We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great after a beach walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill

Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill
6550 Moonstone Beach Drive, 6550 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
+1 805-927-3859
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sit back...Relax...Enjoy Open for Lunch, Dinner and Sunday Brunch.
Monrovia, California
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Great after a beach walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill is a great place to warm up after a chilly winter beach walk along Moonstone Beach. Hubby and I always stop in here when we have our twice a year Moonstone Beach getaways.

I know we've eaten here once, but mostly we just have a drink at the bar in the afternoon. Great colorful local folks, friendly bartenders.

If there is football going on, be assured it will be on the TV at the bar. There's plenty of memorabilia behind the bar to remind you of the staff's favorite football team.

The outside patio has gorgeous views, too. We love this place!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    438
    154
    48
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice food, great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Dinner was great, I had scampi, my wife had the chicken and we shared a dessert. The staff were very efficient and friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great food, casual vibe, EXCELLENT patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had lunch on the patio with the best ever view of Moonstone Beach and a dinner inside. Food was great on both visits. Fantastic clam chowder. Excellent shrimp and fish. Very casual but wonderful service. Good choices and great value. Book ahead for dinner if you can as we had a bit of a wait. After being snubbed at the Sea Chest we enjoyed a great dinner here just down the road.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Dinner with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed in Cambria three nights and on two of the nights we dined at the Moonstone Bar and Grill. Nice bar area to sip a pre dinner drink and peruse the menu, nice atmosphere. The food on each night scored a 10 out 10, the Sea Bass with orange/tangerine sauce was outstanding. Very friendly and professional staff, made us feel very welcome and added to the enjoyment of the meal. Being on Moonstone Beach Road, if you time it right one can enjoy a superb sunset view from the beach facing widows or from the outdoor dining area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
o.c. california
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Two words: Clam Chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just a short walk from the Inn to this lovely casual restaurant. We sat outdoors and they brought us cozy red blankets to put over our legs! The clam chowder in a sour dough breadbowl was so tasty!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.