We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
1978 Londonderry Lane, Just two blocks from Highway 1, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$10 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 29 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This bed and breakfast is in a secluded spot with trees, flowers and birds to see from your deck. The owners took real good care of us by feeding us a lot and stocking the room with everything you need.

Room Tip: The king room has a nice view on the deck, and a good size shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    9
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
81
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

On a trip up the coast last week we stayed with Eleanor and Bill and it was fantastic. The booking process was simple and they sent us a nice packet of information about things to do in the area. Little did I know how hospitable they really were. They made us so comfortable. I don't think I've ever seen a hotel that anticipates needs like they do (and I develop hotel brands and manage hotels so that's saying a lot). The beds were comfortable and our room was large and quiet with a warm fireplace and a lovely patio. I can't even list all the complimentary amenities the room was stocked with - from hand sanitizer to microwave popcorn to wine to a refrigerator. Most importantly Eleanor can cook! She completely converted my french-toast-hating boyfriend into someone who craves it (and kindly donated the recipe to me so I can make it for him). She asked about any allergies at the time of reservation and bought all kinds of special foods for me. That was really so very kind and considerate. I wasn't feeling well on the final day and, after greeting me at breakfast with a sympathetic hug, she left me a note thanking us for staying with them and extending late check-out. We would definitely stay there again and I'll be recommending it to anyone I know who travels up the coast stopping in Cambria.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our first time at Her Castle but it won't be our last. This is a truly beautiful place that is not pretentious but makes you feel so happy to be there. This is a charming bed and breakfast with comfortable rooms, all the amenities you need and hosts that couldn't be nicer, more welcoming, and put themselves out far more than they need to do. You have all the privacy you could want. The breakfasts are delicious, very plentiful and served with kindness. Bill & Eleanor Seavey are the most helpful in getting you acclimated to the area if you need it. Our purpose was wine tasting in the Paso Robles area but we took in everything else we could with the help of "Her Castle." We loved talking to the hosts who know the area well, have lots of recommendations and are delightful people. This is close to everything: Hearst Castle, Moonstone beach, hiking the trail at Fiskelini Ranch (along the ocean), the delicious Sea Chest restaurant in Cambria where you wait but it's worth it and San Luis Obispo as an added excursion. Don't miss this bed and breakfast on your travels you will love it!

Room Tip: Any room that is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We wanted to try something different to standard hotel accomodation and decided on Her Castle as a visit to Heast Castle has been a lifetime ambition.

Couldnt have been more pleased with the decision. First impression was how clean the home was followed by how comfortable the room was. The welcome from the two of the them made us felt immediately at home followed by relaxing snack and drink as a wind down from the journey.

I took the time to read Bill's memoires and thoughts which are in the room. He seems to have a very full life!

Breakfast was lovely at which we meet some super people - just like being one of the family.

Top tip - double check that you have packed everything you came with when you go.......we didnt and Elanor was kind enough to e-mail me which I read at our next destination. We arranged where to post on the items to meet us late on in our Californian road trip - and it all arived safely so thanks again Eleanor for that. Nothing seems too much trouble.

Its a shame that California is such a long way from the UK or we would be delighted to visit you again - but cant recommend Her Castle (brilliant name Bill!) enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our second stay at Her Castle was as perfect as the first. Appetizers on arrival, beautiful surroundings, and a great room. Our welcome back to Cambria couldn't have been nicer as Bill and Eleaor know the secrets of making guests comfortable and welcome, and Eleanor's breakfasts will get your day off to a great start. Our four day stay was so relaxing we hated to leave. We'll never stay anywhere else when visiting Cambria. If you don't want to risk a disappointing stay, choose Her Castle for a guaranteed great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My daughter and I were traveling in California and wanted to take a day out of our schedule to relax. Her Castle proved to be a great place to do just that. The accommodations were clean and tastefully decorated with several amenities. We visited Hearst Castle and saw the sea lions nearby on the coast. The breakfasts were excellent and Bill and Eleanor were excellent hosts. This is a great place for some solitude and relaxation. I highly recommend it.

Paul S., Warsaw, IN

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Have just spent a very pleasant weekend in Cambria visiting Hearst Castle. The trip was made more memorable by our very hospitable hosts Bill and Eleanor at Her Castle B and B. The rooms were spotless and comfortable and we wanted for nothing. Eleanor provided appetisers and wine on our arrival, tea was delivered to our room before breakfast and the breakfast itself was fantastic. Loved this place and will definitely stay again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1978 Londonderry Lane, Just two blocks from Highway 1, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey yet luxurious suites in forested setting within 3/4 mile of ocean (and a 400 acre nature preserve). Botanical gardens and fruit trees. Close to town and restaurants and shops. Our personable and knowledgeable hosts provide a full breakfast, including early morning beverage tray to your room (and appetizers upon your arrival). No wonder we have been given Excellence awards by TripAdvisor for several years in a row, including Trip Advisor's new Green Award for sustainable practices. Open weekends (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings) and weekday holidays, minimum two night stays. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Her Castle Homestay Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.