We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely visit at this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach to your Saves list
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 15% Off
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
san francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We had a lovely visit at this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were comfortable. The cookies at check-in were a hit with my kids and parents. It was great to walk along the beach and tidepools as well as swim in the heated pool and jacuzzi. The breakfast was also great. The hotel is very convenient to Hearst Castle and downtown Cambria has some nice restaurants.
We plan to return again soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    257
    81
    26
    9
See reviews for
223
336
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

The Fireside Inn's best feature is its location: right across the road from the gorgeous Pacific. Visitors can stroll the boardwalk, check out the beaches, watch a glorious sunset, and wake to see seals sunbathing on the rocks. Right off Highway 1, it's the perfect place to sleep before heading up the coast to Big Sur or checking out Hearst Castle.
The service was great: although we booked for the wrong night, the manager quickly sorted out the paperwork and set us up with a room with a spectacular view, a fireplace, and our own patio. The continental breakfast was varied and generous and made it easy to get back on the road quickly the next morning.
One downside: throughout the night we were awoken every hour or so by a loud knocking sound in the walls. Not sure if was plumbing or air conditioning, but was really unfortunate to have sleep interrupted so frequently.
Would still recommend the Fireside as a lovely little place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Heights
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Positives: We picked this hotel because of the positive reviews on tripadivsor.com. My family and I were on our way to Hearst Castle-which is a short drive north. We had stayed at a Best Western in Arizona and were impresssed with the service, rooms and complementary breakfast at this location-so our expectations were high. BestWestern Fireside Inn was on a beautiful location-right across the street was a boardwalk and trails down to the pacific ocean. Seals and seagulls and beautiful wild flowers were in abundance. Our teenagers could not wait to spend time there. Customer service was great. Check in was easy because we reserved online-we were even given fresh baked cookies at check in- a nice touch. (Apparently-this weekend there were no vacanies at this hotel because we saw a lot of vacanies at other places). Room was modern, clean and beautifully decorated. There was a small patio overlooking the beach but it was really small and close to the neighboring room. The room had binoculors which we could use during our stay-another nice touch. The Moonstone Bar and Grill which is less than 3 minute walk was a great place to eat for dinner-although a bit pricey (for our family of 5-bill was $180.00). Food was really good and we got to watch the beautiful sunset.
Negatives: There was a consistent swishing noise -apparently from the plumbing which was a bit annoying after a while. Maybe it was only at the end rooms which we were in? We were only staying one night..but any longer, we would have complained. The complementary breakfast was not impressive-compared to the previous Best Western Inn we stayed at. The pastries were dry and small. The dining room was small and cramped-no place to sit. Not a lot of hot foods to choose from...a lot of cold cereals and small muffins and rolls. There was a make- yourself- waffle machine which my youngest son tried, but was not impressed. We were thinking we wished we would have gotten a sustainable breakfast before heading out. The last thing: the price. Although the hotel was comparable to other 4 star hotels in the area...we decided for the same price ($250.00/night for a King and rollaway), we would reserve two rooms for about the same at another hotel our next time visiting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesgal2
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Great hotel, great location, would definately stay again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

My sister and I needed a getaway for a few days. Our stay at the Fireside Inn was great. The room was spacious enough so that we were not bumping into each other. The beds were very comfortable. The location is great with easy access to the boardwalk to watch the sunset and take a walk at anytime. Having WiFi access was a definite plus.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

The room was clean, quiet, and more than we expected. Great fireplace, and full bath, not just a shower like some places. Great location across from the ocean and boardwalk, and only a short walk from a great restaurant. Heated pool and spa, which we regret not being able to utilize. The staff was friendly and genuinely interested in their guests, and took the time to engage in conversation and tips for visiting the area. Overall a great experience, and we would visit again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Had a pleasurable stay at Cambria. We usually come to cambria at least 4 times a year. This was our second time at the fireside Inn. The staff was polite and friendly and the room was good with a nice ocean view. Wife said the beds are better than others along moonstone. Also the three night stay promotion was great.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.