We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK, really.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
3281 Coach Ln, Cameron Park, CA 95682-8487
530-677-8677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 48 Restaurants in Cameron Park
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cameron Park, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just OK, really.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stopped by for a late dinner. Pretty good amount of people. Decent time getting us seated. The time it took to take our order wasn't bad either. I ordered fish and chips. Easy enough.

Things arrived in a decent time, so service was not an issue at all. The food was.

The fish was soaked in oil. The batter was also soaked. Think of a sponge that has reached its limit. The fish was also tough. Not flakey. I'd like to say it was moist, but tough fish is hard to ignore. Was I disappointed! Ate a few bites and stopped. Not worth it. Vinegar and sauce can only cover up so much. This is certainly a first. Bad batch, bad cook, whatever it was... Just subpar.

One bad plate of fish and chips doesn't mean stop eating at Applebee's. Just don't order the fish and chips.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HIghland Park, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Attentive Server”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I and five other famiy members went to Applebee's for lunch on Sunday, Nov. 10, to celebrate two family birthdays. The server was very helpful in describing the menu items and wanted to be sure that we were happy with the food we ordered. She was very patient with my ninety-year old parents. She even made a special effort to talk to the manager so I could have a meal which wasn't normally available on the week-end. The food was delicious. We were very pleased.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The usual, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Do not let your kids order the kid's sirloin. It was horrible and had it sent back for chicken fingers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“GREAT FAMILY RESTAURANT WITH AFFORDABLE PRICES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Yes, Applebee's is a chain restaurant like Sizzler, but it's a great place to either take the family or to hang out & watch the game while having a drink. It's not fancy, but it's clean, the service is friendly & helpful, the food & drinks are good, and their 2 for $20 deals are tasty and affordable. We go there 4-6 times a year and highly recommend it. Just one drawback: For my husband the steaks are small (7 oz.) and he likes his plate piled with food. He could eat the entire cow and still want more though, so it's a matter of perspective. I always take home leftovers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, CA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
“Chain? Yes. Still great? Yes indeed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I know that this is a chain restaurant, but they are so nice and well trained that the staff makes this location fell like a family-owned place to eat. The quality of the wait staff makes it special. The menu is chain-restaurant-consistent and obviously well-tested to be successful and tasty. The specials are varied and reasonably priced. The quality of the food preparation suggests something far better than a chain-level cook. There is a secret chef hiding somewhere back in the kitchen. The sandwiches are generous and delicious. The bar in the center offers the same fare as all Applebees but does not create distracting noise.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.