We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location; okay value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach to your Saves list
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 15% Off
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
El Cerrito, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“fantastic location; okay value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Moonstone beach location of the Fireside Inn in Cambria can't be beat. Its directly across from the boardwalk with easy access to the bluffs and the beach. We enjoyed viewing the otters from the boardwalk in early morning and early evening. As an added bonus, this end of Moonstone Beach Drive is also the quietest.

The hotel is clean, beds were comfortable and they provided a free mini-fridge where you can store beverages etc. We had an ocean view room with a little patio, and it was very charming to sit there and watch the sun set (or decend into the fog as they case may be). The bathroom was weird. There is a large *jet* tub, but it looks really old with cracked dials. While clean, it wasn't something I wanted to get into. The water pressure was adequate in the shower.

The pool and hot tub area looked nice, but we didn't have a chance to use them. The onetime we considered it, the small pool was filled with young children (as was the jacuzzi). The office does provide free pool towles on request.

The staff was okay but not stellar. While we were checked in promptly, our front desk clerk couldn't advise on restaurants or other local venues. He repeatedly tried to tell us we couldn't get dinner in Cambria after 8:30pm on a Saturday. Absolutely not true; both Robin's and the
Cambria Pub and Steakhouse were serving until 10am that night.

But the only real reason why this motel is getting an average (as opposed to very good) rating is value. $350/night is a lot to pay for any motel. That's a luxury price for a simple place to lay your head.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    257
    81
    26
    9
See reviews for
223
336
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first stop on a journey down the southern coast on our Harley Davidson motorcycles. What a accommodating Inn. Room was clean and had a great view of the Pacific ocean from our courtyard. Everyone was pleased with the staff and continental breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel was a nice hotel for an overnight in Cambria. Great location across from the water. I am used to very nice hotels and have a high standard. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. We defintely paid a premium but it was high season. It is not the Four Seasons, but it is a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Moonstone Beach was a great find. We were not even looking to stay here but I got sick on our drive and we had to find a place for me to lay down. I have panic attacks and was pretty sick. The Best Western had rooms available for me and my husband and son. Very comfortable rooms with a fire place. We reserved a ocean front room and were able to sit on the porch and watch the sunset. This made me feel much better. Thank you Best Western for accomodating us. We will definitely be coming back. They served free continental breakfast. The property also had heated pool and spa. A very welcoming place. We really hated to leave and wish we had found this treasure before. But for now, we are planning our next trip. Oh yeah..if you love seals the way i do...come on down...they bask in the sun on the beach about 5 mins down the road. What a great way to end our vacation. I would highly reccoment Best Western for all who are visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Michelle,

Thank you for the kind words. We pride ourselves on matching our service with the wonderful setting of Moonstone Beach, so it is nice to know that you cannot wait to visit again. Please let us know when you are ready to come back and we will look forward to seeing you next time.

Sincerely,

Justin Friend
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We reserved a room with an ocean view and a patio directly outside our room. Michael checked us win and his winning personality set the tone for our visit. Our visit provided the a restful and relaxing time for both of us. We look forward to doing this again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Roskilde, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited many hotels and b&b on our recent road trip to California and Fireside Inn was one of the best! Cosy, quiet and small hotel, nice beds & rooms, friendly reception to welcome us and most of all; A perfect location SO close to the Pacific Ocean. JUst a few minutes down the had we had our best meal.

Only complaint was the horrible breakfast and the too tiny breakfast place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My niece, best friend and I had a delightful time in Cambria, and enjoyed our visit to Best Western. We like to be near the ocean and make use of the board walks to enjoy the sea life. Our room was very comfortable for three women, the lite breakfast got us up and going to visit the shops, check on the zebras on the Hearst Ranch and even check on the elephant seals!! Be back as soon as time is available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.