We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Cambria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonstone Cottages

Save Saved
You added Moonstone Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonstone Cottages
6580 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay in Cambria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stayed in "The Mariner" cottage, and it was fantastic. Overall experience was superior. The staff was very pleasant, courteous, and accomodating. The cottage we stayed in was very clean, in a great location, very comfortable, in a scenic & romantic setting, and contained all the amenities we needed & more.

Since this was our anniversary celebration, we received a nice gift of a beautiful cake delivered to our cottage. It was delicious. After telling the staff we loved the cake and would like to purchase one to enjoy a second time, they took the time to bake another, deliver it to us, and all for no charge. Very sweet!!

We will most definately return to this cottage and very much look forward to that.

We very highly recommend this lovely place to stay in Cambria. The cottage is located very close to the scenic beach and pretty walking area to view the wildlife and scenic seashore. We encourage you to take advantage of this romantic place to stay.

  • Liked — Very romantic
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay forever
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas/Fort Worth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a drive along PCH 1 from LA to Monterey and spent 2 delightful evenings in the Garden Gate Cottage which is one of 3 available at the Moonstone Cottages in Cambria. What a delight...quiet, romantic, beautiful. We enjoyed watching the sunset, walks along the beach, and just quiet time! The cottage was lovely. The first cottage (I can't remember it's name) has a totally unobstructed view of the beach. Each morning a basket with yogurt, fruit, and pastries was dropped off at the door. The only negative would be that they were having unusually warm temperatures and there is no a/c and no ceiling fan. A ceiling fan would have made our stay perfect!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

We stayed in the Mariner cottage. The room was dusty. Mirrors over bar sink & coat hooks were smudged noticeably. Shower had a couple strands of hair in it - not from us. The stuffed bear on the bed also had hair (not from us) on it as well.

We watched the maid going from cottage to cottage cleaning on the morning of our departure. The Seascape & Garden cottages took her all of 20 mins to clean. Gross! It was full occupancy the night before. Maid should be doing a better job of cleaning the rooms.

OUR BIGGEST GRIPE - at check in, we were told that they had to send a maintenance guy to our cottage to repair something on the tv. We expect repairs to be done BEFORE we check in! It was really annoying having to wait 25 mins for this maintenance guy to do the repair.
Note: There was something creepy about the maintenance guy. We had noticed him w/the maid on the morning of our departure as mentioned above. He was noticeably upset w/her & they were arguing about something. Neither one of them greeted us w/a "good morning" when they saw us standing there. We felt it was very unprofessional behavior for a guest to witness!

Cottages are cute but we don't know if we'll book again.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweetiea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

I first saw a review of the Moonstone Cottages in Sunset Magazine, and I can honestly say that our stay in the Mariner's Cottage exceded our expectations. The cottage is comfortable, and a wonderful place to unwind from the world. I highly recommend the property, and the Blue Dolphin Inn staff, which manage the cottages, are wonderful. In particular the staff were extremely helpful suggesting activities and restaurants in the area. We wanted a different experience from the "motel" by the beach properties along the Central coast and were very pleased with our experience. We hope to return again in the near future.

  • Liked — Comfortable and unique.
  • Disliked — Too close to other locations on Moonstone Beach.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2007

We stayed in the Mariner's Cottage last year on our anniversary and are going again this year for our anniversary. It obviously made quite an impression on my husband. We have stayed at many b&bs around California and have had quite a lovely time. But this was unique since it was just you and your honey. If you're looking for a quiet getaway where you don't have to worry about socializing with others during breakfast and you want it to be totally private, this is the place for you. You're right by the beach and next door to a restaurant (Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill) that serves a wonderful breakfast. Also, The Sea Chest is just down the street. There is a fridge and coffee maker, etc. My husband and I just went to a local market in Cambria and picked up some milk and breakfast goodies (like bagels & cream cheese, fruit, and some cinnamon rolls from one of the bakeries) and that was our breakfast for the weekend. We could eat in our Pjs in the comfort of our own room. We had a fabulous time and are looking foward to going again in a few weeks!!!!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2005

Moonstone Cottages is the most unique vacation spot I have ever been to. We had our own private cottage, practically on the beach. The gardens were fantastic and full of color. The rooms were designed with the best in mind. Everything was so extravagent. But most of all it was private. We had the best time.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Moonstone Beach Cottages. We stayed in the very first one nearest the street (the Seascape) and it was just incredible. From the hardwood floors to the marble bathroom. It was furnished just so nicely and kept very clean.
The place was a little small, especially when you get your suitcases and whatever else you bring along. Definitely a "couples" place, no room for the kiddies. There are two other cottages on property, I didn't see the
inside but outside equally nice. We would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moonstone Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Cottages

Address: 6580 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three private ocean view cottages, nestled in a grove of mature cypress trees. Beautifully designed and crafted these cottages offer quiet comfortable lodging like none other on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive. Family owned and operated, Moonstone Cottages are perfect for a romantic getaway. A Breakfast Basket is delivered to your door in the morning. Each Cottage has a view of the ocean and is equipped with gas fireplaces, refrigerators, microwaves, flat-screened T.V. and DVD player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moonstone Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonstone Cottages Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonstone Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.