We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend enough....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Squibb House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Squibb House
Save
You added Squibb House to your Saves list
4063 Burton Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 29 Cambria B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Can't recommend enough....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for some time as I loved this place so much the first time that I took my Mum and cousin back there last summer and it was one of they favourite places that we stayed in our tour of the coast. Granted, if you want five star, hilton style accommodation then this is not for you, but if you want an authentic American B&B with more character than you can shake a stick at then this really is the place. The rooms are just so gorgeous, the breakfast delivered to your door quaint and rather large, the hassle free systems of key collection and drop off, you feel as though it is your own place for the evening. Mind you don't get stuck in the shop next door for a few hours....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    1
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

This Bed and Breakfast was outstanding. Close to town walking distance 2 min and the owner and all staff were more than friendly one of the all time best trips.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

As long time B&B guests, the Squibb House is a real stand out. It is charming, romantic, exceptionally clean. We stumbled upon it by accident when we were so disappointed by the top rated B&B in town and had to find another at the last minute. The location is right in the middle of the old part of Cambria, making everything within walking distance.

Our breakfast was delivered to our room each morning and consisted of fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh baked goods (not typical store bought baked goods), coffee and juice. The staff was very nice and friendly and helpful.

If you want a romantic place to get away from the 'real world' and leave TV and distraction behind, then this is the place for you. If you want a typical hotel experience, then don't stay here, there are plenty of others to choose from. We enjoyed reading the entries in the room's journals of all of the happy, loving, romantic stays that many others have been enjoying at Squibb House for years. The romantic piped in music was a nice touch!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We wanted a place to stay so that we could visit Hearst Castle and this came up through Karen Brown. Her directions to find the place were confusing but this is something to which we were rapidly becoming accustomed!! You check in at the shop next door and the original lady was friendly and helpful. We had the Parlour room..bright and clean. In the main sitting room they insisted on playing some really dire music which was piped to the bedrooms. Although we could turn the music off in our room, the bedroom was next to the main seating area so it went on all night unless you could turn it off. I did try but the music was always turned back up whenever a member of staff went past! Our first night in the room made us realise that the mattress and plumbing matched the age of the house (133 years)! The showerhead needed de-calking, the toilet seemed likely to block at any moment and the matress/pillows had definitely seen better days. The fire in the room was on making the room far too warm in the late afternoon/evening so my husband turned it off. Having gone for a walk we returned to find a note under the door telling us not to turn it off as it was difficult to start again! Brilliant! This proved the case. My husband went back to the shop and having finally managed to get the new lady's attention asked to have it put on again. Unfortunately she did not know how to get it to work (neither did we as it failed to respond to the directions on the top) The lady who did know how it worked had gone home. The room did require heating first thing in the morning but we managed by putting on extra layers of clothing. It would be better if they got the heater fixed! Apart from that -should you really be leaving a gas fire on all night??? The room was incredibly noisy with cars going back and forth till late at night on the Saturday and first thing on the Monday. Breakfast arrives in a basket with hot water for tea in an insulated mug. Sadly the mug had been used for coffee so many times that the water tasted faintly of coffee which transferred to the tea! The gardens were detailed as 'very pretty' in Karen Brown but were overgrown and in dire need of some love and attention. The whole impression was one of making money with the least amount of effort. This is a shame as the house has fantastic potential - it seems the owners are not too bothered about putting the correct amount of time, effort and money into making it a true success. We were very disappointed as it wasn't cheap!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Upon check-in we were told someone would come to light only heat source in room which is a gas stove. No one ever came and when I asked a different person came and tried to light it, but could not. Turns out she has never been able to light it and neither had the first person. I was told repeatedly, "there is nothing I can do". She said the owner was busy, "moving furniture". When I suggested we call him, she said he was in Los Angeles. I asked her if there wasn't a "fix-it" person we could call, and she said emphatically, "no, there is no one". She filled the room with gas trying to light the stove and then made a remark about, "not bringing her magic wand". A lot of nerve to charge $175/night and offer no heat, and yes, it is chilly on the N Calif coast, even in summer. Very unprofessional operation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonquière
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We were looking for a place to spend the night after visiting Hearst Castle and, after stopping at a couple hotels to check for vacancies, we happend to stumbled upon Squibb House. We were very lucky! Swibb House is very well located, the room is cute and comfortable, we got complimentary wine tastings. The breakfast is included and served to the room. The price for all this was reasonnable for the area. It was one of the nicest room we has in our California trip!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Wow, great service. The owner and his personnel provided fantastic hospitality, the amenities were perfect, and as a bonus, the town is just a great place to get away, relax and eat excellent food!

I highly recommend it. I can't wait to rent the house again!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Squibb House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squibb House

Address: 4063 Burton Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squibb House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.