We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Pines Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cambria Pines Lodge to your Saves list
Cambria Pines Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2905 Burton Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Rustic getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is the second time we have taken advantage of a Travelzoo special at this hotel. We had 2 night's stay plus dinner & daily full service breakfast for under $200. Such a deal!
The rooms are large & comfortable, a bit dated but not bad. The beds are comfortable with better than average bedding. It is SO quiet here at night thus insuring a great night's sleep.
Breakfast buffet is complete, eggs, cereals, fruit, muffins, etc.
Included in our price was dinner, order anything off the menu. We went with the prime rib & were not disappointed. The meat was juicy & done to order. Sides of potatoes & asparagus also good. The cheesecake, a generous slice enough for two, topped off the meal.
This is a great place for young & old alike. They have nightly live entertainment in the full service bar area. I could see a young family enjoying this getaway, price is right, rooms large & breakfast included.
The majority of guests were seniors when we visited but that could be due to the fact we were there during the week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    478
    190
    87
    67
See reviews for
305
685
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Husband and I shared one of the newer rooms towards the back of the property. Absolutely gorgeous. Immaculately clean with a huge bathroom with seperate bath and shower. We had a private balcony where we sat and watched the stars. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Back of property. Newer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

PROS
A restaurant with a range of well prepared entrees, specials and appetizers.
A lounge with happy hour salsa, chips and entertainment 6-7 nights a week.
Good location for Hearst Castle, central coast and downtown cambria.
Lovely gardens, heated pool and spa.
Affordable if you buy the dinner package at $160/night which includes two complete
entrees and a good bottle of wine. Easily a $50 dinner at a good restaurant.
Dinner staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. Breakfast staff good for a buffet style.
Extensive breakfast: eggs, sausage, potatoes, fruit, cereals, yogurt, teas coffees, rolls
all of high quality.
CONS
Dark and dated rooms, especially in the MoonShadow building.
Limited ice machines. We had to go to the lounge and stand in line
to get ice.
Cell phones did not work in the rooms we stayed in.
Customer service a bit shaky: no immediate confirmation of our
reservation via email.
Front desk kept us on hold rather than offering to call us back about our
dinner reservation.
Room cleaning service: No kleenex when we arrived. Our ice bucket not
serviced 2 days in a row.

Room Tip: Rooms in the MoonShadow building are dark and dated. Ask about a room with plenty of light
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent in terms of an easy to use and water conserving shower. Something most hotels overlook, even as they ask you to re-use towels, sheets etc. Low water flush toilets
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This place is really lovely. The suite was comfortable, clean and in a pretty setting. I ate dinner at the lodge. The food was acceptable, and the service was wonderful. The hot tub was huge and the pool was great. My only complaint was that my room faced the parking lot where trucks and cars began waking me at 6 a.m. on. I didn't get to sleep in late, which I was hoping for. All in all, I would go again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night a lovely place, our room was very nice only fault was not enough light in the room, one window was completely covered by a plant so we needed lights on all the time, the room was spacious and very clean good bathroom and comfy beds

Room Tip: a lovely quiet place so any room will be nice, there are some lodges over the back which have great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were only staying one night but the hotel was very nice.This is an excellent hotel, set in woodlands and the rooms were spread out in lodge houses, as the name implied. Its a little back from the coast and the split town of Cambria, so car is essential. The rooms were very spacious, well maintained and clean. The bathroom facilities were very good.
Cambria itself is a relic from the past with one high street, split into east and west. East Cambria had most of the antique shops and one or two bars. West Cambria had more real estate offices and small cafes. We spent a lot of time wandering around the antique shops which were full of “stuff” from the early part of the last century. They were really fun places just to wander in. There was a very nice quality gift shop. It was a shame that the weathe was not better as the sea fret came down very early in the afternoon, so we decided to have dinner in the hotel.
After a short rest went over to the restaurant. The maître d’ annoyed me by referring to us as “walk-ins”. I did not understand that even as a guest at the hotel I should have made a booking for dinner (this should have been made clear when we checked in)! However, my bad mood soon passed.
The food was excellent, but the portion size was ridiculous! I had the biggest rib of beef I have ever seen on a plate, and it would have done for both of us! And we enjoyed a very pleasant meal. The breakfast was very good, if a little crowded, as we seemed to have gone at the same time as a big tour party!
I will have no hesitation in recommending this hotel should the question arise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here last summer (family of 4) in quirky but thoroughly enjoyable room. Parents had bedroom, one child had pullout sofa and another child had murphy bed. Nice breakfast there plus a few nice places to eat in town. Beautiful grounds, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#4 of 11 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 11 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#11 of 11 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#7 of 11 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Address: 2905 Burton Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#7 Family Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambria Pines Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.