikes to take in the National Park or you can partake of all the hotel has to offer - horseback riding, tubing, zip lining etc. The hot springs are fun after a hike. we went to one that was free for people staying at the hotel. It had changing rooms, restrooms and several pools to choose from. We had fun painting mud on each other - supposed to be beneficial. I know the laughing was! The food is buffet style but several stations with some good choices. We also visited Santa Rosa National Park before we moved on. I found most of the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    242
    110
    48
    26
See reviews for
197
277
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Visited the Rincón de la Vieja National Park and Hacienda with my four "almost" adult children.
Wonderful visit!! Highly recommend!! Reservations were made online through the Hacienda's web site for the activities that we wished to enjoy. Upon arrival the process went amazingly smooth everything was set. We got checked in and within minutes we were mounting our horses and heading out to visit the National Park. We visited the national park and hiked the Las Pailas trail with Cesar (was just our family and guide) . The park was amazing-saw lots of wildlife, along with the waterfalls, mud pots, mini volcano, steam vents, etc. Had the buffet lunch--which all enjoyed. There were two meat choices, rice, potato, veggies, salad bar, fruits, soft drinks etc. Plenty of variety. Then it was off to the white water rapids via intertubes!! What a blast...Again it was a very small group of guests (our family + one other couple) with almost as many guides as guests. They ensured our safety and enjoyment!! After completing this activity we went to the natural springs/volcanic mud bath. Very relaxing!! Staff were all really nice and helpful. We really enjoyed the day!

Room Tip: Hint: The national park does not take $50 or $100 bills for the entrance fee--make plans ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Hello, thanks for so many nice comments, this is our motivation, I´ll pass this to the staff, like I always do for them to know we are doing something right, we work hard trying to satisfy most of the people most of the time. Hope to see you soon back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

1. It was next to the national park
2. the rooms were very comfortable and clean
3. the gardens were beautiful
4. Welcome cocktails!
5. Really nice staff and help
6. Awesome staff
7. Great restaurant and breakfast
8. Just Pura vida!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you friend from Montreal, you said it all, those are strong remarks. We feel glad you could experience them, come back and enjoy with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Hacienda Guachipelin is a great destination for nature lovers. Can be very active with hikes and horseback riding, and can also find peace and relaxation. My son and I arrived w/o a vehicle; the Hacienda provides transportation to various parts of the park for hikes as well as to their own hot springs on the Rio Negro, and to the Symbiosis Spa. Massages are available at the hot springs and the Spa and can be arranged in your room, too. Bring US cash with you - you'll need it for Park admission (kids pay less) and if you want a massage or to get into the Symbiosis Spa. Wish we could have stayed longer and taken advantage of their guided hikes/horseback rides. Enjoyed the all-day 'adventure' deal - TONS of fun, with time for getting changed as needed (horseback riding to tubing, for ex) and free lockers. Grounds and rooms are lovely. With all the windows (with screens!) we never needed the AC, just the ceiling fan. The buffet was good, but rather forces you to pay more than most places - but then again, the level of staffing required for everything to be as lovely and as well-maintained as it is does take $$. Don't miss seeing the volcanic 'action' in the Park!!

Room Tip: Were happy to have a longer walk to the 'action', but all the rooms had their advantages (vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Hello, thanks very much for your comments, we feel glad you enjoyed all our activities, we try to satisfy people from all ages and likes. For us is very nice to hear that you had a good time, please come back soon, it will be a pleasure for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

very conveniently located, this hacienda is a must for exploring Rincon de la Vieja and the surroundings. clean, wll organized, with amazing fauna and flora around. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments the staff of the Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin feels very proud in making costumers happy. And yes the location to visit the park is very convenient. Hope to see you and your family soon back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

In February of 2012 I had the opportunity to hike up the Rincon de la veija volcano. I went with Adventure Tours. The staff were very helpful with my booking. The guides name was Cesar, he was very knowledgeable about the volcanco,plants and animals. The hike is not easy[16km. return,7-8hrs],but most defintely worth it. Highly recommend it, and ask for Cesar as your guide.

Room Tip: Book in advance to ensure availability. Rooms are of very good quality no matter where you were loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thanks very much for your comments, we feel glad you enjoyed Rincón de la Vieja National park from Hacienda Guachipelin. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Guanacaste is a hotter drier area than much of the rest of the traditional tourist circuit of Costa Rica, but Hacienda Guachelpin is a wonderful green oasis in this lovely National Park. The resort accommodation bounds a lovely garden with tall trees and flowering shrubs that are greatly attractive to colourful birds. Parrots, toucans, trogons and lively wrens are the highlights here. From the restaurant there is an ever changing scene below with horses and cattle being herded in by horsemen, and more birds; motmots or squirrel cuckoos likely to call by. From here it is a short drive to the hiking trails in the Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja. Paths lead among tall forest trees to the steam vents and mud pools that make the volcanic landscape famous. The pool, the restaurant, the staff all help to make a stay here such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Hi, I see you like birds, I am glad you could see a great deal of them, they truly are beautiful and they can easily be seen at the hotel gardens or at the national park which is very close. We hope to see you soon back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 11782-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Guachipelin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.