We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Palms Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cambria Palms Motel to your Saves list
Cambria Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   2662 Main Street, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Cambria B&B and Inns
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

what a delightful stay. the front desk was incredibly helpful and friendly. they light a fire pit every night on the lawn behind the place to encourage guests to socialize, which is a nice touch. the town is lovely. the room was so comfortable... i felt like i was staying at a friend's house. can't ask for better for the value. must admit that the walls are thin, bring earplugs.

Room Tip: i presume the end room would be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambriaPalmsMotel, General Manager at Cambria Palms Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our fire pit in our back yard. Many guests comment on how lovely it is and a great way to enjoy the beautiful evenings that Cambria has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    43
    26
    4
    10
See reviews for
26
68
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilmar, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I chose this place mostly because it was a Groupon deal. The Groupon ad listed the rooms at a great nightly rate. Of course, by the time I was done booking it came to $30.00 more plus tax per night than the originally quoted rate on the deal. I was a bit taken aback when we arrived to find a sign out front advertising a lower price that we paid through what I thought was a deal. Later that evening the sign changed to a price that was slightly higher than we paid so that made me feel a little better. We arrived at about 2:30 to find that the office was closed until 3:00. No big deal because check in time wasn't until 4. We went back at 3:30 or so and check in was quick and easy. The woman at the front desk was very nice. The rooms are very small. There is a very tiny shelf like desk on the opposite wall from the beds and two night stands. We had brought some cheese and crackers and wine to have in the room and it was a little awkward working off the tiny desk. There was no fridge in the room but there is an ice machine in the courtyard. The bathroom is very tiny with a small shower and a sink attached to the wall with no vanity. There was only one outlet in the bathroom. It was a single plug outlet that was oddly placed under the light which was above the mirror over the sink. I had to rest my curling iron on the toilet tank to style my hair. On the plus side, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable and the lighting was bright enough to see well. There is a fire pit in the back that looked like it would be nice to sit around in the evenings but it wasn't turned out during our stay. I wasn't disappointed in the room at all for the price but would probably pay a little more for more space and more amenities if I had it to do again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambriaPalmsMotel, General Manager at Cambria Palms Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you were able to take advantage of our Groupon special we had. We recognize the challenge we have with the outlets throughout the room and have done everything possible to install additional ones. We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Cambria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was a Groupon deal and we paid a very low price. The motel is very clean, staff was excellent and so friendly. That said the motel is very dated. It was cold even with the small wall heater. The bathroom had a window that was frosted and uncovered so it was quite uncomfortable doing business. Would we stay there again? Only for the Groupon deal again but we hope the window would be covered.

Room Tip: Always check Tripadvisor and read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I see this small 1950's Motel as Im passing into town from Main st, in days past you couldnt miss it, if memory serves me it was hot pink!
Cambria was booked for the weekend,so this was the only game in town..i rolled the dice and won!
Very cute , Retro shabby yet,not quite chic,! cute little gardens with lights,free bikes,This motel on the edge of town isnt spectacular by any means but somehow it all comes together, good staging of garage sale furniture, nice neutral colors and a flat screen TV. Great hot water and a friendly smiling staff . This is my new fave!

Room Tip: dont expect anything and you will find treasure, @ 108.00 perhaps you could stay somewhere better bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a roof over our head for $150 on a Saturday. In contrast, we stayed in a 5 star hotel in the heart of San Francisco for $170 the night before.
The upside is, if you have your kids staying in a room next to you, you can hear what they are up to.
It's your average motel...just way over priced once we compare it to other places we have stayed in on this trip. The cute town it's attached to is beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a very good little motel...minimalist, but nice. Pergo flooring, real rattan chairs with leather cushions, mid-century desk, bathroom nicely tiled. Only clinker was the old sink vanity that was peeling a bit and had old bobby pins inside, which was a little yucky. Otherwise everything was very clean and in good shape. We were there for just one night and enjoyed our stay. It is an easy walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Cambria Palms is at the end of Main St. on the west side of town heading out into the country, so you may hear owls hooting or see deer crossing the road if you take an evening stroll. We stayed several weeks in a nice unit at the back that has a kitchen and sliding doors which open to a garden where a fire pit is often lit at night.

Our oversized queen bed was great, very comfortable! The bathroom is roomy and remodeled with a shower but no tub. I believe all of the units in this motel have showers only which was fine with us. The kitchen is dated but very useful with a small oven and large microwave/convection oven combo, The refrigerator is medium sized, not the usual tiny frig in most motel rooms. A medium sized flatscreen TV is mounted on the wall in the corner of the room. Also in the 'living' area is a large divan and 2 wicker chairs.

Make sure you take a local paper, The Cambrian, offered in the office on Thursdays and read about local news and activities. This motel more than met our needs!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have easy access to the garden and fire pit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambria Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Palms Motel

Address: 2662 Main Street, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambria Palms Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique Motel located in Cambria along California's beautiful Pacific Coast Highway. Our guests enjoy a peaceful creek side location within walking distance to dining, wine tasting and shopping in the village of Old Cambria. Our accommodations are warm and comfortable, offering travelers a peaceful escape. Our property was recently remodeled in 2009 and guests will find that each of our 18 rooms has free Wi-Fi, new beds with 5 star quality comforters, in-room coffee, tea, and cable TV. We are a pet friendly establishment. Ask us for a complimentary wine tasting in nearby Harmony. Our beach cruiser bicycles are available on a first come, first serve basis. Take them out around downtown or to the beach! We are centrally located close to San Luis Obispo county's popular attractions. Hearst Castle & the Elephant Seals are 10 and 15 miles away. Paso Robles wineries are 12 miles away. We welcome tour groups, motorcycle clubs,and artist groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cambria Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Palms Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambria Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.