We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Gate Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonstone Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonstone Cottages
Save
You added Moonstone Cottages to your Saves list
6580 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Stockton, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Garden Gate Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was our first anniversary getaway without children. Oldest is 11 yo. LOOL The Garden Gate was the perfect, charming cottage. It is much roomier than the pictures and what some reviewers have commented on. We had a wonderful view of the ocean from the front of the cottage. The mini-kitchen is stocked with coffee/teas for the Keurig, microwave and a mini-fridge. The mini-fridge and microwave came in handy with our leftovers from the Sea Chest. The room was very clean and well-appointed. I enjoyed relaxing in the jacuzzi tub. The cottage was equipped with binoculars. We were able to see a few seals and explore the tidal pools at low tide. The breakfast box delivered in the morning was perfect. The front desk person was wonderful...very warm and welcoming! We ate at the Sea Chest Inn and Robin's. Both were excellent! We ate at Robin's twice. We had to wait for a table at the Sea Chest, but it was fun getting to know other people sitting at the fireplace area! I would definately recommend staying here!!! We talked about starting an anniversary tradition staying at the Moonstone Cottages.

Room Tip: If you bring a car, don't bring the SUV or van. The driveway was tight for our Volvo Sedan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Moonstone Cottages, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are honored to be part of your anniversary tradition. Sounds like you really explored the area. Cambria is a charming village and there is a surprising amount of unique shopping here. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Mariner Cottage for one night at the beginning of June 2012. The Mariner is the farthest from the ocean, but it still has a nice ocean view. The cottages are very close to each other, 10-15 meters distance, each with a parking space. We arrived after dark. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. The check-in is at the Dophin Inn, which is 50 meters away from the cottages. The cottages are very private. It was quite cold outside and it was so nice to arrive and start the fireplace in the house. It is a small one room cottage with a large bathroom, just perfectly enough for 2 people. The accommodation is pricy, but a good value for what it offers and it is right by the ocean. We were offered a breakfast basket (included in the rate), which was delivered to our door at the specified time. You could choose one of the menus. Delicious! The Moonstone beach is spectacular. We had a lovely morning walk. I wish we could stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Seascape Cottage and had a terrific time. The room is right by the sea and has by far the best view of the ocean of the three cottages. People have noted that it rests along a road, but so do all of the hotels on Moonstone Beach and any room with a patio/balcony overlooking the ocean will have the same level of privacy. The road itself didn't have many cars or pedestrians, but we didn't mind it either way.

The room itself is really nice - you can rent DVDs from the Blue Dolphin, and there's a fireplace (gas, though, so it doesn't have the same romantic effect as a wood-burning fireplace). They deliver breakfast to your door every morning. My only complaint is that the breakfasts are essentially the same kind of continental breakfasts you'll find at Holiday Inn-type hotels. In other words good but not great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was our 2nd trip to the Moonstone Cottages. We stayed in the Garden Gate and we loved it. Very relaxing and quiet. The staff brings breakfast each morning, it was nice to not have to go out and get something. They have a new Keurig coffee/tea maker in the room and a stock of lovely teas and coffees. The jaccuzzi tub is also very relaxing. One added bonus was a standing fan, it really helped cool the room off when it was stuffy in the afternoon. The staff was more than willing to help with any concerns we had. Excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: There are three cottages to choose from, we went with the Garden Gate in the middle, excellent Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Everything about these 3 unique cottages was top shelf. They were complete with all esentials for a cozy and private escape: comfortable bed, gas fireplace, breakfast table and chairs by the window with view to the ocean, windows that opened to let in the sea air, spa tub with bath salts and plush towels, bathrobes. Cottages were nicely landscaped, each with it's own private entrance and across the street from the beach and boardwalk. A continental breakfast could be ordered on check in and delivered at time specified the next day. Lured coffee maker and cover assortment us hot chocolate. All of this was just a seven minute drive to a cute little town with dining options. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Cottages are small but well laid out and comfortable. We were in the Seascape which is across the street from the ocean. The Cottages are a part of the Blue Dolphin a couple of hotel down. They bring you a breakfast basket ever morning. You make your choices the night before which includes juice/scones,etc/Smoked salmon, eggs and ham in a roll, etc. The one down side of the Seascape is the street light. Their are 2 other cottages to choose from. The bathroom includes a great Sanijet Bathtub. They are the most private accommodations on Moonstone Beach, ideal for a complete escape from the rest of the world. Seascape cottage is situated closest to the ocean and enjoys its own ocean front porch: a perfect place to enjoy a sunset or watch for marine mammals and pelicans as they travel the coast. We have already booked our next stay in the Cottages

Room Tip: Any of the 3 cottages would be acceptable. The Seascape is closest to the street and the ocean. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was the third time staying in the Seascape cottage, which is the closest cottage to the beach. What can I say, it's perfection. It's private, cozy, comfortable, and the perfect getaway for some quiet time. It was my husband's birthday weekend and when we returned from dinner there was a wonderful birthday cake awaiting us in the room with a note from the staff. We love the Seascape cottage because of the porch, which we use at sunset while sipping wine - and also to eat the yummy complimentary picnic breakfast in the morning. The cottages are the perfect location on Moonstone beach. You can't go wrong here! Be sure to open a window a bit to fall asleep to the ocean waves...... We usually take advantage of the online pricing and/or AAApricing!

Room Tip: All of the cottages are great, but our favorite is the Seascape because it's closest to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Moonstone Cottages, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your return visit to the Moonstone Cottages and for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and are able to take advantage of everything these unique cottages have to offer. Happy Birthday to your husband again!! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest during this special weekend escape and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Warmest Regards,
The Team from Moonstone Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonstone Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Cottages

Address: 6580 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three private ocean view cottages, nestled in a grove of mature cypress trees. Beautifully designed and crafted these cottages offer quiet comfortable lodging like none other on Cambria's famous Moonstone Beach Drive. Family owned and operated, Moonstone Cottages are perfect for a romantic getaway. A Breakfast Basket is delivered to your door in the morning. Each Cottage has a view of the ocean and is equipped with gas fireplaces, refrigerators, microwaves, flat-screened T.V. and DVD player. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moonstone Cottages Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonstone Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.