We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach to your Saves list
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cambria
Oregon City, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Cambria hotels right on moonstone beach are quite expensive and when I found this one for a more reasonable price I was wondering if the quality would be up to snuff. It was great, the staff was very friendly, gave us maps to the little town of cambria, fresh cookies on check in and a very nice complimentary continental breakfast. The rooms were clean and well appointed and had a fireplace in it. The beach walkway was right across the highway, and though beachfront rooms had their own lanai, there was a communal sunset viewing area with tables and chairs. I would definitely book this place again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    248
    76
    26
    8
See reviews for
217
318
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Fireside Inn is across the street from Moonstone Beach. The entire area is very peaceful. The rooms at Fireside were spacious and comfortable. We had a fireplace in our room. We will definitely return for another relaxing weekend. Be aware, though, there is no cell service in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The first room we booked was not as expected, so we complained and were given an ocean front room. We could only have it for one night so we changed again for the seconds night. The second room had a Jacuzzi, so that was good. It is quiet and did serve a good breakfast. The road it is on has very little traffic so it is easy to walk or go down to the beach and look for moonstones and green sea glass. Also all rooms have a gas fireplace, which was cozy at night.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view make sure they know that is important to you. Otherwise you might just se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We booked two rooms here in the midst of a serious heat wave in California. Even at the beach it was nearly 100. Thank goodness for ocean breezes and a cool evening. We had a minor problem with our standard room upon check-in and it was quickly "fixed" by the manager upgrading us to a room with a small patio. We were glad to have the chairs outside on such warm days and will book this type of room again. The rooms are fairly standard for this sort of place along Moonstone beach - fairly good size, fireplaces (which we decidedly did not use this trip), comfortable beds, and easy access, across the road to the boardwalk along the beach. The breakfast, too was pretty much what you would expect - eggs, waffles, packaged muffins and sweet breads, cereals, coffee, juices... They were served in a sunny room near the pool and there were tables outside as well. Everything was clean and well maintained. This is the third inn we've tried along this stretch of beach and it was the prompt, courteous service that set the place apart for me. If I had one suggestion it would be to come up with some way to lock the sliding door slightly ajar; allowing for some ventilation in the room. We took our chances on a burglary and left the slider open. With climate change, while this sort of weather is still the exception rather than the rule, it still would have been nice to have been able to have the fresh air AND a bit of security as well.

Room Tip: If you can't afford a beach front room, try, at least to get one of the patio rooms in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked two rooms for my parents and my husband and I as a stopping point between San Francisco to Los Angeles. Although my family has traveled extensively in California, this was the first time my parents stopped off and stayed on Moonstone Beach and the Cambria area. We were thrilled with the close proximity to the beach, with the delicious breakfast being the highlight of the following morning. It is a nice touch to have a full breakfast included to the cost of the room - adds in making your stay more comfortable and relaxed. The rooms were spacious, clean and parking directly adjacent. The staff incredibly helpful and pleasant. We are all anxious to return and will definitely stay at the Fireside Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

When we made the reservation for this motel, it was listed as a Best Western, which we have had great luck with in the past. When we arrived, there was no Best Western sign to be seen. The previous three nights, we had stayed at a Comfort Inn in Half Moon Bay, which was excellent. We had planned to stay there four nights, but changed our plans and added an additional night at the Fireside Inn. We arrived, checked in and entered the room. It was not what we expected, but, what the heck, all we were planning on doing there was sleeping, after the drive and touristing along the coast. We went into town and found an excellent restaurant, The Sow's Ear, shopped awhile and returned to the room. I sat down on the bed, for the first time. I sank down, all the way to the box springs. I thought, well, it is past 2200, and the office is closed, so hopefully, we can get some sleep and maybe tomorrow, get a different room. We did not sleep well at all. This had to be one of the worst beds that we have slept in, and we have traveled through out the US and some in England and quite a bit in Ireland. The next morning, after a great breakfast, I went to the office, to see what could be done. The woman there, informed me that usually, they would change the room and possibly discount the rate for the previous night. When we discussed such with the manager, he informed me that the charge had already been sent in on our credit card, so that bill was final, but could get us a different room. We had already paid for that night also, as I had made the reservation through expedia, and had already paid my credit card for this coming nights stay. They UPGRADED us to a ocean view room, which was smaller that the first room, but at least the toilet seat stayed up when I used the rest room, I really didn't want to be "wacked". When we checked out, I again asked if there was going to be some discount on the first nights room rate, which was $52.00 above the second nights rate, to which I was informed that the UPGRADE room that we had stayed in, was usually $100.00 more than we paid, but we received that as a compensation. Nice to know, that if given a choice, we would have stayed in the back, as they have no air conditioners and the sun beats into the front windows of the more expensive "view room" to where one had to close the drapes, in order to cool the room off from 85 degrees inside. Needless to say, we will not be staying at this motel anymore or any of the other motel/hotels owned by the Pacific HtelsCollection.

Room Tip: Stay away, they do not want to hear any complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Sail and Travel,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We take pride in providing superior service to all of our guests so I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We have noted your suggestions and we will do everything we can to address your concerns. Please give me call so I can discuss how we may be able to win you back as one of our many loyal guests.

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visited here during a heat wave, and the rooms do get warm, but I imagine this doesn't happen often, and the beach is right across the inn. Needless to say, this place is very nice, has beautiful views of Moonstone beach right across the street. My kids enjoyed the pool, and the have daily hot breakfast included. The rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.