We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, shame about the breakfast!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Squibb House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Squibb House
Save
You added Squibb House to your Saves list
4063 Burton Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 28 Cambria B&B and Inns
Upper Caldecote, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice place, shame about the breakfast!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

This really is a nice, quiet place in the old East village at Cambria. The rooms are comfortable but there is no radio or TV only piped music that can be turned on or off in each room and the small communal lounge. We were the only guests on our first night and were able to look at all of the rooms. None of the staff or the owner live on site. We stayed in the Garden Room that has a private porch to the side of the house.
The only serious criticism we have from our two-night stay was of the breakfast. It was to be placed outside our door at 8am, we think it was there way before that because the water for tea was only lukewarm and the coffee was not much better. There were no facilities in the room for us to heat our own drinks and the kitchen was locked. There was a small basket of miniature croissants and cakes and a thimbleful of jam and another containing some sort of spread; could have been cream cheese. For the price of the room this was really not good enough and we did make a verbal complaint to one of the staff but it had no effect while we were there.

  • Liked — Quiet & comfortable
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    1
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
santa barbara, ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

We spent only one night at the Squibb House. It was a Tuesday night and the facility was not heavily booked. There was only one other couple there. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room was average for a B&B. For the price we paid for a mid week stay, we should have received a significantly better breakfast. Breakfast is delivered to your door in a basket. For each person, our breakfast consisted of a small glass of orange juice, a cup of coffee, a tea cup of cold cereal, a small stale croisant, 1/2 slice of blueberry bread, 1/2 cube of butter, a very small amount of marmelade, and a small peice of some type of danish pastry, also stale.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

My husband and I spent two nights at the Squibb House. We found it to be a very average B&B for the price. It was not uncomfortable BUT I would try some other B&B’s/hotels in the area before going back.

The Squibb House is a beautiful historic building and our room was a decent size BUT, the walls are thin (we could hear a person snoring one night), the bed squeaked with every little move, and the small bathroom could use a remodel. We also missed getting to meet our fellow travelers at community breakfast (instead a basket is delivered to your room).

Great location, loved the classical music that was piped through the house (don’t forget to turn it down in the main room if you are sleeping in the Parlor), but a very average overall.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — thin walls, small shower, noisy bed
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

Stayed here for two nights while on a whistlestop tour down the coast, and this delightful house gave us a real opportunity to recharge our batteries. We stayed in the Garden Room, which has it's own entrance with table & chairs on a veranda, and it was magical. Breakfast is left outside your room, and you feel like you are the only people around. There is no TV, which was a bonus for us; spare time was spent reading the journals used by previous visitors. We went to Hearst Castle on an evening visit, which was a collection of the daytime tours, and has a lot less people on it. There are also locals dressed up in the period & around the place, which we understand does not happen during the day.
Cambria is worth a stop - the shops are unique & the restaurants superb. Try Robins next to Squibb House for a really original experience.
We will be back!!!!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2006

We stayed in the Parlour Room for one night as planned on Monday 10th April 2006 while we toured California. We chose Squibb House as we had booked a tour of Hearst Castle for the following morning and we found the location provided us with easy access there while at the same time being in the town centre of Cambria (which is in itself is lovely and has some historic and interesting buildings with a nice choice of restaurants and shops). We checked in via the shop next door and were welcomed and shown around. The house has been lovingly restored to an excellent standard. It is surrounded by a beautiful garden and there is ample parking spaces round the back for guests. Each of the rooms are individually furnished. We saw the communual lounge which was very comfortable. Our room was on the ground floor and was charmingly decorated, clean and comfortable. There was an en-suite shower room. There are two chairs and a table in the bay window where we ate breakfast. In the morning, at 8am, a breakfast basket was left outside the door with fruit, cereal, pasteries, fruit juice and hot drinks as requested and was a welcomed start to the day. The guests of Squibb House are offered complementary wine tasting at Fermentations across the road which was a nice touch. We ate in Brambles Restaurant which was a couple of doors away and the meal and service was excellent. One point I think that needs mentioning but was not a problem for us (or an issues for people who had wrote in the guest book many of whom saw it as a bonus) is that there is no television. We found throroughly enjoyed our stay at Squibb House and would have loved to have stayed longer if our schedual had not been so busy. We would not hesitate to return if we were visiting the area again and would gladly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Village, CA.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2005

You couldn't find a better place. Charming, well tended to, beautiful gardens, lovely people and excellent service. In the quaint town of Cambria there are certainly other places to stay, but I can't see why you would want to stay anywhere else besides The Squibb House. Michelle was our hostess and even with having to do double duty of watching the store next door, she was also the best in showing us around, making dinner reservations for us, taking our breakfast requests (breakfast was just wonderful and much, much more than one would expect) and just being the friendliest of people. The room was absolutely spotless, tastefully decorated and also had some piped in music that was just the relaxing atmosphere we needed after a long drive. What a lovely home the Squibb's had, what a wonderful bed and breakfast it has become. We would go again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2005

This was my first time at a B&B, and enjoyed the experience. The Squibb house is small and quaint, with all the necesities in the rooms (small private bath, gas heater etc). Most striking were the furiture pieces which are made onsite!

We had a very nice view from our window and the owners were very nice during check in and breakfast. Unfortunately we were rushed by appointments that we didn't have time to enjoy the setting as much as we would have liked. The only negative was that breakfast was not ready or served to our room when requested, and we waited, along with another guest, downstairs before it was served, late. It was raining and that could have caused the delay.

Other than that, we would highly recommend this B&B! Also do check out the wood working store next door, as I'm an amateur woodworker, I found the pieces to be very well crafted (though some of the inlay was too primitive for me) and I only wish I had more time to talk with the craftsmen to get some ideas on my own projects.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Squibb House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squibb House

Address: 4063 Burton Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squibb House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.