We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to give it 4 stars, but can't” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
3281 Coach Ln, Cameron Park, CA 95682-8487
530-677-8677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 48 Restaurants in Cameron Park
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Shingle Springs, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Would love to give it 4 stars, but can't”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Yes, it is a chain and for the most part the food is consistent and the dishes I have had are always good. The service is lacking a bit, while the folks (kids) are friendly, just not to attentive. Maybe the part of the problem was we came on a Sunday afternoon at 3ish, seemed to close to shift change. One member of our party finally went to the drink stand and poured my water himself. I even pushed my glass to the edge of the table while the waitress was talking to us with a pitcher in her hand! Not very observant. Slow in removing empty dishes also, at one point we stuck them on another table to get them out of out way. On a different note, the reason we came is that apparently they are trying to pilot a new idea which is they turned the outdoor seating into a "Biergarten" on Thu-Sat, with 3 German beers on draft and a sausage plate. For us, having Fresh Draft German Beers available in this beer barren area is WONDERFUL! That is almost worth 5 stars!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placerville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service. Tough on vegetarians.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The staff was the highlight of this restaurant. Excellent service, courtesy and esprit de corps. Everyone enjoyed their food. I had a melted cheese sandwich, tomato soup, and a very good deal on a brownie and ice cream dessert. All good.

More vegetarian options would be appreciated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just OK, really.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stopped by for a late dinner. Pretty good amount of people. Decent time getting us seated. The time it took to take our order wasn't bad either. I ordered fish and chips. Easy enough.

Things arrived in a decent time, so service was not an issue at all. The food was.

The fish was soaked in oil. The batter was also soaked. Think of a sponge that has reached its limit. The fish was also tough. Not flakey. I'd like to say it was moist, but tough fish is hard to ignore. Was I disappointed! Ate a few bites and stopped. Not worth it. Vinegar and sauce can only cover up so much. This is certainly a first. Bad batch, bad cook, whatever it was... Just subpar.

One bad plate of fish and chips doesn't mean stop eating at Applebee's. Just don't order the fish and chips.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIghland Park, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Attentive Server”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I and five other famiy members went to Applebee's for lunch on Sunday, Nov. 10, to celebrate two family birthdays. The server was very helpful in describing the menu items and wanted to be sure that we were happy with the food we ordered. She was very patient with my ninety-year old parents. She even made a special effort to talk to the manager so I could have a meal which wasn't normally available on the week-end. The food was delicious. We were very pleased.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The usual, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Do not let your kids order the kid's sirloin. It was horrible and had it sent back for chicken fingers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.