We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away in the corner of a Shopping Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Gianni's Ristorante

Papa Gianni's Ristorante
3450 Palmer Dr Ste 1, Cameron Park, CA 95682-8273
(530) 672-2333
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Cameron Park
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shingle Springs, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tucked away in the corner of a Shopping Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great family restaurant. Arrived early for dinner (a must if you do not have reservations -especially on the weekends). The helpings are huge - almost all tables had "Doggie Bags" to take home. I could go on and on, but most people seem to have covered it all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shingle Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have eaten here for almost every anniversary and many birthdays. We love the food. It can get a little noisy. Make reservations, it is almost always full. Order pizza out, it is amazing:)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“I almost don't want you to know about this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I am not Italian, but growing up in MA, I have eaten my fair share of Italian food, especially red sauces. A friend suggested we drive up to Cameron Park to eat here, and holy happy mouth, this place is super! My partner enjoyed a chicken and pineapple pizza (note: the small is enough for two people easily), my friend had a fresh tomato and garlic pasta, and I had eggplant parm. The penne that accompanied it was perfectly cooked, as was the tomato sauce, and the eggplant itself was amazing. All with garlic bread to sop up the sauce. I brought half home, and spent the rest of the week's calories on a cannoli. YUM! I can't wait to go back and order more of everything!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't miss this gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great family owened & ran restaurant! Super good Itlaian dishes & Pizza!!The garlic bread is the best you could ask for. It's a great place to go on date night, after the kid's baseball game or take clients for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We had a GREAT time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Went to this place for 1st time on our date night. Was not disappointed. The food were delicious, the waiter was great and the place was comfortable.
My husband ordered chicken picatta, loved it! I ordered fetuccini alfredo with chicken, loved it too! Bread garlic was just crunchyly yummy and the salads were perfect!
Just come by and see it for yourself, you'll love this place. We'll definitely come back for more :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Gianni's Ristorante also viewed

Cameron Park, CA
Cameron Park, CA
 

Been to Papa Gianni's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Gianni's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.