We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Our Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cambria Shores Inn to your Saves list
Cambria Shores Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   6276 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved Our Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was the first time we traveled with our dog, Bradley. Frankly, it was only because our dog sitter was not available, but it turned out remarkably well. I was somewhat concerned about a place that allows so many dogs and was worried that the rooms might smell. I can assure you the rooms were clean and fresh. I'm not quite sure how they manage it, but it's a testament to their housekeeping staff! Our room was a bit small, but lovely. Nice bedding, very comfortable bed, nice fireplace, microwave and mini fridge, beautiful bathroom with a large soaker tub and rain shower head. They provide a simple fruit, yogurt and pastry breakfast hung on a basket outside your room daily. Wi-fi was fast and reliable in the rooms and outside on the patio. The property has lovely gardens and comfy chairs facing the ocean..which is literally steps away. I would highly recommend this place and look forward to going back again someday.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    46
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
120
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had wanted to stay here a few years back when we drove through and admired the succulent landscaping. Finally did in March, and it was delightful. The vintage CA ranch style B & B has lovely updated rooms. Fireplace, kitchenette, bedding are lovely. The staff and owners couldn't be nicer. (And the brownies are delicious!) A nice breakfast is left in a basket near the door. A quick walk across Moonstone Drive takes one to a lovely meandering boardwalk walk along the Pacific Ocean. Downtown Cambria is fun to tour, and the innkeepers provide excellent dining recommendations. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

“Every dog has its day” as the saying goes, and I can’t imagine a better than a day spent in Cambria. In addition to the dog-friendly Cambria Shores Inn, a number of restaurants in Cambria are pet-friendly and the nearby Fiscalini Ranch Preserve is a great place for dog walking. Dogs may be on or off leash depending on which trail you choose. The long boardwalk opposite the inn, however, is also great for walking, with or without a four-legged friend.

My wife and I, along with our English Setter, stayed at the Cambria Shores Inn for two nights in April. The inn is located on Moonstone Drive, with a spectacular view of the Pacific, just across from the boardwalk that runs along the road. You get great views of the rugged coastline everywhere. Like many of the inns on Moonstone Drive, Cambria Shores has a nostalgic, retro-vibe, hearkening back to the days of motor inns. It is comfortable and relaxing.

From a canine point of view, I have no bones to pick (sorry). The rooms and grounds are neat, clean, and well-manicured, remarkably so considering that dogs tend to track everywhere. Fortunately, the inn includes a dog-cleaning area and towels for wiping paws. There are several lawns for pets to take care of business and doggie bags for picking up afterward. The inn even provides flashlights in case nature calls your pet at 3 AM. You can run your dog ragged at a nearby Lampton Cliffs park, which is on the beach, or at the preserve mentioned above. Our setter was dog tired (sorry again) by the end of the day.

From a human point of view, I can’t complain either. The rooms are quiet thanks to double paned windows. I was worried that I would hear dogs barking, but this was not a problem. I didn’t hear yapping or see (or step in) any dog dollops on the grounds. The room had a convenient kitchenette, cozy fireplace, comfortable bed, and a tub/shower with good water pressure. A breakfast basket was delivered each morning with OJ, fresh fruit, bagel, pastries, and more. Fresh coffee was available in the lobby and each room also had a coffee maker. Cheese, fruit, and crackers were served at 5 PM, followed by brownies at 6 PM. There are plenty of Adirondack chairs for watching the sun rise, or set, or for reading a good book; a great way to hit the “paws” button on life (and again).

On a side note, there are a number of dog friendly restaurants in Cambria on Main Street. The Cambria Pub & Steakhouse, just off Main Street, had an enclosed patio with overhead heaters—nice if it’s blustery out. They make a much better burger than Main Street Grill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have stayed at various places at Cambria and they were all great...Cambria Shores Inn is another one of those great places. It has charm, excellent services, a super comfy bed and one of the best views of the ocean. They offer appetizers in the afternoon and delicious brownies and cookies at night. They bring breakfast at 8am and place it on a hook, just outside of your door, filled with OJ, pastries, fruit, yogurt and bagels. If you have a dog, bring Fido with you...this is a dog friendly establishment. This is horseshoe shaped Inn, with a nice grassy area in the middle,with lounge chairs so you can sit and enjoy the beautiful Pacific. We found a new Place to view the ocean. Book a room at Cambria Shores.....it's awesome!

Room Tip: Rooms 11 thru 16 offer the best views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Admittedly, this was our first trip with the pooch, so it is also the only place he has stayed, but what a great little place.
We had a King room with Patio, room 21. As most rooms, it had a fireplace and separate shower and tub, microwave, and refrigerator. While we ate out the frist evening, we took advantage of the fridge, micro, and table for some other meals. You don't get the Cambria Shores Inn's view when you go into town! It can't be beat!
I just loved the doggie welcome basket. Our dog was remembered each morning in our breakfast basket with 2 Milkbones.
You've read about the cookies at 3 pm, appetizers at 5 pm, and brownies at 6 pm. All were excellent; at least treat yourself once during your stay. Take a small plate and enjoy the view from an adirondack.
Everything was clean. I never detected a dog smell.
All dogs were friendly. It seemed like responsible dog owners were drawn here.

Some of my less favorite aspects:
I'll admit, we are hard to please when it comes to a bed. Our bed and pillows were too soft for our liking, and seemed a bit broken down. But the bedding was lovely.
Oh, and if you rely on a hairdryer to style your hair, you may want to bring your own, as the one in the room wasn't very powerful. This is just a tip... I wouldn't expect a full size hairdryer in a small hotel. It didn't upset me, just more of a note for next time.

I'm sure our pup will insist on a next time. He really seemed to take to the vacation way of life!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I came here for a long weekend getaway. We rented a car from Santa Barbara and stayed at this wonderful b&b for 2 nights. The rooms are recently remodeled with cozy fireplaces, and jacuzzi bathtubs. In the morning, your breakfast is hanging in a picnic basket outside your door (coffee, juice, fresh fruit, and pastries). We took a hike in the morning across the street and wandered around the town of Cambria for the afternoon.

For the evening we took a tour of Hearst Castle (a must do in my opinion). This was THE perfect place to stay... quite, relaxing, romantic, and beautiful! I would recommend this to any of my friends visiting the California coast.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are recently remodeled so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I couldn't wait to share my review with others looking to stay at this wonderful hotel! At first I was a bit worried because I didn't realize this was a dog friendly hotel. I thought it was going to be noisy but it was quite the contrary. Our room was modern and comfortable. I loved the fire place. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We were giving brownies and coffee upon our arrival. In the morning we were given a breakfast basket that was full of breakfast goodies. No cons that I can think of.. We would defineltely stay here again!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambria Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Shores Inn

Address: 6276 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambria Shores Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a AAA Three Diamond Property. All of our rooms have custom furniture, flat screen TVs, upgraded white linens and amenities. All rooms have rain showers and / or soaking tubs and deluxe rooms have whirlpool baths. Come relax in our beautiful rooms, and enjoy our amazing succulent gardens. Attention all Dog Lovers... We are one of the Top 46 Fido Friendly Hotels reviewed on their world tour in 2008. We are very proud of our V.I.P. program, amenities, special attention and love your 4 legged family receives. Four paws up! We do have three rooms set aside for people that do not have dogs, or have severe allergies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Cambria Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Shores Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambria Shores Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.