We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than I expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 108, Rincon de La Vieja 5000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Much more than I expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a wonderful resort. Great place to spend a few days during your Costa Rica trip. We stayed here for 3 days before heading to the beach. The resort is beautiful. The service is first class. All of the employees went out of their way to make our trip amazing. The food was great. If you are looking for a place to get away, this is the place. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    130
    50
    22
    12
See reviews for
133
214
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I spent the last weekend in Hotel Borinquen Resort and Spa in Guanacaste Costa Rica, and I just have one word to describe it "Amazing". It was just amazing, everything, the place, the nature, the service, the food, amazing views from the room's balcon, I took 3 diferent tours, a horseback ride, canopy and a really extreme ATV ride, and plus the natural sauna, the volcanic steam and mud bath and the quiet and familiar enviroment converts the hotel in an excelent choise and a 100% recomended place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved visiting this resort, even if it was only for one day. The horseback rides and zip lines were professionally done, and we felt safe the whole time . The waterfalls were a really serine spot to stop and soak up the Costa Rica tropical forest. The food was excellent, and the volcanic steam and mud bath were fun extras. Thanks for the good time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The setting is stunning. The view from our room up on the hill was beautiful. We also had a great day horse riding, zip lining, swimming, and using the mud bath and thermal pools.

However, a couple of things could have been better and it's a shame because this could so nearly have been one of the best places we have ever visited.

The rooms are a bit tired, and clearly weren't prepared properly before arrival. Our mini bar was all but empty - no problem for us except not wanting to be charged for what was missing, and the air conditioning in the room didn't work on the first night.

However, the biggest downside for me was the restaurant. The food was really poor and getting anywhere else wasn't a practical proposition. Also, on the first evening, the staff opened the windows to try to cool the dining area, but there are no insects screens and so we shared the experience with some of the biggest bugs I have ever seen.

If things were done just a bit better....

Room Tip: Go for the rooms up the hill - for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Beautiful property, great guides for horseback riding and zip lining. Lunch was served in a beautiful setting and was delicious. The thermal spa was very interesting and the grounds are spectacular. My son and husband loved the zip lining, and I am glad I did it, but may not do it again. Although apprehensive about the height, I always felt as though they guides were safety conscious, and the view was worth the effort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I just got back from a weekend at Borinquen, where I stayed as I was coordinating a wedding for clients. I had been to the hotel on previous site visits, but had not had the opportunity to spend a couple of nights there... The place is beautiful and the natural spa (natural steam room, mudbath and thermal waters) is the perfect way to unwind after a couple of days of work. It is also a great alternative to the usual Costa Rica destination wedding venue (the beach), but still quite close to the airport in Liberia, so that it doesn't feel like getting to your hotel is a big deal (which is something some people feel when travelling from the airport to other similar mountain destinations within CR). The service was great, and the setting, even more so. It was a small wedding, yet the clients received perfect attention, and they were soooo happy. The food was very, very good and overall, the hotel is a place I would return to (for both work and play). I spent my last morning there truly relaxing with a little hike and spa... I definitely recommend this hotel as a laid back vacation spot, to get some real R&R away from the hustle & bustle of the beach towns, and will definitely be bringing more couples this way to have their wedding day in the gorgeous forests of northern CR!

Room Tip: Definitely get a bungalow, or if you budget allows, a junior suite with breathtaking views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I'd give this place 5 Stars except for the horrible accident that occurred on their zipline and their lack of concern or accountability. My wife severely injured her leg on their zipline. The guide did not throw out the brake and she wasn't strong enough to stop herself with the "brake" they provide (which is not much more than a fingerless glove with a metal insert). She slammed into the tree the line was tied to. Torn ligaments and contused bones have kept her out of work for over a month. Her doctors said the type of injuries she received they normally only see in car crashes. They won't return my calls and emails and all I'm asking for is some compensation for hospital bills and lost wages. Beautiful place but he management truly does care about their guests. I hope some of you can learn from this and avoid their zipline.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort

Address: P.O. Box 108, Rincon de La Vieja 5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hot Springs Spa at Borinquen Mountain Resort is your exclusive vacation spot located in Guanacaste in the North Pacific Region of Costa Rica.The Hotel was designed and created in 1999 with the sole purpose of unlocking the exceptional beauty of the Rincon de la Vieja countryside and bringing it to the world. When you visit Hotel Borinquen you are literally stepping into a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Rincon De La Vieja
Resort Borinquen Mountain
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.