We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moonstone Landing to your Saves list
Moonstone Landing
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Cambria B&B and Inns
utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in room 209 which is a partial ocean view. Loved the room! The table by the window was a great vote of ocean. Room had a fireplace, so nice and cozy. Free snacks in evening and breakfast! You can just walk across the street and there is the beach. Wish we could stay longer.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
It's nice to hear you enjoyed the view of the ocean from your room. The fireplace in the rooms definitely adds a nice warmth and ambiance. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing for your stay.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    139
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
69
248
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay area, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We sprung for the oceanfront king rooms on the second floor. Seeing the other reviews, I would not stay here otherwise. Absolutely fantastic view, probably the best you will find along that strip of hotels on Moonstone Beach Drive. The room itself is very well upgraded with a bathroom to rival a 5 star hotel in Las Vegas.

Sadly, however, we will not be back as the mattress makes my husband's back hurt. Also, the breakfast does not serve any hot foods, so if that's important to you, grab breakfast in town.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
While we're pleased to hear that you appreciated the beautiful ocean view from your room, we're sorry that our bedding did not meet your expectations. Even though we recently put all new mattresses in our rooms, it can be hard to achieve the desired firmness to please everybody. We hope you alerted our Front Desk staff about the mattress so that we could determine if it needs replacement. It is only through hearing from our guests that we can make certain necessary changes/improvements should something not be right. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you allow us another opportunity to provide you with a quality stay for your next visit to Cambria.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in an Ocean Front King last Saturday and can't wait to go back. The service at the front desk was superb. We felt very welcome. Great clean room and amazing views. The location is ideal for a trip to Hearst Castle, Cambria and the list goes on. There are several locations to choose from to eat at in nearby Cambria and a few within walking distance from the hotel. We took full advantage of the walking paths directly across the street and the wide stretch of beach. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We're delighted to hear you can't wait to come back! Our ocean front rooms definitely offer the best ocean views on Moonstone Beach Drive. It's definitely a convenient location to stay when visiting Hearst Castle, which is only 7 miles north of us. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was great with a lovely gas fireplace and a very comfy King bed. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room and a very large, nicely tiled bathroom.
Continental breakfast was good with local pastries, oatmeal, granola, yogurt, toast, bagels, coffee and tea. You could sit in the warm lobby (with fireplace) to enjoy or take a tray back to your room.
The staff were most friendly and helpful offering games or DVD's to borrow and helping me to locate a toothbrush and shower cap (that we had forgotten).
I would DEFINITELY stay here again and probably spring for the oceanfront rooms with balcony or patio, next time...
Nice restaurants are within walking distance and even next door!
They have a Jacuzzi which we did not use...

Room Tip: Room 208 had a nice view of the water, even though not ocean front. It is very close to the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
It's clear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. As you mentioned, our guests especially enjoy the fireplace in the rooms. It's also quite convenient having the best Seafood restaurant in town directly next door to us. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing for your stay.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great location right across the street from the boardwalk. Can cross over and walk the beach, watch the surfer, see the sun set. Gas fireplace in the room, window overlooked the beach even though we were not at the very front. Ask for a room close to the front of the hotel. Good breakfast with lots to choose from as well as cheese, crackers available in late afternoon when checking in. Very close to Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. Your review pretty much says it all! We're glad you were able to enjoy both our continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were here off season and had reserved a 1st floor King partial view room, but were upgraded to a 2nd floor King with more of a view. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They let us plug our Volt into an outside outlet to charge overnight. Large comfortable room and surprisingly large bathroom. Nice amenities. The beach and boardwalk is just across the street. Continental breakfast was nicer than most that you find. Only downside is their no-pets policy, but we weren't travelling with our dog on this trip. We walked up the road 12 doors to a wonderful restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We're pleased you enjoyed the comfort of your room. We too feel we provide a nice selection of offerings for our continental breakfast. While we do not accept pets, there are hotels nearby that are pet-friendly. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was in a really beautiful location right on the beach. Clean room that was very spacious. We left before breakfast in the morning but found a wonderful french bakery in town that did the trick. I definitely want to come back to this area and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're truly fortunate to be directly across the street from the ocean. Thank you for choosing us as your destination.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonstone Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.