We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mariner's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Mariner's Inn to your Saves list
The Mariner's Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   6180 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 Cambria B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basic but adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We chose Mariner's Inn from the Moonstone Beach motels because the price over Memorial Day weekend was less outrageous than the others along the strip for "pet friendly" rooms. They all double to triple their usual price for the long weekend. Mariner's was adequate, good bed, nice staff, but rooms are small, have no dresser, no closet, and once the dog kennel was in the room, and the two suitcases on floor (no where else to put them), there was essentially no floor space. You can't really unpack, as there are only a few shelves, no dresser. However, it was quiet, and setting is spectacular. The radio didn't work and the TV was marginal. The sunporch has a wind-screen, which is fantastic place to sit. The free continental breakfast was worth every penny (very basic). Staff was warm and friendly. If you plan to spend most of the visit outdoors (as we did) and just sleep in the room, it is fine. Definitely NOT a luxurious motel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MarinersInn, General Manager at The Mariner's Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us over the holiday weekend. The owners and management recognize the challenges we have with the size of our rooms and that we are not able to offer the 4-5 Star luxurious property, thus we are able to keep our rates at a reasonable price as you witnessed first hand over the long holiday weekend. We do try our best to make up for the size of the rooms by offering warm and friendly service, and I am pleased that you were able to experience that first hand while you stayed with us. We are also one of the few properties on Moonstone Beach Drive that provides a public area offering a panoramic view of the entire coast, and we are glad you were able to take advantage of that while you were here. Thank you again and we hope to see you again on your next visit to beautiful Cambria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Usually stay at a property down the street on Moonstone Beach but had observed the sign on the Mariners Inn property boasting newly renovated rooms. Got a deal on the net so gave it a try. While it is across from the ocean and boardwalk, the plus comments are few after that. When you walk in, you immediately notice the cement floors are painted with black enamel and side cement walls are Government Issue grey...its a jail house look like on the Alcatraz tour. The beds back up to a wall that has privacy bamboo fencing affixed to it with 2x12s painted dk brn running horizontally over it and they didnt even cut off the fencing by the closet...its just hanging there. At the base of each bed is a long bench. There was one rattan chair and I requested another; the chairs were totally uncomfortable, even with a pillow from the bed. There are no tables, or end tables; only a wine barrel for a bedside table. As a result there are no drawers and because the barrel has a round top, theres barely room for a lamp and clock radio. On the wall opposite the bed are three shelves, like a shelving unit with a TV above the top shelf. On these shelves are the phone, phone book and kleenex box. There were no luggage holders so the benches must be used for luggage. Fixtures are old and the sink stopper looked original to this building while the brass faucets harken back to a replacement in the 80s. There was a huge old-looking jacuzzi tub in the bath and the toilet appeared to be a new fixture. I dont have a clue what this room looked like before it was renovated, but if this is an improvement, the previously unrenovated room must have been a mess! The beds, while platform, were quite comfortable and so were the pillows. The problem is housekeeping tucked in parts of the bedskirt under the mattress so it looked like a garland and the shabby insulated blanket was sort of hanging over some of the tucked in and untucked bedskirt. This place needs help. There are too many other choices to select from. The front desk folks were very nice, which was a positive!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MarinersInn, General Manager at The Mariner's Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are sorry to hear the dissatisfaction you had with your room while you stayed with us. Regarding the renovation, we have had many of our previous guests return and acknowledged the Vast differences in the rooms and how much more they enjoy them now that they have been renovated. We apologize that you did not have that same feeling. We hope that in one of your future visits to Cambria, the positive service you received from the staff will sway you to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Back home on the east coast, the local police dept. gave a citizen's tour of the county jail. When I stepped into my room at the mariner's inn I thought I was revisiting the jail. Concrete floors....concrete walls.....musty smells.....matresses as hard as a rock slab; and they charged us $220 a night. If you like to get ripped off and enjoy a night at the county jail, please book your stay at this motel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MarinersInn, General Manager at The Mariner's Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello,
I sincerely apology for the way you felt about your room while staying with us. I assure you it is not our intentions to ever make someone feel as if they were ripped off or felt that they had stayed an evening in the county jail. All of our mattresses were replaced last year, and all of our walls are the standard stucco walls, not concrete. It is true that our rooms are not fully carpeted but instead have a large area rug. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay. If your willing, please contact me at your convenience.

Thank you,
Eric, General Manager
805-927-4624
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I went to Mariners Inn for two nights. It has a great location at Moonstone Beach in Cambria. It was easy to walk down to the beach which is right across the road. The room had a nice atmosphere including a fireplace which was really nice. Their was also a jacuzzi tub included which was a nice surprise. It has a nice deck at the front which gives a great view of the ocean. Nice place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MarinersInn, General Manager at The Mariner's Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your 2-night stay with us. It's always nice to hear when our guests take advantage of our sun deck. It gives a great view of the sunset's. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Cambria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very quaint and old days feeling of camping. Rooms are like cottage style. Each had a fireplace. No ocean view from the rooms directly, but step outside and its right there. Beds are very firm. Only negative about this place is no chairs in the rooms. A bench is provided, but not fun to sit and read a book in front of the fireplace. Floors are cement. Need to watch steps entering the room and other spots in the room. Enjoyed our stay tho.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MarinersInn, General Manager at The Mariner's Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We always welcome comments and suggestions, and we will look into providing more chairs in the rooms. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Cambria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I tried this place for the first time. It is not a 5-star hotel but our room was clean, the bed was comfy. The toilet rocked.... which may us laugh! The selling point is not the room but the deck where you can take your wine and cheese and sit and watch the sunset over the pacific ocean..... absolutely awesome. The hotel is situated right on the walking path along the pacific ocean, plus walk into town if you so wish. Perfect place to realize the beauty of the pacific ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MarinersInn, General Manager at The Mariner's Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us. We are glad you took advantage of our sundeck to enjoy the beautiful scenery over the Pacific Ocean. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We used a promotion at this location and had a very nice stay. The rooms are recently renovated and they used some real creativity with it looks like very little expense (someone mentioned in earlier note - design on a dime). The beds were comfortable and everything was clean. We appreciated that they were dog friendly as my folks were traveling with us and had a dog. The continental breakfast could have been improved dramatically by just offering some fresh fruit. The packaged sweet rolls are not good and very unhealthy. A little granola instead of frosted flakes would have been a great treat as well. These are not costly changed and would make for a much better breakfast. The other thing ... I know that help can be hard to find but having a person at the front desk with a little personality would be nice. The young gal made no attempt to be friendly. The other two people at the desk were fine. Overall, I thought the 2 nights and a bottle of wine deal for $99 was great. I would have been dissappointed if I had paid their regular rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MarinersInn, General Manager at The Mariner's Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your comments. We are always looking to improve for our guests and will take your recommendations for the breakfast into consideration. Thank you again and please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mariner's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mariner's Inn

Address: 6180 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mariner's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management, The Mariner's Inn Cambria offers affordable and clean rooms on Moonstone Beach Drive. As well as a friendly and knowledgeable staff. Direct beach access is just across the road and Main Street is only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mariner's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mariner`s Hotel Cambria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mariner's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.