We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing tho remodeled nicely” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sizzler

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sizzler
Cameron Park Blvd, Cameron Park, CA 95682
(530) 672-2593
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 45 restaurants in Cameron Park
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Disappointing tho remodeled nicely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have gone to this restaurant before, and it has been ok for salad bar, tho not as much variety as a Soup Plantation, but that is understandable. this time we came after they renovated in June of this year, and while the seating, flooring, bathroom, TVs and all were new, and there is now a dessert bar, the food is not any better, and there are not enuff servers to clear the used plates or refill the empty salad containers. There are more prepared salads, and they seem interesting, tho with a bit too much dressing so that the contents are soggy. The ice cream is tasteless, but the two hot desserts were good. Overall, we won't be coming back, as there are better places near enuff to go to. Considering the lack of variety, and the so-so quality of food, it was also overpriced for the salad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    0
    5
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad News Restaurant, No Sizzle There”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Sizzler recently remodled so we gave it a try. On the wall are pictures of their dishes. I chose one that was supposed to be a lot of shrimp piled on a bed of noodles and a steak. What I got was a lot of over-spiced noodles on top of 3 tiny shrimp hiding at the bottom and an over-salted steak. My wife chose the skewer of shrimp and what she got were a few under-cooked, almost raw shrimp. Is Sizzler trying out shushi? She sent them back 3 times to get them cooked right, but they tasted terrible. My son, who will eat anything and loves Taco Bell and McDonald's right across the street, couldn't even finish his steak combo dinner. He asked if we wanted to bring the steak home to the dog and we both yelled "HELL NO".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, CA
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
“If buffet is your thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

They emphasize their steak and sea food combos but the draw for locals seems to the the buffet which provides customers with a diverse and tasty full course dinner fare. The salad bar is fresh and well-maintained. The entree bar is limited but as a supplement to a full salad it is fine. The wait staff are friendly and well-trained.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean and efficient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

As chains go, this location is fine. It is keep clean and the staff is pleasant and efficient. No surprises or disappointments. One waiter was way too talkative to the point intrusive. The food is all it is suppose to be. I believe the prices are just a little more than the worth of the meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sizzler also viewed

 

Been to Sizzler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sizzler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.