We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel with and old world charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Pines Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cambria Pines Lodge to your Saves list
Cambria Pines Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2905 Burton Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cambria
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel with and old world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Stayed for one night whilst driving down the Pacific Highway. Hotel has a great location for visiting the spectular Hearst Castle. Staff were welcoming and friendly. There is ample guest parking at the various buildings on the hotel site. The pool area was spacious. Lovely gardens that made a perfect setting for the wedding that was taking place that day. Hot buffet breakfast - i would have prefered greater choice of cereals etc but that is a personal preference as i dont eat a cooked breakfast! Room was spacious. Was informed on checkin about the regular everning entertainment in the bar area but never got the time during shorty stay to check this out.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    434
    166
    80
    61
See reviews for
262
610
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Country, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

My husband and I got married at Cambria Pines Lodge and it was beautiful. The gardens were well maintained and the whole property was just perfect. Our room was very nice and the bathroom was big and spacious. We had a private patio outside the room that was secluded and cozy. The service we got was outstanding. All the employees were polite and willing to do whatever we needed to have a wonderful stay. Cambria Pines Lodge will always be a special place for us. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
We're so glad you had a wonderful time while you were here for your wedding. Cambria Pines Lodge is a perfect venue for special events. The wedding photos I've seen taken in our gardens are spectacular. Our staff sincerely hopes to welcome you and your husband again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed at the Cambria Pines Lodge on 9/15/10 for 1 night while visiting Hearst Castle. We arrived at 2:35 pm and we were told we had to wait to check in at 3pm. The lady at the desk took our credit card and checked us in, asked us to sign a statement saying if they smell cigarette smoke in the room there is a $250. clean up fee and that we are not to steal anything. We signed and had to come back after 3pm for our keys. I booked through a Travelzoo special of $69/night which included breakfast. The room was very clean & plain with old painted furniture and a fireplace which included one Duralog, The two queen beds were comfortable and it was very quiet at night.. The highlight of our stay in Cambria was an Italian restaurant in town named Lombardo's. The food was delicious, the people were very friendly and best of all, the prices were reasonable, which is more than I can say about the one gas station in town, which was charging more than 75 cents a gallon higher than what we paid at our previous stop. The buffet breakfast included in the price at the lodge,consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes,potatoes, fruit, juice and coffee.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
We guarantee our rooms will be ready for arriving guests by 3pm. All of our rooms are non-smoking. Like most hotels, we have a penalty for smoke odor in a non-smoking room. The registration card wording this guest apparently misunderstood is as follows: "I agree that Cambria Pines Lodge is not liable for theft of or damage to personal property." An average of all the rating components for this review would indicate an overall rating of four dots rather than three. We hope to welcome Bevzvet to our property again soon for another enjoyable stay in our little corner of Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We have stayed at the Cambria Pines many times in the past. Last month we stayed in a beautiful cabin that had a fireplace and a small patio overlooking the grounds. the dinner package that they offer is fantastic and comes with a bottle of wine and also breakfast. In the evening they have entertainment in the Lounge. We stayed there on our 50th anniversary and will always remember it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed at Cambria Pine Lodge during Labor day weekend. The lodge is tuck away with pine trees and nicely decorated with a bunch of beautiful flowers, green lawns and a warm smell of fire wood burn. The property has flower gardens, organic vegetable garden, and two wedding gazebo.

We booked superior room with 2 queen beds since they do not have a king bed in superior room. I was very pleased with the room. It was super clean and lovely like a cottage. It has fire place, newly remodeled bathroom with bath tub and shower, big closet, small patio in the back, desk, TV, microwave and small refrigerator. We parked the car right outside our room and they have ice maker next to our unit too.

The hot breakfast was yummy. It was a buffet, all you can eat breakfast. They have juices, tea, coffee, milk, cereal and all kind of stuffs. I love homemade muffin! I can’t get enough of that. Dinner at the restaurant was romantic as well although it was a little bit expensive but I was very happy with the service and atmosphere.

Cambria Pine Lodge is within a walking distance to downtown Cambria. I will definitely come back there again. If you’re looking for a romantic getaway, this is definitely a place for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We spent only one night at this hotel. We decided to stay in a deluxe suite, which was absolutely beautiful. Two fireplaces, jacuzzi tub, comfortable bed and beautifully decorated. Our room was very clean, and more than we expected.
The grounds outside of our room were beautiful gardens, full of flowers, and beautiful butterflies.
Our dinner is the restaurant was awesome, I had the scallops, the best I have ever had, They use fresh ingredients from their own garden. The hostess was very accomodating and our waitress was very friendly. They even opened up a closed section of the dining room for us because we wanted to eat by the cozy fireplace.
We later had a cocktail in the lounge and enjoyed the beautiful voice of Jill Knight.
We will definitely return....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Very quaint, beautiful grounds; peaceful and picturesque. Considering how the outside looked we were expecting much more of the room. How can they charge that much for a room of that quality? The bed was old, the walls were patched in several places using a different color paint, knobs were missing from some of the furniture. Sub-standard shower stall and there were stains on the carpet. I felt like I was at a super 8 but paying Marriott prices!

Some of the other reviewers thought the breakfast buffet was nice...we thought it was horrible. The food was clearly budget. Brown and Serve sausages...please. They really need to consider getting a water filter because the juices and coffee tasted like city tap water.

After seeing the room we thought it best not to eat dinner at the restaurant which was, judging by the breakfast, a good call.

To sum it up, keep the groundsmen, revamp the rooms and please do something about your hard pancakes and dried out sausages.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Address: 2905 Burton Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#6 Family Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambria Pines Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.