We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Pass this Bistro Up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ZacJack Bistro

ZacJack Bistro
3275 Coach Lane, 451 2nd Street, Cameron Park, CA 95682
(530) 676-2969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 45 restaurants in Cameron Park
Cuisines: Californian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't Pass this Bistro Up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We found this place using a Living Social coupon. Most of these coupon places are not worth visiting a second time and paying full price. ZacJack is the exception. Located right off U.S. Hwy 50 at the Cameron Park exit south on the way to Lake Tahoe is close enough for the Sacramento Valley folks to take the short drive up for this food. Everyone in our group enjoyed items from the Sat/Sun Brunch menu and everything was the best. Their regular prices won't gag you and the food and service are excellent. Dine in or on the patio. They have a comforting menu but the preparation and unique blend of foods make dinning a joy again! We will go back again, and again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    14
    4
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Service; waiters & bar staff really good.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The service was great; but the meal was not. Food was undercooked or not what we ordered w/no explanation. Carrot cake is delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Poor service!
We had to wait around 10 minutes just to get water. They weren't busy. We were maybe the 8th table. The owner? Was the worst! Poor service with a very negative attitude.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our lunch items were excellent. Macaroni and cheese, stuffed artichokes, and mushroom flatbread......the small plates are BIG so we had plenty left over for dinner. Lovely greaseless preparations.

Very enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our second visit to this Cameron Park eatery. The first was for lunch and during this visit we had dinner. Both meals were excellent, the staff friendly and helpful. For lunch, we had "grilled cheese" sandwiches, which are anything but the old grilled cheese most of us grew up eating. These were cheesy and bursting with flavor. My wife had the mushroom ragout grilled cheese with black truffle aioli. I had the short rib grilled cheese with blue cheese slaw, crispy onion rings and bordelaise dipping sauce. Both of these choices were excellently conceived and prepared. Chef John Evans says he opened ZacJack Bistro to provide everyday gourmet cuisine at affordable prices. For our money he has succeeded most admirably. At last night's dinner, we both began our meals with the half Caesar entree salads. Perfectly dressed Romaine lettuce with the Bistro's tangy dressing. For our entrees, we each had the duck confit, crispy on the outside and moist and juicy inside, and served with a cherry sauce on the side. The duck sat atop a crispy potato latke and came with sauteed tender baby squashes and olives. At $14, these were excellent entrees. Our waiter was very friendly and quite expert at explaining each of the evening's special entrees. The restaurant decor is French bistro. It is airy and clean with a small patio for dining al fresco. The restaurant has a very nice moderately priced wine list and a fine selection of beers. As I said, this was our second experience at ZacJack Bistro and it certainly won't be our last. This is much welcomed addition to El Dorado County's limited dinning choices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZacJack Bistro also viewed

 

Been to ZacJack Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZacJack Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.