We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ULTRA CLEAN!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Inn to your Saves list
Castle Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pre Summer Sale Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Cambria
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“ULTRA CLEAN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Just got back from a night here with our grandson so we could hunt for moonstones on the beach and search the tide pools. What lovely people run this motel, I don't think even the Ritz has a manager as good as this. Although simple and small, the location couldn't be better and the view exquisite (and I live in Santa Barbara). Close enough to walk to a nice restaurant open for 3 meals a day. Right across the street from the boardwalk that runs along the cliffs and leads down to the beach. Just perfect!

Room Tip: They will tell you which rooms have a straight on ocean view and which have a partial so you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor Users. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, it's convenient location to Moonstone Beach, the Boardwalk, the Tide Pools as well as the guest services team. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm Regards,
Castle Inn by the Sea Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    98
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
55
102
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in at The Castle Inn - a more perfect location we couldn't have asked for! We love the ocean - and that was what we found right outside the door and across the street. A fine wooden boardwalk zig-zags its way through the coastal vegetation and offer you beautiful ocean vistas and first-hand sights of seals splashing in the water. From the tidy and flower filled garden in front of the motel big wooden sun-chairs beg to unwind with a coffee or glass of wine while listening to the lapping water and watching the breathtaking sunsets - absolutely lovely!

Although Castle Inn is a typical American-style two-story modern motel, it has an immediate good feel about it. Everything is very well kept, the rooms of a nice size, well-appointed and with a light and airy atmosphere and the gardens/parking area spacy with lovely flowerbeds and a small inviting pool-area. Everything seemed to be updated and very well looked after. We were allocated a spacy room with two queen beds and a partial ocean view from the window and outdoor combi passage/balcony.

Castle Inn is a perfect choice for an overnight stay if travelling the legendary Highway 1. We came from Monterey while Solvang was our next day destination - and both drives were pleasant and reasonable distances to cover, so as an convenient overnight stop between these two locations Castle Inn couldn't be better. And being located right on the coast you are given a perfect opportunity to enjoy one of those fabulous Pacific sunsets. Also perfect location for visiting nearby Hearst Castle - a "must" according to my humble opinion. Allow min. 3 hrs. and well worth to make a reservation prior to to avoid waiting lines.

Castle Inn doesn't have a restaurant but offers a simple breakfast to start you well off the day - but you can find several nice restaurants few minutes’ walk from the motel as Moonstone Beach offers a long row of hotels/motels/restaurants. We walked the stretch and did likewise find a step down to a very nice beach tempting for strolls and to enjoy a sundowner on one of the many benches dotting this area.

We'll be happy to return to Castle Inn and are pleased to recommend it to future guests.

Room Tip: Think all the rooms are good - and they do all seem to face more or less towards the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Cambria is expensive if you want a beachside location - compared to other hotels the price was good. Adequate cold breakfast and pleasant rooms with little road noise. Our trip was made magic by seeing elephant seals nearby with their new born pups. I gather the hotel has recently re-opened under new owner.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

A week after the New Year was a slow week in Cambria, so there were not too many tourists in the city in general or at this particular property.
We had a 2-queen beds room on the first floor. The room was amazingly clean. I mean, super-clean. Nice towels, soaps, shampoo etc. There is a mini-fridge (which is very handy when travelling with small kids) and a coffee-maker in a room. The room itself was rather small, but we did not stay indoors much. There were plenty of extra pillows and blankets. The mattresses were rather on a hard side, which did not work out for me - I had a backpain in the morning. There is no heater or AC in the room, but there is a heater in the shower: we had to turn it on to heat up a room a bit in the evening, as it gets really cold during winter-time.
The breakfast, which is served in a <breakfast room> consists of prepacked 4 kinds of cereals, fresh fruits (apples, bananas, oranges), muffins/scones/, coffee, tea, orange juice/milk. You can either eat it right there or take it with you to the room on a tray.

The hotel is conveniently located at Moonstone Beach at the <hotel row>. It's right across the stairs that lead to the tidepool (when there is a low tide).

Anyway, we had a great time here in January, during the low, slow season.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 6620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was one of the very first motels built along the Cambria coast when cattle still roamed on Moonstone Beach Drive. The property boasts one of the best geographical locations on the beach. Right in front of the lodge are amazing tide pools to discover sealife, gorgeous lookouts, Leffingwell Landing Park and a wide-open beach upon which to stroll. The grounds at the Inn are broad and situated with comfortable sitting areas for enjoyable ocean viewing and people-watching. All of the guestrooms offer views of the ocean, but the upstairs rooms provide an excellent vantage point to watch the daily sunsets. The rooms at Castle Inn are simple but more than adequate to provide a wonderful stay at the beach. It is our intention to make the property one of the best values along Moonstone Beach and a great option for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn By The Sea Hotel Cambria
Castle Hotel Cambria
Castle Motel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.