We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2990 Burton Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Cambria B&B and Inns
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

A lovely comfortable room. Good food. Friendly, efficient, helpful staff--thank you John, Lori, Pat, and Mary for the enjoyable chats, kind assistance, and great recommendations. All this equals an enjoyable two nights in Cambria on our way up the coast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    58
    18
    11
    0
See reviews for
14
221
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Cambria is in the middle of nowhere. We were looking forward to a rewarding b and b experience. But there were issues. The employee who greeted us on our arrival seemed put out by having her do her job. Would a smile kill you? The wine and appetizers consisted of REALLY bad wine and cream cheese on crackers. In the heart of wine country. The lilac room in the main house was not really private until after the cocktail hour.
At breakfast, we were not offered an alternative to the cream cheese pie. But we saw other guests enjoying omelets.
There were 2 very small pillows on the bed.
The hostess is charming and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were not in the main house. Our room was a bit dated. Our bathroom had no wash cloths. Didn't get any until after breakfast. Commode seat broken. Long strands of hair in bathroom.
Bed linens need replacing-tear on bed skirt, soiled. Not fresh smelling. .Chocolate chip cookies were delicious. That was the best part Breakfast was not A GOURMET breakfast- fruit cup with, he called it stuffed French toast with a few sliced bananas. Description said freshly baked bread-not! Sorry but you asked for review. $195.00 is a lot to pay for the service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

J. Patrick House in Cambria is simply adorable! It is cozy and homey, and but well-maintained and cared for. The location is perfect, with quiet surroundings, but close enough to Main Street, Hearst Castle and wine tasting for a fun-filled weekend. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was knowledgeable and friendly. We had the best time and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Warm, homey, lovely guests, excellent breakfast and amenities, fireplaces, forest, lots of local information... I really enjoyed my weekend away here. I would say the only thing I missed out on was meeting the famed owners. The innkeeper who attended to the property was nice and efficient, but it was obvious that she wasn't invested and she was not a host. I imagine I just happened to have chosen a weekend that the owners were away- and I'm sure they deserve a vacation from us vacationers, but this is the one thing I felt I lacked in order to get the full experience most people speak of in their reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We celebrated our 14th wedding anniversary and had a fabulous time. We LOVE coming here and especially staying inthe Clare room. After wine and cheese hour is over, we get to enjoy the house to ourselves including the wonderful living room and fireplace. The milk and fresh cookies are to die for at bedtime (I have a hard time sharing with my husband, lol).
Thank you for another fabulous visit

Room Tip: The Clare is a bit more $ but you get the entire house to yourself after everyone one else goes back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending a night at J Patrick House on our trip to California. We chose the Kerry Room which surpassed our expectations - spacious, clean, quiet and most comfortable. The breakfast in the bright breakfast room was delicious and plentiful. We loved the town of Cambria with its great choice of shops, bars & restaurants. We had a great meal at Robin's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2990 Burton Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j. Patrick House b&b
j. Patrick House Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J. Patrick House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.