We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Company” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin

Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin
Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park | Guanacaste, Rincon de La Vieja 11782-1000, Costa Rica
506-26652613
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Adventure tours for all ages next to Rincon de la Vieja National Park, Liberia, Guanacaste. The "One Day Adventure Pass" is a combination of Canopy Tour, White water Tubing, horseback ride and hot springs, with 1 meal. Individual tours are operated too.The new attraction is the butterfly garden with the snake and frog exhibit. The best adventure tour is the Canyoning Tour. The only canyoning tour in Guanacaste.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We did the horseback riding, hot springs, mud bath, waterfall and the canopy tour and every one of them were fantastic!!! Especially the canopy tour! Breathtaking scenery and very knowledgable guides!! Thanks for a fantastic day!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
thanks JW1959 for taking your time to share with TA your thoughts, we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our "One Day of Adventure Pass" .
We hope that you visit again our country Costa Rica.
Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    28
    12
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Volcanic Soak when short on time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Cesar from Diversity Destinations recommended that my friend and I spend our half day at Guachipelin since we were heading to Manuel Antonio that afternoon. Although we didn't do the horseback riding, rapelling, and other activities that are included in the full day tour we had a blast soaking in the vary degrees of hot, volcanic pools. We then covered ourselves with the volcanic muds and washed off in a shower from a natural spring. Beautiful time enoying the scenery and our awesome tour guide Cesar. We intend to use him on future trips to CR. Call him for a quote+506 6018 4499

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
thanks Whitewings3set for reviewing Guachipelin
what people enjoy the most is the natural setting of our hot springs, we also have on site the volcanic mud fountains, we are glad to hear that you had a good time here
see you soon on your next trip
pura vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Amazing experience, a must-do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We did the "Adrenaline Tour" through Swiss Tours at the Hilton Papagayo, which brought us here on a comfortable bus. Horseback riding for about 45 min, tubing on class 1-2 (3!) rapids, and then zipline through canopy and canyon. Oh, and the lunch in between was great as well. The guides were all top notch, helpful and easy to talk to. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, General Manager at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
thank you for taking your time to write on TA gurucostarica
we are glad that you are a repeat guest of Guachipelin,
we hope to see you again here at Rincon de la Vieja , but this time you should do a waterfalls tours, we have 6 on site and you can snorkel on 2 of them
pura vida !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A "Must do" when you're in Costa Rica.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Not my first time I visited Hacienda guachipelin adventure tours but I must say, every time I go there, the staff makes me and my visitors feel comfortable and safe.
They are constantly trying new things to improve their quality. Safety has never been an issue there. The focus is on having lots of fun. The tour guides are always trying to improve and add more humor and fun in their interactions with their guests.
It's a full day program if you want or you can customize it the way you want it. The lunch is amazing.
I promise you, you're not gonna regret your visit to Hacienda Guachipelin Adventure Tours.
You will never forget this day of fun.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments, as you mention, safety for us is very important and fun is another priority, we want everybody to have lots of fun and we never stop thinking what to do to improve the experience for our friends that visit us. Hacienda Guachipelin Adventure Tours will never let you down, :) .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adventure Tours Guanacaste Region Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was an excellent all inclusive adventure tour. We started off riding horses to a waterfall where we were allowed to swim and frolic in the cool mountain water. We then rode the horses down a trail to catch a bus that took us to tubing. This tubing was nonstop action, not a leisurely float down the river. From here we rode a bus back to the Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin for lunch. After eating a delicious 3 course meal of salad, fish, and dessert, we walked across the way to get geared up for Zip Lining. This was what we had been waiting for all day! Zipping thru the trees was incredible! There were lines over rivers, through gorges and over tree tops. On two runs the guides let us go upside down! The guides numbered almost as many as the guests and I felt incredibly safe with the whole experience. We were always tethered to lines so there was no way we could have fallen. At the end of the adventure, there was an optional section where you could repel down and rock climb up. Even this climb up was safe and belayed by experienced guides. After this long day of adventure, we were not done yet. The mud baths and hot springs awaited! We drove the short distance to the hot springs. There were two sections of hot springs separated by a suspension bridge. At the trailhead, we were instructed to soak in the first springs then cross the bridge to the mud bath. The trail went down a slope to the first set of hot springs. There were 3 pools; each had a sign with the temperature listed from 38 degree C to 40 degree C. You were to work your way to the hottest pool. After soaking a while in the pools, which felt amazing after the long day, we crossed the bridge to the mud. There was a man scooping up the heated mud into bowls and handing out paintbrushes. We painted the mud all over us, with him assisting. Then we sat on the rocks to let the mud dry. The mud was brought down from the volcano to this area. There were showers fed by the mountain stream to rinse the mud off and additional hot pools to soak in after the mud was rinsed off. Even when I was rinsing off the mud, I could tell my shin was different. It was so soft and smooth. This was better than any spa I had ever been too! After dragging ourselves from the last hot pool, we hiked back to the car and headed back to Playa del Coco. This is a MUST DO if you find yourself in the Guanacaste region of Costa Rica.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose b, Gerente at Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello friend, thank you very much for sharing your nice experience with everybody and for taking the time in writing this comment, as you say, this is a MUST if you are in the Guanacaste area, we feel very happy that you enjoyed every activity we offered and the food, specially ending at the hot springs and mud baths, after all that activity is a nice ending. Also we feel gald that you felt safe at all times, including some risky movements, safety for us a primary. We hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin also viewed

Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
Rincon de La Vieja, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Adventure Tours Hacienda Guachipelin to your Saves list