We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location; Very Nice Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Save Saved
You added Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cambria
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Location; Very Nice Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location at the southern end of the Big Sur right across the street from the beach. We had minor issues at check-in as we had not informed them in advance that we had a dog. However, they were able to accommodate us and upgraded us to a beautiful, and dog-friendly room. We were also pulling a trailer which created problems as their parking lot is very small and there is no safe parking on the street. Again, they were able to accommodate us; however, I would advise any traveller to let them know ahead if you require a dog friendly room or if you need extra space for parking. We were fortunate that the hotel was not full and they were able to make room for us. We appreciate the management's effort to accommodate us and to give us an upgrade to such a beautiful room.
The room which we were given was large, clean, extremely comfortable and had an excellent view of the ocean across the street. We will definitely return to this hotel next time we drive the Californian coastline.

Room Tip: If a room overlooking the ocean is available, it's well worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    234
    73
    25
    7
See reviews for
216
296
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a nice room with a patio looking across the street to the ocean bluffs. Very nice. Only issues were when people checked in and out as we were right across from the office, and when people entered the hotel area letting the doors slam. Bathroom was small and tight. But room it self was very nice. Hotel staff were great. The cleaning people were excellent.

Room Tip: This hotel was down towards the end more of moonstone beach, would stay up the road more for easier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean well furnished and silent. Great shower. Parking area near the room. It was just one night but was a great stay. Fantastic sunset in a clear day. It's far from Cambria downtown, but has a good bar and restaurant in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great views, relaxing, close to Hearst Castle, fireplace in room. Good choice if you're in this area
We were there for the special night time tours of Hearst Castle during the holiday season - I recommend them as they hire actors to play guests - magical. Restaurant choices are limited and the on site restaurant is just so-so but there aren't other choices around. Nice to walk around the grounds in the morning and watch the surfers..

Room Tip: facing ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Spent Mother's Day weekend at this wonderful hotel. Our room had a fireplace (I think all do) and was directly across the street from a boardwalk entrance along Moonstone Beach. Breakfast was excellent and the place was immaculately clean! Had a very nice pool area too. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone in the Cambria area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place is a good choice if you are doing the the Pacific Coast Highway or visiting the nearby Hearst Castle. They are just across a not so busy street from the ocean with a boardwalk out to the beach where you can see seals and maybe some sea lions. The breakfast was quite good for the standard continental variety. The rooms are all on one floor which makes it really easy just to pull your car up near your room. They have a nice pool and hot tub, as well. They are just off the PCH and there are some restaurants just down the road.

Room Tip: Get one with a fireplace, if traveling anytime but summer. The ocean view is nice, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

After driving through Moonstone Beach and finding a few pet friendly hotels I couldn't find one that was up to my liking. I was referred to this Best Western by another hotel in the area and finally checked it out. After being pleasantly greeted in the office all the charges were explained in plain English without any secrecy or omitting anything. Our room was everything we expected and more. A large spacious room that was freshly cleaned with an abundance of amenities: fireplace, amazingly comfortable bed and pillows, large jetted tub, roomy bathroom and nice television with a good channel selection. The pool and hot tub were also above average. Comfortable and clean with an awesomely attentive staff I even spotted checking the PH in the morning. The breakfast buffet actually lived up to the front desk lady's words. It was delicious and very well stocked. Couldn't say better things about this hotel and it will be where I stay from now on in Cambria.

Room Tip: Rooms without an ocean view will save you over $100 a night and you're still directly across fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.