We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 108, Rincon de La Vieja 5000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I had never before seen a place out of a fairy tale! It was just lovely! There was a huge fruit plate, chilled wine and flowers and swam towels on our bed!! So romantic!! They sat us outside with candles and torches for dinner by ourselves because it was our honeymoon! The hot mud and sauna was a delight and we couldn't get enough of the swim up bar!! We were perfectly treated!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    115
    40
    19
    12
See reviews for
121
188
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel in late March. It is a unique lush valley in the CR highlands.
The service was outstanding with all staff eager to please and help. The horseback ride and zipline was the best in CR with great guides who were friendly and knowlegeable of the environment pointing out unique plants and animals.
Food was excellent. Most CR food is challenged and we had great meals for two days. DInner was the best we had in CR.
Cannot wait to go back.
Hotel should create a tipping policy for staff. They earn it and it is unclear how to compensate.

Room Tip: Horse back ride and zipline tour is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorinquenResort, Owner at Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your great comments, we look forward to having you come back again soon. Regarding the tipping, a 10% service charge is included by law in Costa Rica. If you feel that your waiter went that extra mile, you are welcome to leave an additional tip at your discretion.

Mario Jimenez
Owner
Borinquen Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

As we have read the reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to visit the resort despite of the quite high price and the distant location.
As we have arrived, we have already been surprised by the pure quality of the reception (no questions could be answered about Rincon de la Vieja and no information about the surroundings is provided). I have experienced much better quality and friendliness in cheaper places in Costa Rica.
Second drawback has been the room. It is hold very dark (brown wood) and the furniture is just old. We have been afraid to walk on the balcony since it looked really moody. The AC is just old and loud... I would say 20 years ago the place was state of the art, but nothing was done since then.
Next: the pool - it looks really nice. But as we came closer, we just have seen the sun screen of probably last 6 months. I didn't go in there...
Last but not least: the breakfast didn't just take like 40 minutes to wait for it after ordering. It also was really poor for Costa Rican conditions (and it means something). You also had to pay extra for even an extra piece of bread...
We really do not recommend this place and we are really disappointed in the ratings on Tripadvisor! Save your money and find a nicer spot in this beautiful country.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Yishay, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

great pool and hot springs, nice rooms and good food. the guides are nice and we had a very good horse ride. the hotel area is large and might be a bit problem to carry kids around...
the restaurant has good food with reasonable prices.the highlight of the hotel is the pool and springs.

Room Tip: choose a room close to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a beautiful resort out in the middle of no where. The volcanic rocks by the river are absolutely incredible. The resort is immaculately kept. The rooms are beautiful with wonderful views, lots of privacy, strong water pressure, honor bar and safes. The mud pot is so much fun to play in, not to mention the hot springs and swim up bar. If the road to this resort troubles you then Costa Rica is not for you. It is all part of the adventure. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I wish we had more time to spend there.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place. They are duplexes with lovely grounds in betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Borinquen Mountain Resort is about 22 kilometers down a rocky, bumpy, dusty road off the Panamerican Highway. It's definitely a place to get away from it all. The property is pretty, with many trees and flowers. The room my wife and I had was pleasant, with amenities like a refrigerator, coffee maker, and air conditioning. The beds were comfortable and there was a nice deck surrounded by flowers with views of the rolling hills all around. The room was clean, but showed its age a bit with well used furniture and in the fact that the screens on the windows had gaps between them and the frame. Not a big deal, but I could have fixed it with access to some tools. The hot water in the shower seemed to run out a bit too soon as well.

The mud bath was fun; really just a large pot of hot volcanic mud you can smear on yourself. Showers are provided to wash it off after it dries. The hot pools (fed by hot springs) were indeed very hot and enjoyable. I didn't try the large pool, but the people I saw in it were enjoying it. There is a "sauna" as well, really a building with wood benches perched over a volcanic fumarole. It's a bit sulfurous, but it certainly steams you up.

There are some nice small trails around the property, one of which goes my a petroglyph, crosses a hot spring river, and offers opportunities to see some of the local wildlife. We saw toucans, coatis, and lizards on our walk. You can also climb to the top of the property and follow a rocky road to a nice spot to view a waterfall. The road offers good opportunities to view the countryside for miles around.

The restaurant on the property was good. We really enjoyed the Costa Rican typical meals (plato tipico). The staff were friendly and attentive.

The staff around the property were all friendly and helpful. Be aware that the property is very hilly, so be prepared for some hilly walks. If you're looking for Wifi, it's only available in the main lodge.

We enjoyed seeing a wide variety of birds (toucans, mockingjays, some pretty yellow and red birds that we never got the names of), coatis, and iguanas around the property. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. Just be aware that Borinquen is a bit far away from everything (due to the rough road), so once you're there, you may just want to stay and enjoy the place. It's also about an hour to Rincon de la Vieja National Park, so don't expect to just hop on over there, either.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up on the property would probably have the best views, but be aware that they're up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just spent 8 days in Costa Rica, 4 of the at the Borinquen. The area the hotel is in is stunning and remote, about 1 HR from Libera, on a pretty good dirt road.

The hotel is manicured like a golf course (which is a little odd since the natural un-manicured surroundings are so much nicer then any gold course could be). We did a zip line and horse back ride which were excellent, and led by good guides, and they have a really nice sauna - but the problems are so huge I can't suggest going - and would never consider going back.

1. getting around- our room was about 1/2 mile up a hill from the food and pool - too far to carry wet or hungry kids. they don't allow you to bring cars on the property, and provide a golf cart service, which would be fine - if they actually showed up. you have to call reception to get a cart, many times when we called reception no one would pick up, or if we were at the pool, they had no phone or staffer around to call the cart, or we'd have to wait 20 minutes to get a cart. we decided to ignore the no car rule after a day and just drove where we wanted.

2. food - this is the biggest issue. probably the worst food I have ever paid for. really, really bad. because this is an 1HR away from anything - this is a big issue. with the exception of one very competent waiter, the staff was poorly trained - it would take 30 minutes just to get eggs in the morning, and at times was served by a waiter with an open sore on his hand. the dinning room itself is really dated, feels like a catskill resort trying to do a formal spanish dinning room. by the end of the trip we just decided to eat the food that came pre-packaged - mostly cereal and yogurt, and also considered driving the 1 hour to town to escape the slop they served.

3. maintance - the room itself was fairly well maintained, but had a mystery smell coming from some place near the mini bar, the shower had no pressure (we had to take baths), and the other the family we traveled with's room was infested by a termite swarm the last night (I'm not talking a few bugs in the room during the swarm, I'm talking thousand's, in the bed, luggage, everyplace). They were given a new room after someone from house keeping showed up with a can of raid and realized she was out matched. the grounds really need an update as well - astroturf around the pool really worn out, all the fan blades in the dinning room are broken off.

We tried to temper our expectations of our accommodations considering where we were traveling, but the high quality of the other places we stayed in Costa Rica just highlighted what a mess this place was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort

Address: P.O. Box 108, Rincon de La Vieja 5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hot Springs Spa at Borinquen Mountain Resort is your exclusive vacation spot located in Guanacaste in the North Pacific Region of Costa Rica.The Hotel was designed and created in 1999 with the sole purpose of unlocking the exceptional beauty of the Rincon de la Vieja countryside and bringing it to the world. When you visit Hotel Borinquen you are literally stepping into a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Rincon De La Vieja
Resort Borinquen Mountain
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.