We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming, friendly, right on the ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonstone Landing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moonstone Landing to your Saves list
Moonstone Landing
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pleasant grove, utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“charming, friendly, right on the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we were only able to spend one night in this charming hotel but would have liked to stay longer. the rooms were lovely and the desk clerk at check in was extremely helpful. suggested a great restaurant for dinner. we would definitely stay here again. there are many hotels on this street and perhaps others are nice also but we would not even consider another after our stay here. reasonably priced at around $100/night at the end of May.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for recommending our hotel to others. It's especially nice to hear you wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Cambria after staying with us. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    148
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
73
269
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We loved staying here. It was a sweet stop on our HWY 1 road trip. Wonderful room (we got the lesser priced "partial ocean view" room.) LOVE the fireplace being the heater. Makes the room feel upscale. The street is really nice with a great boardwalk to walk the cliffs by the water. And right in front of the hotel is one of the available stairs to walk down to the beach sand. Great picture spots, too. Easy parking. Very nice staff!

Good, light breakfast of pastries and fruit. They don't do hot / egg type breakfast items, just FYI.

If you are on a lower level floor you can hear a lot of the noise of those above you. You can even hear conversations. This concerned us at first because about 10pm, the people above us came home and their baby was screaming for a while. We could hear even the words spoken to the child to try to calm her down. But thankfully, within a reasonable amount of time they all got quiet. And we had no trouble sleeping. It didn't detract from our desire to stay at this hotel again. I just may consider trying for a top floor room, if possible. Not sure if that would help, but maybe.

We paid $127 with tax on a weeknight. Well worth it. I wish we could have stayed an extra day just to enjoy the calm. Cambria is practically across the street, so you will have no shortage of restaurants. But they also have a small fridge /microwave if you want to bring your own food, which we did for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. As with most properties, by staying in the upper floors you can avoid hearing the people above your room. We're glad to hear you enjoyed all of the nice features of our property, ie; gas fireplace, continental breakfast, easy beach access across the street, all at a reasonable price. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

surprised how much we enjoyed our time at moonstone. Mary at the desk was very helpful suggesting local excursions and the room was lovely, complete with a romantic fireplace. Make sure to get a 2nd floor room, better view. Nice welcome refreshments happy hour and continental bkfst.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Manager at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
It's nice to hear you enjoyed the various qualities of our property. So many of our guests' appreciate the afternoon refreshments we have in order to hold them over until dinner. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My first trip to the Central Coast turned out really well and this inn was a good place to stay. The rates were very good (I believe we got $111 per night through Expedia). The weather was great (it was early April when we went) and the weather was clear.

The room was nice with a "partial ocean view" although you could just walk outside and cross the street be on the beach. There is a refrigerator in the room and a microwave in case you want to buy some of your own food and avoid the not particularly cheap restaurants of Cambria.

One thing that you may want to know. If you really want to get away from people, this hotel works out well because it seemed that you couldn't get cell phone reception in the rooms. (It worked outside). There is free wi-fi in the room, so if you can set up your phone to do VOIP you can keep in touch with the outside world fairly easily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We hope you will stay with us again in the future, thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing as your destination.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We expected that foggy, wet California coast kind of weather, but instead experienced sunny days with blow your hat off winds. The hotel, which is situated just above the beach, was a pleasant surprise. We arrived in the afternoon in time for the daily appetizers and afternoon drinks (non-alcoholic). The check in experience was pleasant and we were in our partial ocean view room in no time.
The quiet room was the right size with a gas fireplace for heat and a decent view of the ocean. Everything in the room was clean and functioned properly. The hotel was located short distance from Main Street in Cambria, which had a wide variety of restaurants and shops.
We also enjoyed the continental breakfast, which far exceeded those found in chain hotels.

Room Tip: You can choose a full ocean view if you like, but we found the partial view to be suitable for us. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's nice to hear you appreciated the cleanliness of the room as well as the view from your partial view room. Like yourself, many of our guests' enjoy both our complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments. We hope you can visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My sister and I traveled to Cambria and enjoyed staying by the water and walking along the pedestrian path which is right outside of this hotel. The location is wonderful! We were only there for one night, so we didn't splurge on a room with a view, but enjoyed the room we did have. You can always walk outside and take in the gorgeous ocean for free! The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast was small but nice. For the price, it is a wonderful deal. You can hop on the main road in less than a minute and continue your trip, or head out to some nearby vineyards only a 20 minute drive away. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for recommending our hotel to others. Since there are so many options for hotels in our area, we feel it is especially important to provide a quality stay for a reasonale price. Being a family owned hotel, we pride ourselves in providing a truly pleasant and memorable experience. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

moonstone landing is one of a dozen small lodges along moonstone beach north of Cambria and south of Hearst Castle. All have a few front rooms with ocean views and many with limited to no views. But...Moonstone Landing provides the latter for much less. The room was spacious with a fireplace and large, modern bathroom...and continental breakfast...and afternoon appetizers. The best value in the area.

Room Tip: Use a booking site for the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonstonelanding, Owner at Moonstone Landing, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Like so many other guests' have mentioned, we can honestly say we provide some of the best ocean view rooms at a very reasonable rate! We feel that by providing a quality stay at a reasonable price our guests' will continue to come back! Thank you for choosing Moonstone Landing, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Moonstone Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonstone Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Landing

Address: 6240 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonstone Landing 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Moonstone Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonstone Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.