We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip to Rincon de la vieja” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin

Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin
Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park | Guanacaste, Rincon de La Vieja 11782-1000, Costa Rica
506-26652613
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Adventure tours for all ages next to Rincon de la Vieja National Park, Liberia, Guanacaste. The "One Day Adventure Pass" is a combination of Canopy Tour, White water Tubing, horseback ride and hot springs, with 1 meal. Individual tours are operated too.The new attraction is the butterfly garden with the snake and frog exhibit. The best adventure tour is the Canyoning Tour. The only canyoning tour in Guanacaste.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great trip to Rincon de la vieja”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I just came back from CR - we were there in Jan 2013 - and we had a blast!

One of the highlights of our vacation was the day trip we made to the Rincon national park. we drove ourselves from the JW Marriott, which is a few miles south of Tamarindo, and it was pretty straight forward with the GPS except that the road was rough by the end - to be expected as this is a wild nature preserve. My only recommendation for the drive is to make it early in the morning before it gets too hot, plus you want to get there early to have time for all the activities.

Rather than reserve a package beforehand we just bought one at Hacienda Guachipelin, one of the outfits just outside the park, when we got there. We bought the mud springs and hike package, including buffet lunch, for $55 per person.

Because we got there a bit late - around 10am - there was no hike group for us to join. The staff there were very friendly and eager to please, not to mention spoke very good English, and found us a guide, Cesar Guell, to take my wife and me on a private hike. Although you can technically hike the park trails on your own I strongly recommend going with a guide, especially if this is your first time at the park.

Our itinerary was reversed in that we did the mud springs first and the hike in the afternoon with lunch in between. The mud springs were very enjoyable, though easily missed from the road.(I should mention that all the roads from base camp to the various attractions such as the mud springs, the park, etc. are dirt/gravel with potholes in places, so a 4x4 SUV comes in handy.)

The mud-springs station on the Rio Negro was spartan but had everything we needed: bathrooms, changing rooms and lockers to leave our stuff, they even give us a small key padlock. From the station there was a bit of a walk along a forest trail leading to a small hanging bridge (nothing to worry about - my wife, who has a fear of heights, handled it very well) across the Rio Negro to the hot pools. We were greeted by another staff member who explained the process to us (soak 10 mins in pool, apply mud and hold for 10 mins, rinse off and back in the pool, repeat) mixed the mud, and made us feel that we weren't the only people in the forest. We had the pools to ourselves and we enjoyed them very much - the water is hot and its all natural!

As our hike with Cesar was starting at 1pm, we had to hurry a bit to get back to camp and have lunch. Lunch was simple but good. There was a salad bar and hot stations with meat, spaghetti and steamed veggies. We did vegetarian so we had the salad, pasta, and veggies and it was all delicious! They had various juices and we particularly liked the Tamarindo juice - its greenish color isn't very appetizing but it tastes great!

At 1 we met up with Cesar and headed for the park to go on the hike. We had to pay $10 per person at the ranger station, not included in the $55 per person we had already paid.

We were told the trail we would do is one of the easier ones (I think it was 2.1 km) but we found it a good workout. Cesar was a great guide! First of all, he speaks English very well, and second, he is very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of this rainforest. Cesar had all kind of interesting info about the trees, plants, geology (sulfuric mud pools, etc) and ecosystems we were seeing. Cesar made an effort to spot wildlife and we did see monkeys, an iguana and a small rodent-like mammal (forget what it's called); we also saw some birds but unfortunately could not locate a tucan that Cesar had spotted in the trees before it flew way. Of course, we saw a lot of interesting plants. Cesar kept a good pace but accommodated to us when we fell behind, both because we were taking pics and because of the difficulty of the terrain.

After about 3 hrs we were out of the park and headed for base camp. We were quite tired after the hike as the terrain is difficult especially in the cloud forest stretch, with already narrow paths clogged up with boulders, tree roots and interlaced with mini-streams, but that's what made it such an exciting adventure!

