We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for a Weekend Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Inn to your Saves list
Castle Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF ROOM RATE ANY DAY
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Cambria
California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Location for a Weekend Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were in Cambria for a wedding. Chose Castle Inn based on Trip Advisor comments. It was fine - nothing special except for the location - right across the road from the beach. Harbor seals were all over the rocks and the tide pools were fun even if not heavily populated. We sprang for an ocean view room which was lovely. The beds are fine, room is clean. The motel is a bit run down in places but nothing horrible. "Full continental breakfast" includes pastries, hardboiled eggs, cold cereal, yogurt, coffee/tea. Pool area is very appealing. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Castle Inn was one of the first motels on Moonstone Beach. We have updated and renovated and continued to refresh the rooms over the past year since we acquired the property. This property is very budget friendly and the pool is a wonderful addition for families traveling with children. Thank you so much for your lovely review of our newest addition to the Cambria Inns collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    95
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
93
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fortuna, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed one night here and overall, we had a pleasant experience. We stayed in Room 2, upstairs overlooking the ocean. Positives: friendly check-in person, great view and location, safe feeling, clean room, basic continental breakfast, pretty flowers outside, nice Adirondack chairs. Drawbacks: sound traveled through door from stairs and walkway outside to a large degree, mattress very uncomfortable as it was very thin and firm and had no padding, bathroom tiny. If we stay in Cambria again, we would try one of the other places in hopes of a more comfortable bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of Castle Inn. We are pleased that you are happy with our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel...we value customer service and our guests' happiness. This is one of the very first motels built on Moonstone Beach Drive and we have been busy doing renovations and upgrades since recently acquiring this property. For affordability right on the beach, nothing beats it. For a more luxurious stay, we suggest Blue Dolphin Inn or Sand Pebbles Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here last weekend and had a great time. The room was very clean and the beds comfy. Kids loved the pool and hot tub. The hotel is right next to the beach access. Room rate was very fair. I looked at a couple of other places online before booking that were much more expensive, but very glad I chose the Castle Inn.

Diana who was on the front desk very kindly researched some local children's doctors for me, she was a really wonderful host. Thank you Diane.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We are glad you chose Castle Inn, too. Families really enjoy the pool and being so close to the tide pools and the ocean is a wonderful learning experience for children and adults. Castle Inn is very budget friendly and family oriented. It is also one of the first motels ever built along Moonstone Beach and our newest addition to the Cambria Inns family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Castle Inn for one night to break up the journey from LA to San Francisco. It was such a great place. The room was large and comfortable. The reception staff were very helpful. We went for dinner at the local fish restaurant which was lovely! The views were stunning of the sea. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in ocean view king room. Linens and towels were crisp and fluffy. Room was good size for value though not updated in recent years. Reception staff, especially Diana, very helpful and friendly. Loved the Adirondack chairs and spent a few hours listening to ocean while reading our Nooks. Boardwalk is directly across a low level travel road and affords great views and walking and viewing opportunities. Entire facility was clean and maintained. Breakfast was a perfectly fine continental. Lots of good restaurants within short drive or even a walk. We hope to make this stop again on our way down coast in a couple of weeks.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Our staff does a wonderful job keeping our guests happy and it is always nice to hear such stories. Castle Inn is one of the best deals you will find on Moonstone Beach Drive and we have a pool to keep the kids entertained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for just one night during our drive up from Los Angeles to San Francisco . The Inn certainly matched our expectations after reading the hotel's website and the guest reviews. The lady on reception was very helpful . The room was on the basic side but large and very clean .The breakfast was adequate for our needs . There is also a small heated pool which is certainly a bonus when travelling with children. The position of the Inn is great - straight across from the board walk and small rocky beach. Overall, the hotel was good value - certainly for an overnight stay during a California road trip .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We thank you for your great review of Castle Inn. We are so pleased we met your expectations and that you enjoyed the trip to Cambria. The coastal road trip is a beautiful experience and we are happy to have provided you a comfortable stop on your journey. We are pleased to provide a great value for those staying on Moonstone Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Cambria. Reception staff were very helpful and pleasant at all times. Our room which had an ocean view was upstairs and was a good size. The shower room was very small but everything was clean. The breakfast room was quite small with only 3 tables but it appeared that most people came and collected their breakfast and took it back to their rooms. Food was adequate. Nice pastries but no toaster.
There were two restaurants within walking distance but for other places to eat in the town you would need to use a car.
Lovely walks along the boardwalk in front of the hotel. Overall a pleasant stay and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of Castle Inn. Providing a budget friendly option for travelers wanting to stay on Moonstone Beach, this is one of the original motels built. Clean and comfortable and a great place for families traveling to Cambria, this motel even has a heated pool. Of course, we love hearing that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed the overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 6620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn By The Sea Hotel Cambria
Castle Hotel Cambria
Castle Motel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.