We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach to your Saves list
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 15% Off
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Well kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

When checking this out on line, it was presented nicely. Not overstated in any way. We were very pleasantly surprised by the spacious room and gorgeous location. The single story layout was such a nice change, no one stomping above. Breakfast was delicious and had so many choices.

Room Tip: From what I could tell, there were no bad room locations. I do try to stay as far away from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    257
    81
    26
    9
See reviews for
223
336
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've stayed here many times and last reviewed it in 2010. Just got back from another wonderful stay. Since my last visit, the hotel has given the rooms a fresh update, with white linens and great pillows. The breakfast has been expanded to include fresh eggs and sausage, while still offering fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, and cereal and the opportunity to make waffles (and talk to fellow guests in the sunny breakfast room). As always, the staff is welcoming and very helpful; the location on Moonstone Beach is beautiful, quiet, and peaceful; the room fireplaces cure the winter chill and make it cozy; and the entire experience is A-plus from every angle.

Room Tip: If you can splurge, go for the ocean view rooms at the front of each building; otherwise, I ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'ham
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I wasn't expecting much from this hotel, but I came away very impressed. It is an older structure, made up of two separate one-story buildings just across the road from the water. Few comments:

- Very cordial, friendly employees. Gave me a warm welcome and made me feel right at home.
- While the hotel appears to have been around a while, the rooms did not feel tired or dated.
- The wifi was incredibly fast (>20 mbps!). This is very rare for a hotel.
- Solid breakfast offerings - waffle machine, sausage, scrambled eggs, etc.

Cambria is a great little town. Wonderful place to relax on the drive between L.A. and San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallwood
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Decided to stop in Cambria on our way from San Francisco to southern California on the PCH. Beautiful location, right across the road from the ocean. Charming little town with craft shops, restaraunts, etc, a short drive away.Comfortable,spacious rooms with a fireplace was a treat. Would surely return if in this area again.

Room Tip: Several different options are available at varying prices. ie, view of ocean, patio, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had a great stay here, one of the nicer hotels I've been too for a great price. Front desk were fantastic, great advice on the area, upgraded my room to a better view when they realised it was vacant, the room itself was lovely and while I was alone it would be fantastic for a couple or a family get away. Thank you for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The location was wonderful. The rooms were really nice. It was like staying in a very comfortable guest bedroom in a home. The continental breakfast and the room it was served in was just right for the day ahead. I look forward to our nest visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotchkiss, CO
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this motel on our family's recommendation and we would recommend it to others. The location is perfect with the nearby beach and walkways. The room was clean and spacious, with several nice touches, like the bathrobes. The breakfast was very good and had a wide variety of choices.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.