We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach to your Saves list
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cambria
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

A very nice surprise. we loved the fireplace, the view, friendly staff. A real find for a stop over driving up the coast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    248
    76
    26
    8
See reviews for
217
318
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

My daughter and I checked in on Sunday Nov. 22. We were greeted with a smile and a delicious chocolate chip cookie. The rooms were very spacious and the queen size beds comfy. In the evenings we relaxed to a wonderful fireplace and enjoyed cable tv that had more then 8 channels. They have a excellent continental breakfast with waffles and pastries from local bakeries. Looking forward to my next stay. Mike

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

We booked the Fall Special at this hotel website and got a nice large king bed room with a fireplace at what we considered a very good price for Cambria. Although the room is at the back of the property with no view, we determined that very few of the hotels along Moonstone Beach actually have great views.

All the hotels at Moonstone Beach are across the road from the broadwalk that goes along the bluff above the beach. None have what I would consider oceanfront rooms, and only a few would have really good ocean view rooms. The boardwalk is very pleasant, however, and we walked along it and down to the beach, where we spotted several seals. Some local residents that we talked with recommended the Early Bird dinners at The Sow's Ear Restaurant downtown. This was a restaurant that had also been recommended by the staff at the hotel. We took advantage of the early bird savings and had an excellent dinner.

Our room was very large and comfortable and the fireplace was quite pleasant in the cool evening.
Nice amenities like fluffy robes and complimentary bottled water. It would be nice if they would add a comfortable chair near the fireplace so that you could sit by the fire and watch TV.

The complimentary breakfast was the usual Best Western fare with hot waffles. It was served in a room next to the pool. Breakfast room is not very large and I suspect that had the hotel been filled, the breakfast room would be very crowded.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
392 reviews 392 reviews
311 hotel reviews
Reviews in 224 cities Reviews in 224 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Our room was clean, but we were disturbed by a refrigerator that went on and off throughout the night and a noisy exhaust in the bathroom.

The room was average size, but the bathroom was oddly tiny. In the bathroom the shower was unsatisfying and the water pressure in the sink was extremely weak. The towels were the smallest and thinnest I have seen in any Best Western in the past five years.

The room is heated by an old electric heater of a type I have never encountered before.

Breakfast was served in a room far too small for the number of rooms booked even on a mid-week evening in mid-November. The breakfast counter is cramped an unappealing, but we were able to make a satisfactory breakfast from the offerings.

We will stay elsewhere on my next visit to Cambria.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We took an impromptu trip on Highway 1 and found ourselves in Cambria for the night. After checking out 3 hotels, the room at the BW Fireside called to us strongly. It was a pleasure to stay there. We had a King bed with sofa and fireplace; bathroom had a large countertop. Everything we needed was there including robes, iron/ironing board, bottled water, refrigerator and 2 luggage racks. The staff was very pleasant and the continental breakfast was above average. Free internet was available in the lobby. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We planned to stayover one night in Cambria during our drive down the California Coast from SF to LA. Read reviews on this motel and it didn't disappoint. This motel is on a strip alongside many other small-ish motels by the beach. It was pretty quaint, the service was great...the guy who gave us our keys gave us pointers on where to eat and when/where to see the magnificent sunset. We had a room with a fireplace. Room was pretty spacious for two and was clean. Room was pretty pricey for our budget, but was worth it when we were able to wake up to the sound of the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

This place is just about perfect! Fireplace in the room looks out toward the ocean and a nature walk. Super quiet place. The most absolute best staff I have been to, I was treated with special care and kindness during my stay. Everything I needed was there. Rooms were large and luxurious, beds comfortable, huge bathroom. If it wasn't so far from me I would be there every chance I got!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.