We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very educational and interesting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Adventures

Rainforest Adventures
Braulio Carrillo National Park, Costa Rica
2257-59-61
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our visitors will enjoy the most complete experience possible, as they will literally fly through the forest, viewing the sub canopy (middle part of the forest), the upper canopy and its hanging gardens. Tram guests will discover plants and forms of life that are usually hidden in the forest treetops, an unknown world of incredible beauty and an extraordinary biological diversity. Complementing the Gondola experience, participants will be taken on a nature walk and enjoy an informational video.All visitors will be able to see life as it develops in the canopy for the first time, while experts will discover new things about the canopy’s natural history.
hayward
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very educational and interesting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

All the people involved in the tour were very knowledgeable about botany, biology and geography. This country has a lot of living things that are interesting to learn about. Viewing from the sky-tram in the rain forest is both interesting and exciting. You will not want to miss the boat ride in the canal to look for different types of species.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    19
    7
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rainforest Aerial Tram”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Although the bus ride from the port was long, our guide kept us informed and entertained. Another guide joined us on the aerial tram. He was exceptional - pointing out the many types of vegetation. We saw so much of the rainforest on this hour long ride gliding through the different levels. Although it was raining we were amazed. We enjoyed a guided walk then a delicious lunch at the cafe. The shop was filled with interesting merchandise from Costa Rica including coffee and chocolate. We booked our excursion in advance of our cruise. From the rainforest we took the bus to a river tour.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We experienced this tour as part of an all day shore excursion from a cruise ship. It takes about 2 hours by bus from the cruise docks, but you get to see just how beautiful Costa Rica really is. Upon arrival, we boarded the tram cars, which are a bit cramped, but not totally uncomfortable. Each car has its own guide on board. For over an hour, you glide silently through the rain forest, sometimes along the forest floor and at times over 120 feet in the canopy. Our guide was a butterfly expert and good thing, because we saw many different species including one irridescent blue one as big as you outstretched hand. The lushness and complexity of the rain forest made this a most memorable adventure. After the tour, be sure to check out the gift shop where you will find a very good selection of beautiful books showcasing the park and all its beauty. We highly recommend this attraction. Well worth the trip.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Good but not great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was a pleasant tour. You went on these tram cars that were a little compact, but comfortable. Note that it was raining hard the entire time, but there was a roof on the tram, so it was ok. It was very sceneic, and you saw alot of plants and a few birds, and a few insects, but NO animals. They say they see some sometimes, just don't go there with the expectation of seeing any.

Overall, it was a fairly uneventful tour. If you are looking for some excitement or to see exotic wildlife or waterfalls, this is not the tour for you. If you would like a mellow, scenic tram tour through the rainforest, then this is perfect.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena,IL
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best shore excursion of our cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

What an exciting excursion. After a 2 hour ride through the countryside of Costa Rica, viewing banana and pineapple plantations, we arrived to be immersed in the tropical rain forest. The highlights were an easy (and paved) 45 minutes walk through the lower canopy, followed by a 70 ride on an aerial tram through the middle and upper canopy. We saw amazing things like fern fronds the size of a door and a city of enormous ant hills. I came away with a new appreciation of the unique beauty and importance of the rain forest. This is a class operation with extremely knowledgeable guides, a lovely gift shop and some of the best food we had on a 10 day cruise. This one is not to be missed!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Adventures also viewed

Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Rainforest Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.