We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect at sunset, but be prepared to wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill

Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill
6550 Moonstone Beach Drive, 6550 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
+1 805-927-3859
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sit back...Relax...Enjoy Open for Lunch, Dinner and Sunday Brunch.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect at sunset, but be prepared to wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday night, having watched the sunset over Moonstone Beach. We had been advised that the place would be full by seven, so got in at 6:05... but it was still full. I'd imagine this was people coming in early to get a seat by the big ocean-view windows to watch the sun. However, having been told it would be a 30 min wait, we only actually waited 5 mins at the bar before being seated.

The food was superb - my wife had the Swordfish which was great, but should be given it cost nearly $30 for that dish alone! The service was really good to, so I would recommend this place if you're happy to spend for the quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    438
    154
    48
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stroll To Great Dining on Moonstone Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were ready for some good food and serious cocktails after a full day of sight-seeing. On a couple of drive-by's from our hotel we'd noticed that Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill had a pleasant esthetic look about it and a bustling parking lot, with the plus of being walking distance from our stay. Heading in around 7:30-ish it was busy, but we were happy to hang out in the bar and chat with folks - locals and tourists alike. We ordered a Lemon Drop and a Dirty Martini. The Bartender dropped off the drinks and left the shakers, how cool is that? There was at least another full drink it them, I'm talking bang for your cocktail buck :) We had Caesar Salads, Fresh Sea Bass Fish & Chips, and Cioppino. The food was extremely good, and portions more than generous. I can't point to anything specific, but it was a soul satisfying meal, and we walked out of there maybe just a bit tipsy from drinks and wine, no DUI for us- we walked home lol! Great location, nicest people, 2 thumbs up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Even arriving late (after 8pm), we were welcomed and assure that we weren't "too late". Coconut Prawns appetizer was delicious... the sweet and spicy dipping sauce was wonderful. My wife had the grilled Salmon served with a walnut pesto cream and I had the Cove Scampi. Both were excellent! Both were served with rice pilaf and fresh vegetables that were perfectly cooked! The rice pilaf is some of the best we've ever tasted. Service was prompt and professional and our waiter (Max) seemed to anticipate every need. It's nice to see someone take such pride in his work. The woman at the next table was raving to her companions about the Seafood Pasta. I'll need to visit again to try it! Thanks again for a wonderful dinner!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Execellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill, which was moderately priced. I had the Sea Bass and my husband had the scallops. Both were cooked perfectly and were delicious. The owner stopped by our table to inquire about our meal. He provided us with an excellent restaurant to try on our trip up the Pacific Coast Highway.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice ocean view patio seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had the fried oysters and a dinner salad. The fried oysters were okay. I believe they gave me 7 oysters, which was a decent serving size. The salad was average tasting, but quit large. My husband had the clam chowder. He said it was alright, not great. He had the apple walnut salad, which was very good. The service was excellent. No complaints there. The manager even came to the tables asking if everything was alright. They have very good ocean view seating inside and on the large patio. There are heat lamps on the patio, but they don't work if its windy. They do have take out service, which we used also and it was efficient.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.