We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to crash the night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Palms Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cambria Palms Motel to your Saves list
Cambria Palms Motel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   2662 Main Street, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Cambria B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to crash the night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Safe and comfy. Can't complain, very nice bed, has tv and clean kicthen felt safe staying here and staff really nice. Other than yukky tasting water, which isn't there fault! Not too shabby! Good price! :D

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    47
    29
    7
    10
See reviews for
29
75
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night in September. This was an overnight stay for visiting Hearst Castle. Cambria itself is a lovely town and the sunset on Moonstone Beach is not to be missed. We stayed in the rooms next to the firepit. The room looked like it had been recently modernised. It was clean & tidy. I would recommend this Motel to anyone. The price was excellent and was about 50% less than what we paid elsewhere in California on our tour. The lady at the reception was very friendly and recommended places to eat in the town. A great little motel.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking firepit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I recently stayed for one night at the Cambria Palms and was very pleasantly surprised - I think this will be the motel I use from now on when I visit Cambria, and I go there a lot.

I had stayed at the Palms a couple of years ago, when they were still in the process of renovating it. My experience was good at that time, but even better now, I was happy to see that they have added down comforters and that the floors are hardwood. They also have upgraded the TVs to flat screens instead of the little ones they supplied before. They added a bike rack outside with "cruiser"-type bikes the guests can ride into town.

My room and bathroom were clean, clean, clean - check-in was easy and pleasant, and the front desk person was very nice and helpful. Since I was just passing thru and only spending one night (and traveling alone), I didn't spend much time in the gardens in back, but they looked beautiful. They added a fire pit that was lit at sunset, along with chairs to relax in. I also took a walk down the street to the vacant lot/dog park (about a half block away) in the evening, and totally enjoyed myself listening to the owls in the trees, the creek, and enjoying the view. I found myself wishing that I could stay another night, but was unable to do so.

If you haven't been to the Cambria Palms for a while, I'd encourage you to visit it again - wonderful!
.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the motel (it's one-story) are the ones that lead directly out to thega...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We made a spontaneous detour on our way back from Santa Cruz and couldn't believe the good price on this motel. We drove up, half expecting it to be a dump....but it was exactly the opposite. Very clean and tidy! The woman at the desk (I'm sorry but I've forgotten her name) was very friendly, helping direct us to an awesome place for dinner and making the reservation for us. Walkable to town and in a town so beautiful and charming (and in California) I can't believe there are places this decent for less than $100. Wow! No frills (pools, weight rooms) but we never use those things anyway, so it's nice not to have to pay for them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I took our parents on a surprise road trip up to Hearst Castle from Los Angeles. We wanted to keep our expenses as low as possible when it came to lodging. When researching hotels and areas to stay in Cambria Palms was the lowest price. I researched the hotel and neighborhood since we have never been. I liked what I read about the town and even with mixed reviews of the hotel I figured we would wing it because we were just staying over night literally to shower and sleep.

When we pulled up to the hotel it was exactly what I expected, an old style motel with a modern flare. When we checked in the 2 men at the front (possible owners) were welcoming and informative about the town. Since we requested 2 rooms we asked for a joint room and we got one no problem. The door was locked when we first got into our rooms but the hotel clerk quickly unlocked it for us.

The rooms seemed newly updated, clean and the bed was comfortable. It was walking distance into the cute little town of Cambria and about an 8 mile ride to Hearst Castle. It was a relatively quiet hotel. When we first arrived around 5pm there were dogs barking since it's a dog friendly hotel. I don't mind though, I'm a dog person. Thankfully the barking all died down and by bed time it was quiet! My husband and I and the parents (in their 60's) all had a very good nights sleep.

My only request is that there be more outlets in the bathroom, made it hard to dry my hair.

I would for sure recommend this motel to anyone staying for the weekend especially if you have a dog.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed two nights in a room without air conditioning, telephone, any kind of door security (not even a peephole or chain lock) and very basic furnishings. The best part of this place is the exterior, which looks inviting and has good parking. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This motel was built in the 1950's and has been fairly recently updated to include new baths, flat screen TVs and great beds. The location is on the outskirts of Cambria and within easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, grocery store and a great bakery. The property is extremely clean and the landscaping is beautifully kept. The rooms are a comfortable size and fairly simple. The one caveat I would point out is the possibility of having an "adjoining room". We had the misfortune to have one of these rooms the first night we were there and the family next door sounded like they were in the same room we were. On the other side we had a solid was and heard no noise from our neighbor. Fortunately the second night, the adjoining room was vacant. You do hear noise from the parking lot but fortunately, everyone seems to go to be about 10pm and it is very quiet after that.
The office is only open a few hours in the morning and then again at 3:00pm until evening.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if the room is an adjoining room. If you are not sharing it with your party, opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambria Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Palms Motel

Address: 2662 Main Street, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambria Palms Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique Motel located in Cambria along California's beautiful Pacific Coast Highway. Our guests enjoy a peaceful creek side location within walking distance to dining, wine tasting and shopping in the village of Old Cambria. Our accommodations are warm and comfortable, offering travelers a peaceful escape. Our property was recently remodeled in 2009 and guests will find that each of our 18 rooms has free Wi-Fi, new beds with 5 star quality comforters, in-room coffee, tea, and cable TV. We are a pet friendly establishment. Ask us for a complimentary wine tasting in nearby Harmony. Our beach cruiser bicycles are available on a first come, first serve basis. Take them out around downtown or to the beach! We are centrally located close to San Luis Obispo county's popular attractions. Hearst Castle & the Elephant Seals are 10 and 15 miles away. Paso Robles wineries are 12 miles away. We welcome tour groups, motorcycle clubs,and artist groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cambria Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Palms Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambria Palms Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.