We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of China City Restaurant

China City Restaurant
4100 Cameron Park Dr Ste 114, Cameron Park, CA 95682
(530) 672-9888
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Cameron Park
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Cameron Park, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had read great things about China City. I talked it up to my wife and so we ended up there one evening. I am generally easy to please, but this time... not so much. My wife was not impressed at all. She said her meal was greasy tasting. When the waiter said they use MSG we decided not to take the leftovers home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, FL
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had the family dinner which we both enjoyed. All courses including soup and appetizers. Cashew chicken was excellent. Everything was tasty and fresh. Couldn't finish it all and couldn't take it with us because we were traveling. Would definitely return if in area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is our go-to place in a little town with 5 Asian restaurants. Consistently good with great service. Have been there for lunch and many times to get dinner to go. Every time, the order's correct, hot and quickly served. Great place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Take-out.... Great service on sit in dining.. ambiance is just so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

China City is a frequent meal for our family. Always amazed that the staff remember your name, and will remember the unique things that you order...Consistently good food. Damn review needs 200 characters before accepting.. so now I am just typing characters...........

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food in the Sierra Foothills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Situated behind a major grocery store, at the far end of a small strip mall, China City is, at first glance, an obscure restaurant. Don't let the location deter you!
We live in the area, and have patronized many Chinese restaurants. China City is certainly one of the best.
Food here is always fresh and tasty. Service is fine. Prices are reasonable. This restaurant is often crowded with local patrons, confirming our appraisal.
China City offers ample portions which, for us, often require a "doggie bag" which is then taken home and eaten as a snack, later.
We enjoy 2 - 3 meals per month at China City and have never yet been disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China City Restaurant also viewed

 
Cameron Park, CA
Cameron Park, CA
 

Been to China City Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China City Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.