We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for sea food in Cambria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Chest Oyster Bar

Sea Chest Oyster Bar
6216 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
(805) 927-4514
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Cambria
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A must for sea food in Cambria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were staying close by for two nights and decided to visit the sea chest on our second night. At 5:30pm there was a significant queue waiting outside for tables when they open. We waited until 8pm and walked in (no reservations taken ever) and got a great table for two just as the sun was setting. The food and service were both great, portions are large. We both had a lovely evening which was not rushed at all and we would return. Beware, no cards just cash but ATM on site. Certainly worth the chance of getting a table, just wait until the crowd subside...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    156
    68
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“"Favorite Place For Seafood!!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

"The Sea Chest is "Always" Excellent!!" ~ "Make sure if your visiting Cambria California, that you make a point to drive down Moonstone Drive, beside the beautiful Cambria coast and have an awesome dinner at the Sea Chest!!"

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Delicious oysters and fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We loved this place for the oysters and fish. The fanny bay oysters were my favourite. My husband had the sword fish which is usually difficult to make, but he enjoyed the moist texture and flavour. I had the seafood pasta and I enjoyed it too.

Try to sit by the window because you get a beautiful view of the beach especially at twighlight!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretty good restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had dinner here during our 1 night stopover in Cambria in June, 2013. While the overall food was pretty good, I found it
pretty strange that the oysters offered in a California oyster bar were from the east coast. I had the cioppino, which was OK. The seafood in it was pretty good, but the sauce lacked taste. My wife had Alaskan halibut, which was good, but that can be had anywhere. There are no real problems with this restaurant, it's just not too inspiring.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“For Seafood Lovers Only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Dined here just once while visiting San Simeon Hearst Castle. There are no meat dishes on the menu so you must like seafood. The server came to the table moments after we were sat and brought two warm delicious bread rolls for us to munch on while we waited for our meals. I had the Mahi Mahi and my spouse had the halibut, both dishes were as good as any I've had in Maui. They were served with a whole sliced steamed potato and fresh vegetables. Wine and beer prices were resonable. We shared the Chocolate Torte with ice cream and it was quite tasty

This restaurant takes only cash and there is an ATM inside for your use.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Chest Oyster Bar also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sea Chest Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Chest Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.