We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open air excellence on Moonstone Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill

Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill
6550 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
805-927-3859
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in Cambria
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Sit back...Relax...Enjoy Open for Lunch, Dinner and Sunday Brunch.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Open air excellence on Moonstone Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

How can you not have a great time here? The view and patio are perfect, service is excellent and efficient, and the food and beverages thoroughly enjoyable. Greeted nicely by the young Hostess and waited just a few minutes in the Bar while Xavier mixed up a proper drink. Sat outside along the beach facing Bar and completely enjoyed ourselves. Our server made great recommendations
after we conquered three rounds of terrific raw and Rocky Oysters-incidently some of the best oysters we've had in a very long time.. Lobster tail was AWESOME and monstrous, excellent wine, and a very very good value. Great Restaurant and surprising given the crap reviews.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review and comments! We sincerely appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    399
    137
    42
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was very crowded for lunch, but service was efficient. I wish the food had been more memorable, but it just wasn't. It was filling and clean. There are better choices just down the road on Cambria.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We work hard on our menu and continue to evolve. Thank you for your comments. We take them seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

nice view and variety on the menu but a little pricey for what it is. I believe everything was ala carte too which was a stretch for the type of place it was.

staff is pleasant but if you get the wrong wait staff, a tad painful. we got a silly waiter who was a bit absent minded, but friendly. everyone entitled to an off day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. I have noted your comments and they will be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
440 reviews 440 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Nice view and good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Came here for lunch. The view was very nice, but food was only good at best and the prices were high. My husband did like his fish and chips but my French dip was not that great. The meat was cold and the "cheese" was a shredded cheese that was not melted. Maybe I should of ordered something else. They also charge for water, so be aware of that as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your sandwich. Please feel free to ask to speak to the manager next time you are here if you are not enjoying your meal. We work hard to ensure everyone has a wonderful experience when they visit us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great view and clam chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Best place to watch sun go down. Had the clam chowder and creamy with bits of bacon in. Did have to wait long time to get in as clearly popular place

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonstoneBarAndGrill, Owner at Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and thank you for your patience in waiting for a table. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.