We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in Cameron Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ZacJack Bistro

ZacJack Bistro
3275 Coach Lane, 451 2nd Street, Cameron Park, CA 95682
(530) 676-2969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Cameron Park
Cuisines: Californian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellence in Cameron Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We've eaten at ZacJack Bistro a number of times and for breakfast, lunch and dinner and with only one minor hiccup, the food has been excellent every time. This is a real find and it's pretty amazing to find such quality in little Cameron Park. The service is always relaxed yet good and the wait staff seem to appear at just the right times, without hovering. The food is elegant and beautifully prepared and seasoned. Our most recent visit was for Easter dinner and we had the lamb and prime rib. We couldn't decide which was better…they were both perfect. This little bistro is a true find and our only hesitation in giving it the highest recommendation is that we hope it doesn't become overcrowded or too pricey. AND…a little tip: Tuesday evenings they have beautiful live jazz with a trio that could perform anywhere and be well received. This place is a true oasis of excellence in an otherwise pretty lackluster area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have been to Zac Jack Bistro many times. Have had Breakfast, lunch and dinner. All great.. Reasonably priced....So few places to go in Cameron Park. In the Applebees shopping center, but so much better. Food is really fresh and expertly prepared.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rescue
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Local gourmet bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Zackjack has both small plates,pizzas wonderful croques and specials.We had most recently the special a seared ahi on a bed of slaw with tempura type asparagus.It was great.They don't serve huge portions just great food.Desserts are awesome .I had chocolate cake ,wonderful,so rich

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gourmet Duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This the second trip to ZacJack in recent weeks. I am very impressed with the quality and presentation of the food. With another couple, we enjoyed some of the finest breast of duck with a cherry glaze, I have had in many years. My wife and friend had the duck confit also very good. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling up Hwy 50 to or from Lake Tahoe, you won't be disappointed or broke by the bill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great deal; don't pass it up.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

First, an admission: I detest the way review sites like TripAdvisor enable cranks and snobs and narcissists and know-it-alls to heap anonymous slander on conscientious restaurants. No food establishment is perfect, but as long as it does a serious job, I will not give it less than 5 stars, and save my criticism for the end.
Five of us had dinner for five at ZacJack’s bistro in Cameron Park, just off Highway 50 west of Placerville. Its theme is an inventive mix of French and Californian. But their food presentations are not prissy-fussy as in nouvelle cuisine, which is fine with me.
One of us, a very elderly lady, had the stuffed artichoke which she greatly liked, and took half of it home. Another had the chicken cordon bleu, her husband a fancy Kobe-beef burger, my wife the trout almandine, and I decided on that night’s special, the ahi tuna, cooked rare. Oh, my wife and I also split their spinach salad, which was wonderful, not overcooked but barely tossed, with candied walnuts, julienned, marinated apple, sautéed mushrooms and red onions, and a sweet balsamic-bacon-dressing. All of us loved our food. Unlike much farm-bred trout, my wife’s trout was firm-fleshed, and came with home-made sweet potato fries and very fresh green beans. I also loved their prices, since I was paying the bill. They have hardly anything over $20. All told I spent about $160 including drinks, a dessert and the tip. A good deal; don’t pass it up.
Now, for the criticism (which not everyone may agree with; that’s why I get so annoyed at restaurant reviewers who think the entire world should conform to their tastes): 1. The waitress could have asked if I wanted a second glass of wine, but I let it go; 2. Somebody forgot about the side of fries I had ordered, and when they finally came they were limp, not crisp like the others; 3. During all the time we were there we were forced to listen to a wailing banshee by the name of Underwood, who should have stuck to making typewriters. Apparently they were playing one CD that repeated endlessly. When I finally made my unhappiness known I was told the music was the department of somebody not present that evening. Seems a poor excuse to me, but I’m not privy to the internal management structure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZacJack Bistro also viewed

 
Cameron Park, CA
Cameron Park, CA
 

Been to ZacJack Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZacJack Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.