We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach to your Saves list
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 15% Off
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

One of the nicest BW. We have stayed here several times and you never tire of the ocean and views. We always book an ocean view room, nothing nicer than going to sleep with the sound of the ocean and waking up to sit out and watch the waves. Early coastal fog does soon burn off. Walk along the extensive boardwalk and watch the wildlife. Hotel is always clean and the staff are very friendly. It is expensive, but then all the hotels on Moonstone Drive are similar in price.

Room Tip: Book a king or queen patio ocean view is you can. This makes the stay extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    257
    81
    26
    9
See reviews for
223
336
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent 1 night here on a coastal drive to visit Hearst Castle. Arriving about 45 minutes before sunset, desk clerk was efficient and helpful, suggested we just get our things in the room and walk across the street for the sunset. What a beautiful location. Right across the street from Moonstone Beach, scenic boardwalk, just as lovely as can be.
Room was comfortable, king size bed, gas fireplace, small table and 2 chairs in front of shuttered windows. Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, but never used it. Outside we had our own patio, with a great view of the ocean. Had my morning coffee there.
Desk clerk was spot-on for restaurant recommendation for dinner. We stuffed ourselves at Linn's Fruit Bin, and came back in time to use the hotel spa out by the pool, which closes at 10 PM. Great way to end the day.
Free breakfast in the morning, bagels, pastries, make your own waffles, cereals, juices, coffee, fresh fruit.
You may be thinking "Best Western"??? but it was better than you can imagine, and having priced properties nearby, was by far the best value.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ for the ocean view room, you'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped off here on the drive up the foggy Highway 1 from LA to San Francisco. The hotel was easy to find, and looked cute and cosy. We weren't after luxury, just somewhere clean and quiet to stay the night. Moonstone Beach is pretty and lots of walks to be had! The room was big and clean and the bathroom also very good. My one dislike was the breakfast room - another tiny, badly arranged room that can't really cope with the number of people it needs to at busy times but this seems a familiar story with many budget american hotels so I can't hold it against this otherwise charming little hotel on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa margarita
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The location is right on the coast walking across the small street to the beach that has a wooden path. The price was average considering the location. The room was super clean and nicely decorated, and the continental breakfast was good. Nice stop before heading up the coast on Hwy 1.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We were here for one night and lucky enough to get upgraded to a king bed ocean view room which was lovely. It was clean and well equipped and the wifi worked perfectly. It's location close to Hearst castle is fantastic but San Simeon is not the place to eat. Bed and pillows comfortable.

It not an inexpensive hotel but I guess the location on the beach explains the higher cost at around $150.

If coming again I might be tempted to stay in Cambria, save on the hotel and have a better choice of places to eat.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

A really superb hotel in a great location. A nice stroll along the walkway to view the seals across the road. Very spacious room well fitted out. Excellent breakfast with waffle makers and cooked option. We would recommend this and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland hills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I had a great time. When I wanted to make the reservation,I was kind of hesitant
because of some negative reviews.To our surprise,everything was what you might expect in a nice
hotel : beautiful location,and scenery,a nice clean room,friendly staff,and a comforting breakfast.
We really enjoyed our stay.

Al Safaei,Woodland Hills,Ca.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.