We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with the Fireside Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach to your Saves list
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cambria
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Happy with the Fireside Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

My 2 daughters and I checked in after a really long drive and a really long tour at Hearst Castle. Dale was very friendly upon check-in and our room was ready and waiting. He even gave us some dinner recommendations, which we were grateful for. (We chose The Sea Chest----very good food, very slow service).

Our room was clean, the walls were somewhat thin, we heard people on the other side of the wall and in the hallway. No big deal, though.

The hot tub and pool was nice and we especially enjoyed the continental breakfast the next day. It was more than continental, by the way. They even had a waffle iron. I am not a breakfast person, but I was all over it!

The biggest plus is that housekeeping not once came by to see if we had vacated. We left at around 11:00 and they were just coming along. I hate when you get woken up to "housekeeping" at 8:00am!!!!!

A very satisfactory stay, all in all.

  • Liked — The customer service
  • Disliked — The tiny bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    248
    76
    26
    8
See reviews for
217
318
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

A great place to stay. Rooms were very large with a fireplace. Across the road from the beach. Beach with boardwalks was wonderful. Hotel is convenient to Cambria restaurants and Hearst Castle as well as other Central Coast attractions.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

We were extremely happy with our accomodations here. We had a ocean view patio room with a beautiful view. The room was spacious with a fireplace, comfortable bed, and a fairly spacious bathroom. The front desk staff was very welcoming. We had fresh cookies on arrival and the room had two bottles of complimentary water. The walking path is directly across from the hotel, which was perfect for an early morning walk. Also, the inn is within walking distance of several restaurants. We had a delicious dinner at the Sea Chest. I could have easily stayed for another day or two.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

The hotel was originally booked on the basis of the fact it was half way down Highway 1 on the way down from San Francisco and within easy reach of Hearst Castle.

In fact it turned out to be a fantastic location. The hotel is right on the beach road at Moonstone beach. The location was so good that we extended our stay from 1 night to 2 and would have stayed longer if time had permitted. The beach road is beautifully quiet and peaceful. At the time of our stay in April we watched seals on the beach (including pups) and saw sea otter feeding just off the rocks.

The hotel rooms were large and well furnished and equipped. The sea view rooms command a huge premium, but the regular rooms were good value.

Free breakfast was OK (cereals, fruit, toast, muffins and make-your-own waffles).

Hearst castle is only 10 minutes up the road and is well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Fantastic location by the Pacific Ocean
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

My family and I were traveling down HWY 1 from San Francisco to LA for Spring Break. We stayed one night in Cambria so that we could get to our Hearst Castle tour first thing in the morning the next day. What a pleasant surprise to stay at this little hotel directly across the street from Moonstone Beach. It is newly remodeled, clean, large rooms with new decorations, refrigerators and fireplaces. We got the cheapest, basic room with two queen beds. It was large and sufficient for our family of four. The soaps and shampoos were nice and they even provided complimentary bottles of water. The boardwalk to beach was right across the street and the little town of Cambria was very close with great restuarants. I highly recommend this town to any travelers for a brief overnight or longer-term. Oh, by the way, they also have free wireless internet service.

  • Liked — Proximity to beach, town, and clealiness of room.
  • Disliked — N/a
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
521 helpful votes 521 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

Context: The price for this hotel continuously dropped every week approaching when I wanted to stay and I booked a Queen Room for $123.10, three days before our arrival.

Good:
- Awesome, beautiful location. A one street turn-off of the PCH right outside of the Big Sur. The motel is on one side and the ocean is on the other side. This isn't really traditional beach ocean, but wild and rocky Pacific. They have great wood walking paths all around the area, and you can see seals in the water.
- Bathroom amenities/ toiletries were nice and scented.
- 2 Free bottles of water in the room.

Bad:
- The "fireside" inn advertises about every room having a fireplace, but my room did not. In fact, if your reservation doesn't explicitly mention it, you won't get it. Our fireplace was an ancient 1960's wall heater that didn't really work at all.
- DON'T BOOK THE PATIO. I was tempted by these when booking, imaging sitting in my chair looking out over the ocean. Ha!! The vast majority of patios are just a little concrete slab facing the parking lot - we laughed as we parked right on top of someone's "patio" and were grateful we didn't pay extra.
- Rooms are old, dark, and just plain uninspired.
- Continental breakfast, while the food was average (waffles, oatmeal, pastries), was horrible because they put it in a TINY little room and it was constantly blocked with people trying to move around and bumping into each other.

Bottom Line: If you are just passing through and want a nice place in the evening or morning to take a walk, this is fine for under $150. I wouldn't pay more (there are other hotels nearby) and certainly wouldn't spring for anything but a basic room.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend away hoping for a place to kick back, relax and enjoy the sea. We did but the hotel was not a plus.

If you're thinking of getting a patio room forget it - it's basically a couple of chairs in the parking lot.

Sagging mattress.

Small bathroom with low shower head.

Nasty stain on the comforter. Stinky bad air fresheners - bring a candle.

We could have saved some bucks and gotten a cheap motel because we just ended up using this place as a crash pad.

The beach across the street is nice.

Check out the Nitwit Ridge in Cambria - that's the best attraction there. The shops are lame. Couldn't find a decent piece of cheese in the whole place (no pun intended).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.