We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Save Saved
You added Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Cambria
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This hotel is beautiful, we have 2 small children, and we all loved that place, good location, kind staff, large and clean room, it smelled good. In the morning we enjoyed to walk near the ocean just near the hotel.
The breakfast is also great! But they didn't have a sit for our baby for breakfast time, that was the only inconvenience.
It was a little expensive for us, but we didn't regret at all!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    222
    67
    24
    7
See reviews for
202
287
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed the night here after 3 nights in sanfransisco .. left SF and visited Monteray, 17 mile drive(pebble beach for lunch), Carmel and then drove pacific highway 1 stopping to view the scenery a few times and arrived at fireside inn in time for sun set ... met by very helpful checkin clerk who gave us cookies and advised us of free wine tasting a coup,ke of hotels down the road .. our room was ocean view with patio and fire .. fantastic . Complimentary breakfast next day was delicious and then 10 minute drive to Hearst Castle Tour at 9.20 .... superb stopover in superb location.... would most certainly visit again ... could not fault it... and free wifi too!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

My wife and I love to travel to the central California coast occasionally and stay in Cambria, California. We have been there five times since 2003, so have been able to watch the area change. Moonstone Drive is one of our favorite places because it lies right on the beautiful coast. Normally we stay at J. Patrick House, a very nice B&B on Burton Drive in Cambria. This last trip we decided to stay three nights at the Best Western Fireside Inn because of its location on Moonstone Drive and a 3-night discount (averaged $146/night + 11.5% for taxes) for a room with king size bed and fireplace. The room had plenty of space, was comfortable and met our requirements. Service was excellent except in the continental breakfast room. Supplies in the breakfast room were not replenished very quickly (like coffee creamer) and the breakfast room was much too small for the size of the hotel. Many people went into town for breakfast rather than endure this room. Although a great location, the hotel seems to me to be simply a spruced up and updated motel. I liked staying at the B&B much better for the overall experience and comfort. The gas fireplace has been rendered child proof and goof proof to the point that it serves no useful purpose other than you flip on a light switch and you see some small flames. The fireplace is functionally useless during cold days and nights because it adds absolutely no heat to the room and drafts room air up the chimney continuously, not a good thing in fall and winter. The room is heated by an electric space heater that cycles on and off. Except for a few end rooms that face the ocean, it looked to me like all the patios for each room face out onto the parking lots (we had no patio). There is a public patio area by the street for ocean views. If you want to be across the road from the beach and don't mind paying very high room rents when the weather is warmer than in November, then you will like this hotel. It can get really noisy when children are there as we found out on our first night and day. I prefer to stay at a B&B in town. In all fairness, the B&B probably would have cost more for this same period of time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Great location with the beach boardwalk across the street for walking along the beach. We were greeted by a friendly and helpful gentleman and enjoyed the Otis Spunkmeyer cookies given to us.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We chose this hotel because it was on our way back from San Francisco and close to Hearst Castle. It is easily accessible just off Hwy 1. The room we had was large, king size bed, with fireplace. Room had been recently renovated and still had that "new" quality about it. The heated pool and spa were fabulous and we were given fresh baked cookies upon check in. The lady at the front desk was very nice and even suggested places to eat for dinner. We chose the Main Street Grill which was just across the hwy. Good food, good prices. The hotel was just a few steps away from Moonstone beach and it's tidepool area and when I got up in the morning to go walk the beach found that the rocks were "moving". Seals were perched atop of them within just feet of me! Continental breakfast is included and it was basic, but nice. Along with the normal breads and pastries they had make your own waffels. And they had a worker there making sure everything was topped off so no matter what time you got there from beginning to end there was plenty to choose from.
My only complaint, and it's not that big of one, is that we could hear an occasional car go by on the hwy and the neighbors if they got loud, neither of which disturbed our sleep.
Overall a really nice night in a nice location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna niguel, ca
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

It was better than most Best Westerns, but still a BW. The breakfast was perfect--nothing fancy--yogurt, bananas, apples, waffles, pastries, oatmeal (packets). I thought the room rate was somewhat pricey, but I guess that's par for the course for the location along Moonstone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

First, of course, the location -- on the ocean, just GORGEOUS views. Then you park and go to check in, and they give you a cookie. For real. And its a REALLY good cookie. And if you want another cookie, they have MORE. They are also very helpful in suggesting restaurants and shopping close by, and helpful if you're planning a Hearst Castle tour. After a most pleasant check in, you go to your clean and pretty room, where there is ample space, the most comfy bed ever, and a fireplace to take away the chill of the evening. Or you can always go to the hot tub to warm up as well, and if you need help turning on the jets, you can call from the pool area and the staff comes to help you asap! Its quiet and quaint and wonderful, plan to spend more than one night if you go, because one is not enough in this sweet little town!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.