Thank you Cesar and Hacienda Guachipelin for an awesome day at Rincon!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing all this nice comments, we feel very happy that you had such a great time with us.
Thank you for recommending our natural hot springs, and for recommending Cesar to be the guide. I will let him know all the good comments you said about him.
Readers will understand very well all the benefits of the Hacienda with your great description.
Please come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    28
    12
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful two days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were incredibly glad we chose to stay at the Hacienda for two nights as it heightened the experience. Waking up to the symphony of all the beautiful birds was priceless! As guests in their clean and comfortable rooms, you have the benefit of free shuttles with the friendly, accomodating and knowledgable staff. Our full day there was filled with the Adventure Tour on our son's 11th birthday. It was an unbelievably amazing day for all five of us. Even during the 'relaxing' parts of the river tubing was filled with seeing Blue Morpho butterflies, gorgeous flowers and beautiful scenery. The ziplining over and through the canyon was stunning and all three of our boys loved the horseback riding (as did we). Enjoying the Rio Negro Hot Springs at the end was perfect. The whole day was full of excitement and laughter both by us and the staff. They clearly enjoy working there and it shows in how well they treat the guests. All of the staff were kind, helpful and very attentive. The food was great for kids and adults - a nice blend of Costa Rican and International. The several waterfalls we hiked to were gorgeous and the Las Pailas Trail in the Rincon de la Vieja National Park was a MUST SEE. Overall, we could not have enjoyed it more!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you very much for all your nice comments regarding the hotel and all the activities we offer, indeed we are perfect for families, the activities are for all ages and everybody enjoys alot.
We are glad that you decided to stay at Hacienda Guachipelin and for recommending the hotel to all the readers of Trip Advisor. I will tell the staff your good comments about them, they will be glad to learn what a good job they are doing. Excellent that you took advantage of how close to the NAtional Park the hotel is and could hike inside.
We hope you can come back soon and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tons of Fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I took a group of college students on this tour and everyone had a wonderful time!! Even if a student did not want to do 1 of the 4 activities, the tour operators made sure that student got to the next activity no problem. Everyone had a really great time! Each part of the tour was tons of fun and even lunch far exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend this tour for adventure seekers!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for your review Alan M and thanks for recommending our tours.We hope to see you again next year.
Pura Vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fun, Exhilarating, and Very Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but did the Adventure tours which was the best. I am actually glad we did the whole adventure and came away with that feeling before read about it on every travel site. We started our adventure Zip lining through the canyons. Amazing, Amazing, Amazing. It was our very first time on a Zip line and we felt so safe, secure, and thrilled. The safety precautions were top of the charts. So many support staff at every station. We also did he 40 ft optional rock wall climbing. Very tough but a great work out. My daughter had a tiny insect that got stuck in her eye. They had an EMT, Erick who was there with the whole Zip line adventure who took immediate care. He went out of his way to get a local daughter to call in a prescription for antibiotic drops that were delivered after our second adventure.
Our second adventure was tubing down the rapids. Simply amazing the way this was organized, run, and handled by the staff. Every one of the patrons had an awesome time. Highly recommend this activity. It was fast and furious at some points and then real calm at some spots. If you were stuck they had helpers tubing along side. The tubing ended with some fresh fruit, water, and towels.
The buffet style lunch was very tasty with so many choices for vegetarians, vegans, and meat eaters. It was a very Costa Rican lunch with some international choices.
After lunch we rode horses to the nearby water falls. The horses and the staff were amazing. They have a ton of horses to suit every one’s preferences. The falls we went to was pretty cool.
We ended the day with a mud bath and some quality time at the Hot Springs. A short drive takes you to a very scenic point. The Mud bath was a great way to get your body cleansed after a day long of adventures. The hot spring was so soothing and relaxing.
All this for $85(adults) and $65(kids). The best adventure money can buy. Nothing was ever compromised. They even had photographers at different spots and it wasn’t expensive.
The staff here were beyond awesome. Arturo, the manager is a pretty awesome leader. He was there at the end of each activity asking every person on the tour about the activity. The entire staff at Hacienda Guachapelin need special recognition. We did this on Christmas day and my daughter, wife, and our cousins all thought this was the best way to spend Christmas.
We stopped by the next day to pick up photo’s and the staff came over to say hi and remembered us and gave us suggestions about other activities in CR. Erick the EMT actually checked on our daughter’s eye to make sure all was fine. What a touch!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello arv212 , we are glad that you think highly of our tours. We demand from our guides safety, we are glad you felt safe.
The canyon where this happens is unique, and the tubing is a lot of fun. Our food.....we are happy that you enjoyed it. We try our best, but sometimes just those who don't seem happy are the ones reviewing, we really do appreciate positive reviews.
The area is full of water, we have many ricers and different waterfalls in the area to explore. About the volcanic mud, we are simply blessed by having the springs on our property.
Erick is a nice guy and he comes in handy with unwanted situations.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the way that the staff handled the tours.
We hope to see you in Costa Rica again.
Pura Vida arv212 !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun but Frustrating II”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Additional to the preview review, we had a great time specially our teens but beware on going in high holiday season because they don't have all the guides. In the morning we only we're able to do the tubing and the zip lining (2 1/2 hrs instead of the 45min normally takes) in the afternoon, by the time we reach the horse-riding, there were none so we decided to skip them, and went to swim in a beautiful waterfalls with our private guide (highly recommended it will pay for himself and even more in holidays) finishing later in the hot-springs.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear HoracioLarrain , thanks for reviewing our tours. First we we need to say that our tours don't last 45 minutes. For example our canopy tour is programed for 1:30 minutes of adventure inside the canyon. The white water tubing is programed for about the same time.
Yes HoracioLarrain we had many more visitors during the last days of December, and we are happy because the word is around that our tours are fun and good value. And yes , by the Christmas days we are busy.
We are happy to know that you had a great time with your kids. Please visit us in May or the beginning of June, the place will be all for your family.
Pura Vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin also viewed

Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin to your Saves list