We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful bed and breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olallieberry Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Olallieberry Inn to your Saves list
Olallieberry Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2476 Main Street, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Cambria B&B and Inns
Lakewood, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful bed and breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we were made to feel so at home at the Olallieberry Inn. We were taking advantage of a Living Social deal and all aspects of the promotion were ready and waiting for us. The room was very comfortable and I loved the sheets. Actually ordered a set for home. Wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon was a great way to meet some of the other guests. Breakfast was delicious: the lemon ricotta pancakes - so light and tasty. Marjorie's blueberry muffins were so good, I asked for her recipe.
The location is ideal - you can walk to shopping and dining establishments. It is close to the Hearst Castle, lots of wineries and let's not forget the Elephant Seals Beach. The seals were present in large numbers - a little bit of their version of sex on the beach. Better than watching the National Geographic channel.
I strongly recommend the Cambria area as a vacation location and staying at the Olalliberry Inn, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    36
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
9
109
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hosts/owners of the B&B are really great people and obviously love what they do and take great pride in the Olallieberry Inn. The in town location is very convenient to restaurants and shops...less than a 5 minute walk to the main part of town. It is a drive to Moonstone Beach but again, maybe 5 minutes. The Inn is well kept, the beds comfortable and the linens good quality. Our double room was quite small but the bathroom was very large with good storage (it felt almost as big as the bedroom). The fireplace was nice in the cool evening and morning hours but there was only one chair in the room and the only place to put it was right in front of the fireplace. There are no TVs so internet was important to us. Generally it worked quite well and was fast. However, one night it did go out and when I went to the Receptionist and reported it, she checked her computer and said it showed all portals on so just keep trying! We did so until we went to bed and it never came back on...in the morning it was working once again.
The breakfasts are served in 2 sittings and very convenient to early risers or those wanting a later start. Every thing was frest (yougart, homemade granola, fruit, jams, etc.) in addition to a hot entree each day. Great way to start your day. The wine hour in the evening was a fun way to end the day.

The garden is spacious and very lovely on nice days. However, when it is foggy and cold there is not much communal area indoors other than the breakfast room.

In general a very nice stay.

Room Tip: King rooms are larger than queen rooms and if you are going to be here for more than one night, it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stopped overnight here & had a comfy room & delicious breakfast. Well located within walking distance of restaurants in town & an easy drive to the beach where we saw a magnificent sunset. We were in main house - there is an annex too which may have more modern rooms. Our private bath was across the hall - not an issue for us at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here one night on our drive down to So. California. We had a room in the separate cottage on the top floor. We could here the guests staying next door but the room was nice and comfortable. My wife liked the sheets so much on the bed she ordered them (very, very soft) The staff was very friendly and courteous. They had an evening reception where we meet some of the other guests. Breakfast was very good and hearty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived after hours so our key was waiting for us with a little note to please arrive early for breakfast to pay. Once inside our room, the Creek side Room. This room advertises it sleeps 4. I would guess a family could stay in that room if allowed but for 4 adults it would be a bit tight. It was very spacious for the two of us. The bathroom was roomy enough, there was a little shelf to leave things on and also some counter space. We were very comfortable in this room and would request it again. We arrived for breakfast on Friday morning and met a writer for a cooking channel online. she was delightful and mentioned that the day before she had Ricotta Pancakes for breakfast. Somehow in our previous two visits to this location we never had them. that was all I had to say, they were served on Saturday morning for breakfast. The breakfasts are very filling. I also like the fresh fruit with Olallieberry yogurt and homemade granola. To die for! I recommended it to first time guests and they all thanked me! Marjorie is so warm, we got a huge hug when we arrived. She often sits and talks during breakfast and is a wealth of information as it the rest of the staff. Marilyn gives THE BEST Massages, I highly recommend booking one when you stay here. Larry is the main cook and Dirk cooks on some days (the Ricotta Pancake days!) Outstanding! The grounds and gardens are beautiful. You can walk to some of the restaurants for dinner actually all but some may prefer to drive. A flashlight is provided to do just that. The staff will not only recommend restaurants but will call and make a reservation as well. Two of our favorites are the Sow's Ear and Madelyn's. If you are visiting Cambria this is the place to stay. There are also tasting rooms in Cambria that we found very good. One can walk but suggest you drive so that you can carry back your purchases! And you will buy :)

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the Annex. Nothing is terrible here but a fitness center and a pool are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here one night on our drive down the West coast.
Inn everything we expected. We had a room on the ground floor and yes you could hear other guests above at night but it is a very old house. Bed really comfortable.
Staff very friendly and courteous.
Enjoyed the evening reception where we had the pleasure of enjoying the other guests company.
Met a lovely young woman (Liz) who joined us for dinner at the local pub......if you read this feel free to contact me.
Got the best directions possible for avoiding the traffic in LA from another guest at breakfast, we can't thank you enough...made the drive through LA a breeze.

Cambria a really nice little town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in 'Room at the Top' for one night whilst passing through and received a very warm welcome. We checked in just in time for wine and canapes with the other guests which was a very civilised way to start the evening. It was a very short walk to find a restaurant for our evening meal. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was across the landing but that didn't cause us any problems. We slept very well and found it very quiet. The breakfast was truly American and most enjoyable. We would be happy to stay here again, and for more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olallieberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olallieberry Inn

Address: 2476 Main Street, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olallieberry Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9-room bed & breakfast in historic 1873 home. Located in the East Village walking distance to unique shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olallieberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olallieberry Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.