We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fog's End is charming in every way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fog's End Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fog's End Bed & Breakfast
2735 Main Street, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Cambria B&B and Inns
Orlando
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fog's End is charming in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

After a wonderful drive up the coast from Ventura, we arrived in Cambria and as scheduled checked in to Fog's End B & B. Our innkeepers Jim and Jan were very welcoming and friendly and over wine and homemade appetizers we visited with them and with the other couple who were guests that evening. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and they, their first.

Fog's End is charming in every way. The rooms are spacious and well appointed--wood floors, high ceilings, windows that look out on the countryside, tasteful furnishings and beautiful artwork. We chose our room because of the deep soaking claw-footed tub in the adjoining bathroom, ahh!

Fog's End is on the quiet end of Cambria, but a quick stroll to the shops and restaurants, so for dinner we left the car behind. After a very peaceful night, we had a marvelous breakfast, which included scrumptious baked goods from a bakery in town. As an added plus, several deer wandered past. We were sorry we had only the one night and look forward to a return visit.

Jim has lots of good suggestions about where to dine, and he kept the link open to the reservations at Hearst Castle (our destination after checking out) so we knew what tour to aim for. Thoughtful touches like these made staying there a joy.

We think Fog's End ought to be rated first in Cambria for both charm and value. It really is a special place with its welcoming broad porches and delightful rooms, and especially, Jan and Jim.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Unfortunately we were passing through Canbria after visiting Hearst Castle on our way to Santa Monica so we only got one night at Fogs End - would have loved to stay longer. Jim and Jan were so friendly and helpful managing to book us a B and B for later in our trip which turned out to be fantastic too. The room and bathroom was spotless as was their lovely house and the breakfast superb. We booked this accomodation after consulting trip advisor and were thrilled to find it exceeded our expectations. We would definitely return if we visit California iin the future

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

It was my first time visiting Cambria and the first time I have ever stayed at a Bed and Breakfast. What a wonderful experience! Spotlessly clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, FABULOUS breakfasts, and warm and friendly hosts. I'm really not sure I can think of anything that would have made the visit nicer.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

we had the best time imaginable from start to finish. the evening wine hour was a great way to unwind before dinner. the porch swing was romantic. our room was fantastic (the daisy)--the bathroom was spotless and i loved the large tub!!! Jan's breakfast was so delicious and fresh! You have to stay here if you visit Cambria!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We had another perfect stay in this charming B&B, this time with a friend. Am shocked to see that Fog's End is only rated 13--maybe because they have few reviews--because obviously everyone has been thrilled with their visits, as seen by their excellent descriptions which I need not repeat. One thing I didn't note in their reviews was how divine the bedding is.

Jan and Jim were, once again, the perfect hosts with wine and appetizers in the evening and a fantastic breakfast in the morning. Their property is fun to explore and the land surrounding the property gives such a peaceful feeling.

Fog's End is, for me, the quintessential B&B experience. I will be back again and recommend to others that they give it a try. You won't be sorry!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

My husband and I were so impressed with the accomodations that this "family-owned" bed and breakfast provides. From the moment we arrived and received the warm greeting from this gracious couple until they waved goodbye when we left, we knew that this was someplace that we will definitely make a point of returning to soon. Not only were the rooms warm and "welcoming" but also elegant.. We enjoyed cocktails and appetizers while we visited and were given information and directions to the places we wanted to visit. Fresh eggs (they have chickens!) as well as herbs from their garden were used for a luscious and bountiful breakfast in the morning at our convenience.

  • Liked — The gracious hosts, excellent food, and clean,beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts through the years, but Fog's End ranks at the top for all the things we look for at a B&B. All the rooms have hardwood floors and are beautifully and tastefully decorated with turn-of-the century charm, and the large living room has a fireplace, plenty of comfortable seating, and a lovely view. Inside the built-in china cupboard are both a wine cooler and a small refrigerator, which we found very convenient.

Our large bedroom was really special, with an extremely comfortable bed, a lovely antique armoire, two sky lights to view the starry night, and a terrirfic bathroom with a large glass shower with both a rain shower head and a shower wand. (Wonderful for two!)

Breakfast is my favorite meal, and they were excellent! (including fresh eggs,if they're on the menu, laid daily by their brood of four beautiful hens!) Adding to the experience, the breakfast room is made entirely of glass and hasa picturesque view of vineyard and hills. The wine and cheese served late afternoon or early evening also added to our wonderful experience.

Also, Cambria is in an excellent location. Fog's End is just a 5-minute walk from the historic part of Cambria with its many charming, quaint shops and tempting bakeries. Cambria also has a little theater where plays are presented on a regular basis. Cambria itself is just six miles south of Hearst's Castle, and short day trips both north and south provide plenty to do, including watching elephant seals, walking on the beach, strolling through art galleries and charming towns, and wine tasting at local wineries.

Saving the best for last, the host and hostess, Jan and Jim, are two really delightful people who made us feel very much at home. This was our first trip to Fog's End, but not our last. We loved it!

  • Liked — the breakfasts, the rooms/house, the location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fog's End Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fog's End Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2735 Main Street, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fog's End Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fog's End Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list