We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach to your Saves list
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cambria
Tony from England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Like many others I did our research for a trip up Highway 1, in our case south to north, and settled on the BW Fireside Inn as a combination between location, value for money and good reviews. We were not disappointed and the check in staff were excellent, the rooms were good sized and everything worked. The beds were comfortable although we did not make full use of them as this was our second night out from the UK on a RTW trip and the body clock was still struggling. As many have mentioned the boardwalk across the road is just great and the scenery and views along the beach were excellent. We ate dinner at the Moonstone Beach Inn which is a short walk away and the food was good although a bit on the pricey side. Breakfast was fine without being spectacular at the hotel. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful throughout. We booked fairly well in advance and paid a senior's rate of $99 which I consider to be very good value. Would definitely stay if we pass this way again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    248
    76
    26
    8
See reviews for
217
318
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

I feel I'm just repeating what everyone else has said. We had a really good experience at this hotel. The location is great! Just walk across the street, and you are walking on the boarwalk. You can either take a long walk, or go right down to the beach. We spent all of our time playing in the tidepools, collecting sea shells and watching the baby seals swim with their moms for hours! I was here with my college age daughter to celebrate my birthday. I have nothing bad to say, we thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and Cambria. We'll definitely come back next year to watch the seals. We also did the Hearst Castle tour (tour #2), and really enjoyed that. We ate both nights at Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill, just a short walk from the hotel, which was very good. I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We spent four glorious days at the Fireside in Cambria (including a stormy, raw, windy, cold Tuesday - with the fireplace blazing all afternoon while we read and napped), and can only say we've already decided on a return trip. The lobby staff is very warm and accommodating, the rooms are handsomely and tastefully appointed, the patio overlooking the boardwalk and the ocean is terrific, the housekeeping staff is first-rate -- I could go on and on. Unless you are the Princess from "The Princess and the Pea," you cannot fail to have a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

We love traveling down the coast so of course we stopped in Cambria.
Lovely weather no rain and although I thought the rates would be lower the room was nice. Love this little town break bakeries for breakfast. Go to see everything blooming and just relax.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

My husband and I needed a night away and this place was perfect. Quiet location and right in front of beach access walkway. There was plenty to do right in front of the hotel at the beach. (tide pools and seals). Our room was big with a fireplace and large bath with jacuzzi tub. Relaxing and romantic.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We stayed for one night midweek in Feb, 2009, in a roomy, non-view king room #139. The room was nicely decorated, in good shape, clean (no smells), contained a coffee maker & coffee, refrig, 2 free bottles of water, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, extra pillows, sheets were fresh (when we pulled down the spread, the bed was double sheeted),TV schedule (got all channels), and a gas fireplace. We were two doors down from the ice maker, but it is turned off bet 9pm-9am(very considerate). Ice is available from an outside machine next to the office. Paper towel dispensers are located at entrance doors and in the halls. Very handy for wiping up sandy shoes from the beach. An easy walk across the small 2 lane road and you are on the boardwalk. There are stairs at various points for beach access and benches to watch the sunset. Within a few miles is the turn off for Hearst Castle, a lighthouse (escorted tours by prior arrangement) and the elephant seal rookery (free, full of seals that day, volunteers in blue jackets are available to answer questions). The tourist shops & restaurants in Cambria are a very short drive & you can walk to Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill and the Sea Chest from the motel. An ample breakfast is included: juices, milk, three types of cereal, waffle maker (took 2 min-they were delish!), bagels/cream cheese, pastries, perfectly cooked hard boiled eggs (peeled); 4 tall thermoses with hot water, 2 diff types of regular coffee and one decaf; fresh fruit. We were given two white choc/cranberry cookies at check-in and the cookie jar, a bowl of apples, and a stack of USA Today were available in the lobby. Justin was on duty at check-in and check-out. He provided excellent service, patiently provided dinner recommendations, info about local points of interest, and even reviewed my beach finds to confirm if I actually found any moonstone on Moonstone Beach! The motel has wonderful attention to detail, and a pleasant and helpful staff. In Cambria: Seekers Art Glass Gallery was unique; for casual dining (walk-up counter, no waiters) Main Street Grill (1/2 bbq chicken $5.99, "small" (but ample) Caeser salad $3.99).

  • Liked — Attention to detail, all of the amenities, the on/off switch on the fireplace
  • Disliked — Low flow shower head, but what are you going to do? We're in a drought.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

We were aware this accomodation was little more than a glorified motel but we chose it for lack of any better options on the water in Cambria.We booked the 'updated' queen/queen room without a view or patio. As it turned out we were pleasantly surprised as the room looked exactly as expected. It was spacious and comfortable. I was actually pleased we didn't select and pay more for the patio rooms as they really don't look out on much more than a parking lot with people constantly walking back and forth....no privacy to speak of. And as the weather was beautiful, we were down by the water most of the time.The staff at the Fireside was friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was more than adequate and constantly being replenished. The road in front really wasn't a problem possibly as it was off-season. A walk accross this road puts you on a lovely oceanside pathway. We walked down to the water and watched the sea lions on the rocks. I would recommend The Fireside and would stay again although I might add that had this been summertime, the noise could be a problem .As it was it was very quiet with mostly seniors staying there.

  • Liked — Proximity to the ocean
  • Disliked — Old construction...could be noisy
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.