We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue River Resort & Hot Springs to your Saves list
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   600 metros Oeste del puente del Rio Azul, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
“Awesome vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I came to Blue River Resort to relax and have some fun before the summer was over. The ride from Liberia airport to the resort was a great way to start my adventure. It was a beautiful ride on a bumpy road which I enjoyed especially coming from a place where everything is paved. I loved the remote location and being totally surrounded by nature. It's truly an oasis. The room was perfect and the food was excellent. I divided my time between relaxing and taking advantage of everything offered at the resort and going out on excursions. The zip lining was great and I will never forget the Tarzan rope jump. The staff is friendly and accommodating and I would recommend it to anyone looking for an authentic Costa Rica experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    159
    61
    21
    6
See reviews for
225
214
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddleston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Blue River Resort represents a valiant effort to create something from nothing. It's on the far side of Rincon from Liberia, in the middle of an agricultural area. It is interesting in that sense - there is NOTHING nearby, other than fields! This "resort" is very new and feels that way, with smallish newly planted landscaping and a generally raw feel. All distractions & activities are supplied through the hotel. The tubing on the Blue River was fun, but not worth the trip. The horses are not well cared for and the horseback "trail ride" is along a dirt road through the neighborhood to some property the hotel owner is trying to sell as building lots. The waterfall is ok, but not any better than dozens of others in Costa Rica. The restaurant is good and the staff is exceptionally nice, friendly and accommodating. If a tour bus arrives, though, watch out! They quickly overwhelm the small staff and facilities. It's a nice enough place, it's just in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Rooms near the restaurant can actually pick up wifi on their front porches, though they can be VERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Trip was fantastic! Resort was clean, relaxing and the food excellent. The staff are amazing and go out of their way to make sure you have the experience you were looking for. The insects and rain can make for a loud night if you're a light sleeper, but the rooms are otherwise excellent. The excursions were excellent and seemed available at any request. The place is fairly remote, so those looking to lots of things in nearby towns etc., organizing transportation with the resort or through a rental car will be required. Nevertheless, some of the excursions were away from the resort, giving us a chance to see other parts of the country! Thanks Blue River!

Room Tip: Try to get near the bar/restaurant -- 111 or 112.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Amazing place, first class, thank you. Had great time me and my family, new rooms, food was excellent, no complains for nothing. Will be back next year. We just return home and we all missing this place, botanical garden is fastening, we learn so much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I just left the resort with my wife and 4 and a half year old son, after travelling along the coast of guanacaste for two weeks. when i arrived at blue river resort and hot springs my expectations were exceeded. My only regret is i couldn't stay longer. (only 2 nights) :( The rooms were very spacious , clean and cozy. The grounds were something out of some magical world. The food was very good, the menu was very flexible and covered a wide range of food, and the service was very sincerely and genuinely friendly. My family and i felt as if the staff were part of our family.My son couldn't get enough of the pool with the slide, and when i relaxed in one of the hotsprings i thought i was in heaven. We did the zip line tour and was one of my personal best experiences i have ever had. Everything from ofcourse the experience itself to the scenery and attention to safety. The road is a bit bumby getting up the mountain, however the scenery to the resort makes every minute worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a beautiful, relaxing, and rejuvenating place to go! The cabins are SUPERB! AC works great, clean, and big! Lots of room and absolutely gorgeous! The moment you step onto the site, you are met with hospitality, beautiful vegetation, and a map of all of the sites, scenes to see, and features of the property. The Butterfly Garden and botanical gardens are peaceful and beautiful. I took a free mud bath using the volcanic mud which was a fun experience, and yes, my skin was a lot smoother afterwards. I had a great massage in their spa from a really nice masseuse. Their hot spring pools are extremely relaxing, and there are different temperatures to suit your own personal taste. My favorite, though, was the cold pool which featured a long, winding water slide. At 55 years of age, even I enjoyed it tremendously! I felt like a kid again! The only negatives are that it is really far and out of the way, they didn't have a good bartender when we were there (although they had someone - we just had to tell him what and how to fix what we wanted), and they ran out of some general stock items. I did not participate in tubing down the Blue River, but my husband did. It is rough! You wear a helmet, and it's a bumpy ride! However, my husband said it was very fun, and he'd do it again in a heartbeat. It could definitely be too rough for itty bitty ones, and my husband came back with some cuts and bruises, but he is 60 and still enjoyed it. Would we go back to the resort? Absolutely! It was brand new when we went, and a lot of the vegetation will only get prettier and prettier with time. If only they would make the roads to and from better ... that may take some time. Worth the trip though!!!! Once you are there, you've pretty much got everything you need for a wonderfully relaxing and beautiful time. The owner of the resort did whatever he needed to in order to make sure we all had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms were about the same, and they were all stunningly gorgeous. They cabins app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to Blue River Resort at the begining of August with my family and we had a spectacular experience there. The service is great and also the hotel facilities you don´t expect to fine sometime like this in a remote area.

The place is excelent for families with kids and families with old members

We really enjoy our visit. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue River Resort & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Address: 600 metros Oeste del puente del Rio Azul, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Resort & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Resort and Hot Springs is an authentic Costa Rica experience in the rainforests of Rincon de la Vieja. Our jewel is the spectacular natural mineral "green" hot spring pools – but that’s just the beginning. There is a large fresh water pool & bullet slide, the spa, botanical gardens, butterfly farm, iguana and frog pond and much more. Set out on several authentic eco Costa Rica adventure tours, all nearby. Eco-tours include visits to gorgeous blue volcanic rivers and waterfalls by horseback, nature walks, volcano hike, zip-lining across waterfalls and much more. The breadth of eco-nature tours will amaze you. Blue River Resort & Hot Springs offers luxury accommodation in new, spacious 720 square foot cabanas. Book your dream Costa Rica vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue River Resort & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Blue River Resort And Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.