We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of China City Restaurant

China City Restaurant
4100 Cameron Park Dr Ste 114, Cameron Park, CA 95682
(530) 672-9888
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Cameron Park
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had read great things about China City. I talked it up to my wife and so we ended up there one evening. I am generally easy to please, but this time... not so much. My wife was not impressed at all. She said her meal was greasy tasting. When the waiter said they use MSG we decided not to take the leftovers home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hortaegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
216 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had the family dinner which we both enjoyed. All courses including soup and appetizers. Cashew chicken was excellent. Everything was tasty and fresh. Couldn't finish it all and couldn't take it with us because we were traveling. Would definitely return if in area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is our go-to place in a little town with 5 Asian restaurants. Consistently good with great service. Have been there for lunch and many times to get dinner to go. Every time, the order's correct, hot and quickly served. Great place!

Helpful?
Thank TravelGal2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Take-out.... Great service on sit in dining.. ambiance is just so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

China City is a frequent meal for our family. Always amazed that the staff remember your name, and will remember the unique things that you order...Consistently good food. Damn review needs 200 characters before accepting.. so now I am just typing characters...........

Helpful?
2 Thank Jimryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food in the Sierra Foothills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Situated behind a major grocery store, at the far end of a small strip mall, China City is, at first glance, an obscure restaurant. Don't let the location deter you!
We live in the area, and have patronized many Chinese restaurants. China City is certainly one of the best.
Food here is always fresh and tasty. Service is fine. Prices are reasonable. This restaurant is often crowded with local patrons, confirming our appraisal.
China City offers ample portions which, for us, often require a "doggie bag" which is then taken home and eaten as a snack, later.
We enjoy 2 - 3 meals per month at China City and have never yet been disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TRS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China City Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to China City Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing