We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Cambria Pines Lodge” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Pines Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cambria Pines Lodge to your Saves list
Cambria Pines Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2905 Burton Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beware of Cambria Pines Lodge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

I have stayed in better Motel 6's. At a cost of more than $200 a nite we had a room with a leaking refrig, a sofa & chair we could not sit on, a leaking coffee pot, a dangerous ironing board, windows with no or damaged screens, soap & hair conditioner containers reversed in shower and bedroom blinds that did not work. One of the beds only had one sheet. A cold & tasteless breakfast was also served. Yes, the gardens and grounds were beautiful but the room was the "pits!!"

  • Liked — the gardens
  • Disliked — the room & food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    459
    183
    82
    65
See reviews for
279
654
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

Beautiful grounds. Love the gardens. The room and service, however, were not great.

Seemed like an old motel room, especially the bathroom area - old vinyl flooring, crooked toilet, dim lighting. There was an interesting old push-button dispenser for liquid soap, shampoo and conditioner in the the shower. The room carpet was old. Didn't seem clean. The beds and pillows were not very comfortable. No internet service.

The staff seemed too busy to provide good service. There was no desk bell for me to ring to catch their attention. They were in the back room chatting. Once they noticed me at the front desk they rush me through the check-in process. They had no time or interest in answering my questions. During the busy and crowded breakfast I couldn't find a staff to pay for breakfast.

I paid $165 for a basic room. Not a good value for the quality of the room and the poor service I received. Upon check-out they gave me a discount coupon for a future stay. I don't think I'll be staying there again.

  • Liked — Beautiful Gardens
  • Disliked — Poor Service and Out-Dated Motel Quality
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

We attended a wedding at the lodge. The grounds are beautiful but the suite we had was expensive, ancient and the service was poor. You could not sit on the coach or chair in the front room, they were in such bad shape. The coffee pot was broken and drained all over the place, the walls had holes, the carpet was filthy, the bed had only one sheet, the screens were off the windows, the shower caddy had conditioner in the soap, soap in the shampoo, and shampoo in the conditioner dispensers. The breakfast was cold and tasteless. The staff was not friendly, didn't smile and when we asked if the screen could be placed on the window so we could open the window and air the musky room suite out, we were told, "yes, if we get a chance". Never again!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

Cambria Lodge Inn
July 2007

We made our reservation 2 weeks in advance asking for a downstairs room as I have a bad back. We were told of our room number upon checkin and when we got there we saw it was upstairs. Took it anyway. We started to unpack and found the room had no drawers to put our clothing in, dirt on the floor and just unacceptable. We went to the desk and asked for another room. We were changed to room 716 late afternoon on Friday June 13, 2007. We were tired and started to unpack and get ready to go to dinner. We found that there was considerable mold in the shower, the refrig. door was broken, the coffee pot cracked. We waiting until Saturday morning to go to the front desk and ask for help in getting these issues taken care. Late Saturday afternoon after our 3:00 massage we returned and it still was not taken care of. We couldn't sit on the patio because there was a station behind our room that was for the cleaning staff and it was constantly filled with them, talking, yelling and laughing. I yelled to them "Silencio por favor" and they were quiet for a minute then continued to talk loudly to each other. On Sunday morning early they were quiet but before 10 am they all were back .. or a considerable amount were back ... doing the same thing. We went to check out at the desk and registered our complaints to "Joel I think" who took us aside and gave us our room for $99 per night. We would have been stupid to accept this as it would seem that we were being bought off. I asked to be advised when the managers spoke with their staff about our complaints so that I really felt that something was done. I am still waiting to hear from them. We had a very uncomfortable time at this hotel and would not return. Customer Service is all they have to offer as there are plenty of hotels in the Cambria and adjoining areas so that we don't have to go to them. Our friends and family in Santa Barbara knew where we were going and we told them, not to go to this hotel. Shame and real shame to have a dirty room, a noise room and.. no follow up to our complaints.

  • Liked — would have been big and lovely rooms if all wereclean and quiet and everything worked
  • Disliked — see above
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We had my daughter's wedding in the Gazebo Garden. The grounds are lovely, but the rooms are a nightmare. We had booked 27 rooms and all but one had some maintenance or housekeeping problem. These included toilets with unbolted seats, burned out light bulbs, vent fans in the bathrooms that did not work, showers with such low pressure you could not get the shampoo out of your hair, some had faucets with no hot water. In one room, the king mattress had 5 large holes in it. When the guest complained, all the hotel would do was flip the mattress, leaving the guest to replace the sheets (this at 10:00 p.m.). In another instance a picture over the fireplace crashed to the hearth at 4:00 a.m. terrifying the guest and crushing some floral arrangements to be used in the wedding the next day. At least for this the hotel credited the guest with one night's stay, but reimbursed nothing for the damaged flowers.
Overall, the lack of simple maintenance, cleanliness and concern for guest welfare is appalling. The staff is largely uncaring and receives complaints with a shrug and advise to fill out a "comments" survey. We would never stay here again and urge anyone who might be thinking of having a wedding here to reconsider.

  • Liked — The grounds/gardens
  • Disliked — Terrible rooms, lack of maintenance, staff attitude
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

Had read some mixed reviews on this property so I was anxious to see how our experience would be. We actually drove past the hotel because I thought it looked to nice to be the place we had booked for such a reasonable rate! The women at the front desk were wonderful, very helpful, nice and friendly. The lodge itself is adorable, with rustic and clean common areas and a very nice restaraunt. We booked a large suite for ourselves and our two teens. It was a great option, because all along our trip up the California Coast we had booked two rooms at each hotel. This really adds the costs up, so the option of a room that slept all of us was wonderful. The room was recently renovated, very clean and just fine for the price we paid. The kids each had a bed, one sofa bed and one murphy bed, while we had our own room. Very nice setup. The two small suggestions I would have for the management would be: replace the towels with white towels. It is my pet peeve to have colored linens in a hotel. I know it's a small thing, but I really like the idea of everything being bleached between guests! Also, the blinds let lots and lots of light in both early in the day and from outside at night. Blackout curtains would be a nice improvement.

  • Liked — The nicely renovated rooms
  • Disliked — No Cell Service or Internet access
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

I really love the setting , it is rustic but the natural beauty and gardens make up for that and Cambria in general is a great destination. But when we needed to contact a member of our party because of an emergency the receptionist rudly repliedthat she was " too busy " when when I asked if she could keep an eye out for them. It was a VERY scary situation for our family members and we wouldn't have "bothered" the staff had we not had genuine concerns, however the complete lack of politeness, or listening to our concerns was sad. Some amount of empathy in a situation where a guests sincere fears are apparent is basic human courtesy - the inn should have a plan in place for such emergency situations, so that staff can at least act politely if nothing else.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting.
  • Disliked — Uncaring staff.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Address: 2905 Burton Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#8 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambria Pines Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.